We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,346: English reviews
Doolin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were scheduled to see a show my wife 8 months pregnant and when we arrived we drove around for over an hour looking for parking it was an absolute disgrace that not a single person came out to show us parking we were not the only people in this situation absolute joke would not go again again an 8... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean S
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Hi Sean S, Could you please email me your contact details as I would like to discuss your comments with you in person. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on a business trip October 2016. The staff were excellent in every way. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is also excellent, very central and a few nice pibs close by. Ample free parking which is always a bonus. Lovely outside seating area over looking the River Shannon which unfortunately the weather didn't allow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Shane , Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Midlands shortly. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night. The value was excellent, the location was great and the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the receptionist and the night porter. The rooms were clean and had everything you need for a one night stay however I felt that the general areas especially the dining room could do with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank CatherineMaria2014
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear CatherineMaria2014, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are actually starting refurbishing all our public areas including bedrooms so I hope next time you will see a big difference when you visit. I also would like to apologise for any other shortcoming, we hope to welcome you back very soon to the Hotel.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very central. Clean, comfortable rooms. Restaurant and bar nice. Stayed there while in the area for work so it was a short visit. Did not get the opportunity to check out the facilities.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola O
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Nicola O, Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review. I was delighted to read that you had you had a nice time here and enjoyed your short visit. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien , General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night while meeting friends who lived locally. The hotel is very comfortable, not super fancy but clean and bright. The room had anything we needed and had a partial view of the river which was nice. The receptionist on arrival was very friendly and professional and the next morning the breakfast was really good. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edfly
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Edfly, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read the lovely comments you left and delighted with the nice comments about the breakfast and restaurant staff. I was very disappointed to read your comments about the food and service in our Quayside Bar, I will have a meeting with the... More 

Newport
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A few minutes walk into the Town centre. Great location on bank of River Shannon. Room overlooking the river is a must for the view. Welcoming staff. Good breakfast. Great gym and pool facilities (pool looked good, but was closed for refurbishment, so the hotel gave vouchers for the sports centre Definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank RSH_Wales
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear RSH_Wales, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read the lovely comments you left and delighted to hear that your enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our Staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near... More 

Gorey, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay in The Radisson Blue Athlone . The staff were ever so helpful and pleasant and the food was excellent. Breakfast would meet everybody's choice and the bar food available all the time was excellent. Lots of things to do around Athlone, trips on the river, walks along the grand or Royal canals just a short... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear John B, We are delighted that you took the time to give us your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Midlands. We always love to hear great comments about our staff and I will be sharing your comments with the team here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is ideally located within walking distance from train station and from pubs and restaurants. We were attending a graduation meal and it was a quick walk to the Thyme restaurant and to Sean's bar afterwards. Only spent one night here and the room was comfortable and no noise during the night even though the hotel was busy. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary737
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Mary737, Many thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location. Room was nice, fairly spacious but tv bit out dated and kettle didn't work correctly. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and check in was easy and quick. Only real negative was that the night we stayed it was very busy, so as the breakfast was self serve it was a bit of a "free for all", some... More 

Helpful?
Thank mickb1965
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Mickb1965, Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review. I was delighted to read that you had you had a great time here and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the additional comments and I will look into these. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant... More 

659 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (251)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,670 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,847 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#8 of 9 in Athlone
803 reviews
0.6 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.2 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Radisson Sas Hotel Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $93 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beautiful ”
 of 5 bubbles deepblues2014, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 207 had a lovely view of the shannon”
 of 5 bubbles Anniedublinireland, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room was spacious and the en suite was a good size and kept very clean each day. ”
 of 5 bubbles T1701LJjohnb, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles M8032XSdebbiel, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views from riverside rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RavenCruise, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay