We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,346: English reviews
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Hi, anyone expecting the usual high standard from a Radisson hotel will be disappointed I'm afraid! First the pros...we stayed in a family suite. While it was very basic it was large, 2 separate areas, both with beds & TV so ideal for kids. Breakfast was good, and Pool was fine. Location is also excellent. Now the cons, a lot... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bailey2801
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear bailey2801, I was thoroughly disappointed to hear about your poor experience in our hotel. We truly value all feedback here at the Radisson Blu Athlone, both positive and negative, as it helps us to continually improve our guests’ experience. I have addressed all your comments with our management team in the hotel, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Extremely enjoyable night especially enjoyed the band "night flight" which played in the hotel. Everyone seemed to love the music and we were dancing all night. Also a very relaxed place to stay with great staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian K
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Adrian K, I would like to thank you for being so kind in your feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. I do hope you will consider visiting us at the Radisson Blu Athlone again in the near future. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Attended a wedding here last month. Very nice hotel. The room was fab and the food was very good. The staff were very good well able to cope with large crowd. The only down side is the absolute lack of parking. Not enough room to park even for the family of the wedding couple. I had to park on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mike k
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear mike k I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. I will be certain to pass on your words of appreciation to our team as there is no better motivator than the praise of a job well done. In relation to the car parking, unfortunately, weekends are our busiest period and we have... More 

Newcastlewest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Radisson Hotel Athlone Conference June 3rd & 4th 2015 I was a guest at this hotel as part of the organising committee for a conference in June. I stayed for 2 nights and availed of breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The service attitude of the staff is exemplary, second to none and there is no task that seems... More 

Helpful?
Thank MBreen
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear MBreen, I am thrilled to read your comment about your recent stay in our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found the team to be so attentive and friendly. I am very pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and that your were well looked after. I will be the pleasure of welcoming you back to the... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed three nights for a wedding. Drove over from England. Car park was full when we arrived although we did manage to get a space. Parking is clearly an issue when the hotel is full. We had a family suite which was spacious if a little worn around the edges. Same goes for the hotel really as its a bit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Richard W, Thank you for your feedback, it is certainly valuable to hear from guests who have genuinely criticism. Your comments allow us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with food quality and service. I sincerely hope I will have... More 

Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Lovely room food is fab in restaurant very nice staff but would never stay again with the noise it goes on to 215am and you can hear it very plain even on the 4th floor !!!! They did offer us a small refund for our inconvenience but I'd would a prefer 1 out of my 2 nights to have slept... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank rachel736883
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear rachel736883, Thank you for taking time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to highlight these matters to my attention. I do apologise for any discomfort during your stay. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager More 

Sligo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Booked The Radisson in Athlone on a whim for one night 26th July. We were allocated a room on arrival but it overlooked a horrible roof. Rang reception and the very helpful Claudine agreed to re-locate us to another room if there was one available. She came back to us after 5 mins with a lovely room overlooking the River.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sligocitytrippers
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Sligocitytrippers Thank you for taking time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our staff. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here in the hotel who takes great pride in exceeding our customers' expectations... More 

Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We booked a so called business class room which was €185 for 1 night and was subsequently very basic with no visible signs of any business class. Advertised with loads of extras and didn't get many of them.(not even a bottle of water provided). Leisure centre was dirty and opening hours are wrong in information leaflet supplied in room as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chalp04
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear chalp04 I was very disappointed to hear that your experience with our bedroom facilities was not up to the standard the Radisson Blu Athlone aims to deliver to all our guests. I have discussed this issue with our Housekeeping department. I have also discussed your points about our Leisure centre with the staff and I want to ensure you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night. The staff were friendly the restaurant was OK and the bed was great. It was particularly nice because a too heavy duvet wasn't the only thing on offer. When will hotels get it, those duvets are too hot! The River Shannon views are spectacular.

Helpful?
3 Thank mon d
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear mon d, I am very pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our staff and that you very happy with the quality of our rooms facilities. I would like to thank you for being so kind in your feedback which has provided us with a wonderful lift. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Our booking had been seriously mucked up (not the hotel's fault, nor mine), but the lovely Nicole at reception found room 117 for our 3 night stay - overlooking the Shannon River. A large room with great storage, room safe, bar fridge, iron, ironing board & trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities, good lighting, adequate powerpoints, desk with desk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Survey54
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Survey54 Thank you for taking time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our staff. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here in the hotel who takes great pride in exceeding our customers' expectations... More 

659 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (251)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,670 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,847 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#8 of 9 in Athlone
803 reviews
0.6 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.2 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Radisson Sas Hotel Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $94 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beautiful ”
 of 5 bubbles deepblues2014, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 207 had a lovely view of the shannon”
 of 5 bubbles Anniedublinireland, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room was spacious and the en suite was a good size and kept very clean each day. ”
 of 5 bubbles T1701LJjohnb, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles M8032XSdebbiel, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views from riverside rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RavenCruise, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay