We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Martello Hotel

Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (74)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more..
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
5Attractionswithin 0.5 km
680Reviews
379Photos
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 334
  • 198
  • 71
  • 32
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Recently stayed here for a family occasion. There were 17 of us in total and were booked into the various apartments in the hotel. Could not recommend enough, it was spotlessly clean with lovely food and staff, bit lively but that was explained to us and only added to a bit of
Read more
Response from Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi happyfamily123, Thank you for your review, it is great to hear your family occasion was successful and that your family enjoyed the accommodation of the apartments. We hope to see you again, if you are in Bray again. Many thanks, Cara
Read more
Stayed on top of a night club and had no sleep!Reception did not warn me that I would pay €117 for a room on top of a night club! Got 2 hours sleep here. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in .stay away!!
Read more
Response from Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Underscore_com Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we are a lively hotel at the weekends and we are very sorry if this was not communicated to you when making your booking. I will pass on your feedback to management to try and address. Again, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Kind regards, Cara
Read more
I had my wife's 50th birthday party here friday 18th Jan. From start to finish the staff especially Lindsey could not do enough for us. The room was a perfect size and the finishing touches Lindsey added to it was perfect. Would highly recommend martello for any type of function
Read more
Response from Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi 253gunnerw, Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that your function went well and that you enjoyed your evening. I will pass on your comments to the staff and to Lynsey, they will be delighted. We hope to see you at The Martello again! Kind regards, Cara
Read more
We visited this hotel just after New Year's Day to meet up with friends. Three families with children and assorted adults got together over two days. The apartments were lively and comfortable and gave us flexibility re snacks and breakfast. The breakfasts were lovely, the
Read more
Response from Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Hi Concubhar, Thank you for taking the time to review The Martello after your stay. We are very happy that you seemed to have enjoyed all elements of the hotel and the vicinity. Hopefully see you again soon! Kind regards Cara
Read more
This was not a residential stay just a celebratory extended family birthday party. We were located in an upstairs restaurant in a nice pavilion area overlooking the seafront. Downstairs was an enclosed 'beer garden area' which had been transformed into an 'Apres -Ski " lounge
Read more
Response from Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2019
Hi RonnieDublinIreland, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you family celebration at The Martello and I will pass your comments on to the chef and staff! We hope to see you back again for another visit! Many thanks Cara
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Martello Hotel
The Self Catering Apartment at The Martello Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Martello Hotel
The King Double Room at The Martello Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Martello Hotel
The King Deluxe Room at The Martello Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Martello Hotel
The King Deluxe Room at The Martello Hotel
Photo provided by managementThe Martello Hotel
View from Seafront Room
PreviousNext
12345636
Hi Phyllis , Food is served til 10pm and the bar is open late , we've stayed twice on two different occasions and different double room each time and both were really lovely rooms , enjoy !
1 vote
Show all answers
Where can you park
Very hard to find anything without restrictions. Had to park quite a distance away.
2 votes
Show all answers
I'm afraid but I do not know. I suppose so ... Regards.
0 votes
wi -fi is available is great in bar and apts
2 votes
Show all answers
I would say that children would have to be out of the bar about 8 as the bar is very lively in the evening.
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"rooms maybe to the rear of the hotel"
"If you're in the front, closer to street side, then you will hear the music until 1 or 3 am"
"Stay well away from room 112 and any other room close to the kitchen. Even better.....book another hotel and just go for a pint in the bar."
"Average noise Monday through Wednesday. Second floor has a lot of steps and there is no elevator."
"night would appear to be a bit noisy for hotel residents"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterBray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing