We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliff House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cliff House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were a group of eight golfing ladies and what a find! I did the booking and they couldnt have been more helpful. We had lovely rooms overlooking the sea! A fantastic family run hotel with great food and fabulous staff. Thank you Fiona for looking after us so well! We'll be back! Our only request would be better hairdryers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Naomi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. Your kind comments about our staff are wonderful and we're glad you liked the sea view. It was an absolute pleasure having you ladies stay with us! Look forward to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan

atlanta
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This hotel is right on the cliffs overlooking the beach where surfing was going on. Very friendly owner and Maggie was fantastic. She seemed to do it all there. One of the best values I have ever had. Also, said to have the best seafood in the area. I can attest that it was fresh and outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyponic
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your kind words about our staff and our fresh food. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Great spot. Central bar and restaurant and accommodation with fab sea view. Fantastic food, breakfast Fab lunches any time of day sandwiches anything in the line of food with lovely staff. Couldn't do enough for you. As for evening meals/Dinner, top class meals with top class staff. Why would you go anywhere else. As for bar music, most enjoyable all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisacreedon
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor, it is always nice to hear our hard work isn't gone unnoticed, a huge thank you form all the team at the cliff house. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel again next year , as you said yourself "if we'r all still alive " ! Yours...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 September 2016

8 golfing ladies stayed in The Cliff House Hotel last week. We just want to say a big thank you to Fiona and her crew, we had a great time and enjoyed the music and the craic. The food was excellent and the rooms were cosy, clean and a lovely hot shower. We would really recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evelyncoulson
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pennys Chicks ! Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, thank you for all your wonderful comments and a special thank you for choosing us to host your girls golf break away, it was a pleasure to have you here with us. We look forward to having you all again in the future. Kind...

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Me, my girlfriend and her family stayed here on the 4th September for one night in two separate rooms. The hotel is great and looks really the part but for the price of a room per night we did not think it was worth it at all.. One of our room door locks was dodgy but they said that's how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamieMardle
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, I do apologise that your stay with us was not what you expected, from our records you booked with booking.com and the rate for two people sharing is €120.00 and one person is €75.00 I understand that you thought the room rate for two of you...

Reviewed 6 September 2016

We did not stay in the hotel but we had dinner in the restaurant. Lovely views and staff were very accommodating. We had infant baby and aunt with special needs and staff could not have been more welcoming. Good food options, healthy servings and priced reasonably too. Best place we ate in Ballybunion for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergeblanco14
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor, thank you for acknowledging all the little things we do like caring for your Aunt & baby it is nice to know it didn't go unnoticed. Thank you again for your lovely review, we hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards Mrs Mary Fiona O Callaghan (...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Menu displayed for food no times saying food not been served till 5pm. Sat down order chicken nuggets nd chips for kids tea cake for myself nd the waitress came back said got to wait till 5pm Tis is 4pm to get food. For a hotel what a joke they are wouldn't recommend them

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, Thank you for taking the time to re-view us on Trip Advisor, as I said on Sunday we close our kitchen on Sundays only between 4pm and 5pm for 1 hour only to turn our kitchen around for evening service, once again I do apologise that this did not suite you at the time you called in. I...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We were a large party of 14. Busy buzzy place. Excellent menu choices. The food was superb. I had the Atlantic prawns to start and monkfish which was the fish of the day in a peperedelle sauce. Great atmosphere and the service was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor, it is most appreciated. Thank you for choosing us to help celebrate your special occasion, it was as special for us as it was for you. Once Again Thank You ! Kind Regards Mary Fiona O Callaghan ( Known as Fiona ) Manager

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Excellent food and fab views from restaurant. Food fresh and great value. Would recommend visit in relaxed and spectacular setting, attentive serving staff, efficient and all fresh good quality food. even though we were simply having a light lunch the service and standard was not compromised. Imaginative sandwish selection, seafood chowder that possibly could not be followed by a main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick h
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you do much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor, it is always lovely to get a nice review and its especially nice that our lunch food & service is up there with the dinner food & service so a huge thank you ! I hope you will visit us again for lunch or dinner. Kind Regards...

Dublin
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel right at the edge of Ballybunion beach. The views from hotel rooms are super. Rooms themselves are lovely, clean and more modern than I was expecting . The food is of good quality, good choice on the bar/ restaurant menu and breakfast is a combination of self service and table service for hot breakfasts. There is live music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dublinsdelight
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your taking the time to review us on trip advisor, all comments are welcomed. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Thank you for acknowledging that " our rooms are lovely and clean with lovely views ". You are right to recommend a sea view. Yes we have entertainment nightly for July &...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
14.8 km away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
347 reviews
1.7 km away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
377 reviews
1.1 km away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
2.1 km away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
1.1 km away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Price Range: $176 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from the sea view rooms is spectacular”
BigNidriFan, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front higher floors”
racerevellers, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a seaview room!”
78naomis, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front with a balcony.”
Hyponic, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“order chowder”
11patrickh, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$120
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates