We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dromoland Castle Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Dromoland Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,949: English reviews
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Drumoland Castle was the highlight of our vacation in Ireland. We wish we had stayed many more days and certainly will next time. The service, amenities and food were outstanding. We were so sad to leave.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpE7208TH
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jpE7208TH Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay. Hopefully it wontt be too long until you can enjoy an extended break here at the Castle. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

Avon
Reviewed 22 June 2016

From the minute we arrived, every aspect of our visit was magical for my family. The service was amazing, my children were made to feel like royalty, and getting to stay in a castle was a fairy tale come true!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 227fina
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 227fina Thank you for your feedback, all the team here are thrilled to read your comments and of course delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We recently went to Dromoland for a weekend break and were very disappointed with the whole experience. We checked into a Queen Anne room on Friday evening and ended up moving room due to terrible soundproofing. We have travelled to a lot of hotels and never before complained let alone moved room during the night. There was a plastic fan...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gramochroi
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gramochroi I am truly very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I will certainly investigate the noise problem that you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we are experiencing some unusual humid weather conditions here at the moment, and we are doing our very best to ensure all our guests are as comfortable as possible...

Owensboro, Kentucky
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Grounds and hotel are lovely. Rooms and services were lacking for a 5 star property. Had better experience at B&B properties. Didn't receive requested double room even after verifying this at checkin. Not worth moving after luggage delivered. Room temp very warm. No A/C. Wouldn't spend $ to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twoodeneye
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear twoodeneye Thank you for your review which we were disappointed to receive. I am very sorry that you felt you did not get value for money and did not enjoy the bedroom allocated to you. I certainly take your comments on board and will share them with my management team. I hope that you would consider returning to us...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Can I say fairy tale? The Dromoland Castle was so special. Treated like a Quen! Beautiful and stunning. We treated ourselves to a Facial/ Massage (which I needed after driving all week on the wrong side of the road!) We rented a golf cart to tour around the grounds. Walked thru their beautiful walled gardens and dined in their restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKAngelPatti
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MKAngelPatti I'm absolutely delighted that you feel you were treated like a Queen and that staying in the castle was like a Fairy-tale. Its always nice to know that we are creating special memories for our guests to treasure, and travel onwards with. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Fairy-Tale in the near future. Sincerely. Mark...

Clare
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Just attended a wedding at this hotel. The staff were great and the food was just fantastic. We stayed overnight and was expecting the usual bog standard hotel room, we couldn't have been more wrong. We were in a huge room with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The room was very quite. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaregirlClare
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ClaregirlClare, Thank you for your lovely review whilst attending a wedding here at the Castle. Its always nice to read positive feedback, and especially more so when our staffs hard work is highlighted by our guests. Please be assured that we will share your comments with everyone on the team. Sincerely. Mark Nolan - General Manager

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This is a 5 star hotel for a reason. Service is impeccable and the grounds/experience unique. The Earl restaurant was exceptional and something I would highly recommend. Also, Tanya was our tour guide for the horse cart ride and was absolutely adorable and so funny.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna O
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shauna O Thank you for sharing your Dromoland Experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and it goes without saying we all look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future. Sincerely Mark Nolan – General Manager

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The staff is gracious and accommodating. You get a true feeling of what it must have been like to be a country house guest years ago. The afternoon tea service is a must do....not "stuffy" at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank normat903
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear normat903. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us here in Dromoland Castle. We are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback and I will pass on your comments to all of the team. Kind Regards Mark Nolan- General Manager

Houston
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We were only there one night and had to leave very early the next day for a departing flight, which was a shame. We can't wait to go back and stay longer. We were sad we didn't have time to play golf and enjoy the spa and fitness center. It is a beautiful resort, and our room was lovely. Very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaycP4104DD
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jaycP4104DD, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I'm sorry that you had to leave us early to catch a flight home. It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback which I will enjoy sharing with all of the team. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland Castle in...

Altamont
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Stunning setting and the best service that we have ever received. The Doormen are attentetive and helpful, and the bar staff are both fun and professional. Family members took advantage of the Spa services and were very satisfied. Lots of recreational activities on the property are available. We rode bicycles, engaged in archery and trap shooting and would have done...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X1688AHkevinc
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear X1688AHkevinc Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I will share your kind words with all of the team. We certainly would love to welcome you back, so we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely Mark Nolan - General...

1,497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1410)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (543)
Viewed
Room/Suite (135)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (504)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,024 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,346 reviews
8.4 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
747 reviews
11.6 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
381 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: $310 - $1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely give yourself time to wander the grounds!”
 of 5 bubbles amysS8802VY, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's very big so unless you want to walk forever, ask for a room closer to the gallery”
 of 5 bubbles AimeeLally, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The back side of the hotel was fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mike741776, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were down a dead-end hallway which proved to be very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles CE215, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get the best room you can afford, it will be worth it for years to come.”
 of 5 bubbles 241darrylb, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5