We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rose & Crown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Rose & Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Rose & Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We came here on a Monday evening as the "last fling" of a great wedding weekend - a noisy (but well-behaved, honestly!) group comprising parents, grandparents family and friends of the bride. We could've have chosen better. The very-recently arrived host and his wife were so kind and their food was fresh, well-cooked and in generous portion. I don't remember...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkLings
Wilson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The staff here were super friendly. The food was delicious. The room was a nice size, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room had a private bath, which was roomy and clean. It was definitely a nice place at a good price. And the town is charming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

just come back from a long weekend stay at the Rose and Crown, had a great time . We chose it through booking.com to attend a family wedding, and what a superb choice . Raj was a great host and gave us a warm welcome , room was great and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the bar after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Went here with the family this evening and had a pleasant meal. Staff were a little disorganised but they were helping out and not the usual staff. All the same very nice people. All the food was perfectly cooked and well presented. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlesandCharlie
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I stayed in the Rose & Crown for a single night because I had meetings in Bath. I had a good sized room and large en-suite. The room was well furnished the bedding was new and had a really fresh feel. The bed was comfortable. Towels were generous, TV had all the channels, there was free Wi-Fi. In the en-suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Travelled to Bath for the weekend but stayed at this Pub for one night very nice little pub nice comfy bed and room. The owner Raj and his staff very friendly.Nice breakfast would definatley stay here again. Thanks for the lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We went to the rose & crown on a Sunday with my wife & disabled daughter who is autistic, immediately we were made to feel very welcome, our daughter is a fussy eater but we were told she could pick or choose her meal, sometimes we feel we av to find tables out of the way but not at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We went to the rose & crown bank holiday Sunday & got to say not disappointed, although service was on the slow side, but if you want good food & service it's the place to come, my pet hate is food coming out to fast like a fast food restaurant, the staff especially the owners couldn't do enough to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Me and family went for Sunday lunch to celebrate a family birthday. 6 adults with two toddlers. Clearly very busy (as you would expect bank holidays to be) so took a little while to get seated despite booking. We were sat in the bar which, when eating is always a gamble as the main dining area gets the attention. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Rose and Crown H, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review

Hello - thank you for taking the time to review The Rose and Crown. We were very busy the whole weekend, we do apologise for the wait but it fell also when we were in the process of training staff as we have just taken over. I do hope you return and that the service will be excellent.

Poole
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Decided to give this pub another go and pleased we did lovely sunday lunch very helpful staff back on our lunch list again only slight complaint could have done with another roast potato but overall brilliant

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan P
Rose and Crown H, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that Raj and my lovely Sister Jan and staff looked after you in my abscense ( I have every faith ). We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will be introducing a Carvery to The Rose and Crown soon. Regards Jackie

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
8.9 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 33 in Bath
158 reviews
3.8 km away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
270 reviews
1.7 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 33 in Bath
351 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.3 km away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 6 in Norton St Philip
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Rose and Crown you will find a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you walk through the door, with the cosy feel of the log burner during the winter months. Adding to its relaxed and friendly atmosphere through out the year.The Rose and Crown is known for its high quality food and drink. We have a patio area for drinking and dining and the Cloisters restaurant is available for parties, meeting and private functions. Food is served 7 days and nights a week. Our menus are designed to satisfy the smallest to the largest of appetites by serving smaller portions of the majority of our main meals and a choice of light bites. We are also allergy aware and cater for people’s needs and requirements.Here at the Rose and Crown we are passionate about using locally sourced ingredients where we can. Our butcher is based at Newton St Loe approx 5 miles from us. During the game season we have a wide selection of venison, pheasant, duck and other game dishes.Should you decide to stay at the Rose and Crown we have 6 spacious and comfortable ensuite letting rooms all with facilities for tea and coffee making, flat screen TV’s with freeview and free wifi, creating a homely environment for your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Address: High Street | Bath, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range: $148 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose & Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely outside eating are if the weather is good.”
 of 5 bubbles 310janettem, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 346debbiek, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this place.”
 of 5 bubbles 865edwinac, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you have any mobility issues make sure you mention this on booking as some rooms have external flights of steps.”
 of 5 bubbles Jackstewart, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 are in the main building and overlook the street, but I didn't find this particularly noisy. Rooms 5-6 are in the block behind.”
 of 5 bubbles JLDP77, 30 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay