We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greens at Gretna

0.7 km from Gretna centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Glasgow Road, Gretna DG16 5FG, Scotland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Greens at Gretna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just come home after a few nights away to relax and recharge. I booked this hotel based on reviews and wasn't disappointed - was a special birthday for my husband and wanted it to be memorable. Emailed to arrange to upgrade to a 4 poster room but on arrival were allocated a double room. I assumed there were no available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMTY20
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel. On behalf of all of our staff, please do pass on our best wishes to your husband on his special birthday! I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Greens at Gretna in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful hotel, we had two nights in room 300 the four poster bed was 7 foot square, the room bigger than our one bedroomed bungalow, separate bath and shower , his and her sinks , large windows with great views ,candles on arrival, the breakfast was great ,with the hot food being cooked in the kitchen, dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valneil
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs Davies for your review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team, who are delighted to receive them. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Greens at Gretna in the near future....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival we had booked a double room via a third party website. Check in was efficient, friendly and the receptionist shared all required information about hotel facilities etc. When we got to our room we were suitably impressed. The room was large and had a door which opened out onto a patio area. I'm not sure if this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelloKitty236
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review, I am disappointed to see that an otherwise enjoyable stay was spoiled somewhat by a few silly mistakes on our part. I can assure you that your feedback has been shared with our staff and will prove invaluable as we continue to improve the customer experience. I hope to have an opportunity to personally...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the hotel along with another couple this month on an it is on voucher. The hotel bar and restaurant area are very nicely decorated, drinks and the food was fantastic. The rooms are also nice and very clean. Breakfast also good. Worth a visit if you get a good deal and also right next to the outlet village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leane_1986
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you Leane for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Greens in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came to the area to visit friends and family with a friend of mine. Green's was greatly sign posted and easy to find. Upon entering the hotel, the decor is absolutely stunning and definitely looks above the three stars it has achieved. The reception staff made us feel welcome and explained everything that we needed to know throughout our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoanMccalister
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you Joan for your detailed review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your first stay with us at Greens! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team, who are delighted to receive them. On our busiest of nights, we will occasionally run out of certain menu items. Rest assured we'll have...

Jarrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to this hotel and it didn't disappoint. We booked on the January special which included evening meal and breakfast. Our four-poster suite was huge! The spa bath,robes and slippers were an added bonus as we didn't expect these. The evening meal was absolutely beautiful, our steaks (No supplement, included in deal) were cooked to perfection!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you Louise for your review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Greens at Gretna in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked our wedding here because of an amazing deal they had on offer and I'm so glad we did! The hotel looked beautiful upon arrival, the lobby was very impressive. Our room was huge with a gorgeous 4 poster bed, huge shower and jacuzzi bath. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisamoconnor
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you Lisa for your review, First and foremost, congratulations on your recent wedding! I am absolutely delighted to see that all aspects of your stay surpassed your expectations. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team, who are delighted to receive them I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back...

glasgow
Reviewed 19 January 2017

On our first stay in this hotel had a bad experience when paying our bill. When we got home I contacted hotel manager Debra who offered us a comp stay and everything was first class. Ex customer service thanks to Debra . Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john o
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you John for your review, I'm delighted to see that your most recent visit to Greens was more in keeping with our normal high standards. Debra & I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Gretna in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

My wife booked this hotel as we were both having some stress which was impacting upon our marriage.The amount paid was minimal due to a late booking and we were only staying for a night as I had never been to Gretna.My wife received her booking confirmation and along with this was a price list of "extras"that were on offer......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim G
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you Kim for your review, First and foremost, congratulations on your recent wedding! It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Greens and I am delighted to see that all aspects of your recent stay lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments are hugely appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team, who are delighted to...

south lanarkshire
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Rear of the building is on sarkfoot road, but no signs, to say entrance at the front, car park grubby needs weeded, front door, more like an emergency exit, door rattles when closing, not good if sitting on the adjacent lounge, enjoying a relaxing drink, beautiful looking on the inside, free wi fi, easy password. Has tea making facilities in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klassicman
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, While I appreciate there were a few blips during your recent stay, I think we're being a wee bit harsh with the scoring here! Still, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your evening meal & drinks. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Greens in the near future....

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.4 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.0 km away
No photo provided
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
834 reviews
1.3 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
140 reviews
0.3 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Greens at Gretna Hotel is more than just a fabulous wedding venue with large affordable accommodation, it is the perfect spot to take a break on longer journeys, meet for Business or to simply relax in our restaurant and beautiful gardens. Whatever your reason for visiting Scotland why not stop off and enjoy the relaxing surroundings of Greens at Gretna Hotel. Our location, just off the M6 and right on the Border of Scotland and England, is ideal for a short comfort break, with affordable hot food, tea and coffee and free wi-fi to check those important emails. Business guests can make use of the superbly equipped conference facilities and for those wanting to stay a little longer the rooms are spacious and competitively priced. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Greens at Gretna

Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna DG16 5FG, Scotland (Formerly Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Price Range: $108 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greens at Gretna 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Greens at Gretna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Gretna Green
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Greens at Gretna staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
scotland
4 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Greens at Gretna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 300 was fab”
 of 5 bubbles 90waynek, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 214 was very good”
 of 5 bubbles Britsabroad2010, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on third floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles painterGlasgow, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 300 4 poster bed and huge room”
 of 5 bubbles burkyboy1288, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Family room was extremely spacious !”
 of 5 bubbles Gina557, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5