We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gables Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Gables Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 814: English reviews
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room clean, tidy very good accommodation, staff very helpful, meals very good at an average price. Breakfast included. Good location towards the outskirts of village but not far away from centre. good location for blacksmiths shop and shopping outlet without being on top of them ( 5min drive). .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJP14
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Hello DJP14, thank you for the kind words you have posted about your visit to the area. Its nice to see you did a little exploring whilst here, but there are many more things to see and do, so hurry back! James.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Gables hotel was ideal for an overnight stay in Gretna, food and drink in hotel were of a good standard couldn't fault it, hotel room was a nice and clean the bath was a bit dirty but that's being a bit picky, room was a tad cold when we checked in but the heating must have been on a timer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert T, I am glad that you found us to your satisfaction and enjoyment on your stay. I have taken all your points on board and will discuss with my team. Hopefully we shall see you again soon. James.

Seaham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here and found the room and bed very comfortable. However the stay was marred by a lack of staff, particularly in the bar and serving food. One point that is worth noting is that our food order was not timely or together,even though the order was taken together. More importantly is that the food served was later found to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye797
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hawkeye797, thank you for taking the time to share your opinions of your stay here at The Gables. If you would like to discuss your comments in more detail I would be more than happy to go through this with yourself. Kind Regards, James.

glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a dinner bed and breakfast deal through Itison, which was £69 for two. My husband and I stayed in mid December. It was good value for money, although I don't know what the standard price would be. The hotel is ok, I was a little disappointed as it wasn't very xmassy at all. The bar and dining areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmccreadie
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Imccreadie, thank you for taking time to give us a review. I am glad that you found your stay to be enjoyable. As you were booked through a 'deal' site, we do offer a dinner menu which has a good number of choices on it, the is also the option to upgrade to our full menus if there was...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got married last August here.I wanted a quiet wedding with a location that showed its beauty in our photos. Hiring a campervan and toured the lake district and Scotland. We only stayed here for one night to get married but it was wonderful. The Dovetail Suit was perfect for our ceremony and later it doubled up as our private...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pnutz79
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pnutz79, thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure for us to be part of your special day. I am happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay! Hopefully we will see you again soon! James.

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an overnight stop and was not disappointed from check in to check out excellent. Rooms very clean and spacious very comfortable beds and lovely toiletries. Very reasonable prices.we had evening meal which was lovely. Staff all very pleasant and only to Happy to help. Will definitely return to this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen A
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there Eileen A, thank you for taking the time to provide us with a wee review. Its nice to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will return! Kind Regards, James.

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight on a short break. We got upgraded again to a four poster room with jacuzzi bath. Meals are lovely. Large bar - well stocked. Just a pity they no longer do the Kendal Mintcake liqueur!! Outstanding value for money. Friendly receptionist and staff.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gillian W
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gillian W, glad to see you returned to us again, and hopefully it wont be too long before you do again! I will see what I can do about the Kendal Mintcake liqueur for your return! James.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an absolutely fabulous wedding at The Gables yesterday. All the staff were just wonderful and made us feel so very welcome. The ceremony was fantastic, personal and just right.The food was just lovely really lovely.Our room was perfect, with Prosecco and fudge on arrival and we had a great nights sleep. Thankyou to all the staff at The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cavtat2015
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cavtat2015, congratulations on your wedding! Its a pleasure to be part of your special day and to know it went off without a hitch. Kind Regards, James.

North Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've just returned from 2 nights at the gables and what a lovely hotel it is! There was a leak in the bathroom so we went to reception to tell them and they upgraded our room to a delux with 4 poster bed and whirlpool bath foc wow! Food and service was brilliant! Didn't realise Gretna was so small with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmcsally
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarahmcsally, the great review, and I am happy that we resolved your issue in the bedroom quickly and efficiently and it did not put you off our hotel. Regards, James.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We originally got married at this hotel 16 years ago and it was fantastic, we stayed here twice again this year and we're very pleasantly surprised by the extension and renovations done. Very comfortable room with a homely feel and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. We had a room with a jacuzzi bath and the robes, slippers, chocolates and fizz...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Speirspauline
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Speirspauline, I am please to read that you have enjoyed coming back to us after 16years! Its good to see that you mentioned our food and our homemade chips! We do try to source the best possible ingredients and make everything ourselves in house, hope to see you again soon. James.

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.1 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.0 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
344 reviews
1.0 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
140 reviews
0.7 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Price Range: $123 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gables Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Gables Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lifts so if you can't manage the stairs ask for room on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 600eileena, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“both rooms we have had have been great.”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorJ444, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were three couples and were given rooms side by side.”
 of 5 bubbles BigAl040, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable rooms,spotless..”
 of 5 bubbles Shona1961, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check it out”
 of 5 bubbles normab274, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay