We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pelican Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Pelican Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pelican Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Nice pub, plenty of charm as you walk in, but room I stayed in wasn't a £70 a night standard at all, small and pokey with dated features and a bed that had seen better days, poor quality bed linen, clearly old and tatty and dated blankets (surely a quality quilt is the norm???) and pillows like teabags, not good....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mr C
Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I booked The Pelican Inn because it was convenient as we were in the area but mainly because the restaurant was voted one of the top 50 best pubs in the UK a couple of years ago On the plus side, our room was lovely, nice furniture, very spacious although the husband kept banging his head on the low beams....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crunchieH
PelicanInnOwner, Owner at The Pelican Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are very glad you were happy with your accommodation however it deeply disappoints us that your meal was not satisfactory. We appreciate all feedback and can whole heartedly tell you that this is not the usual service or level of food we produce and are saddened that you felt...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

I stayed for one night. Very friendly and helpful staff (I had booked a twin room online but they offered to move me to a double room), wonderful to get a cooked full English breakfast, would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henna2010
PelicanInnOwner, Owner at The Pelican Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the future!

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely Inn for one night. We found the staff very welcoming and friendly and it was extremely clean and homely. The food was great too with the breakfast provided having an array of different foods! Would definitely recommend it; a great option to visit Norwich without having to be in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danwell97
PelicanInnOwner, Owner at The Pelican Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to review us, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Good hospitality to this lovely village pub. Only spent one night here but if I'm ever in the area again I will certainly book in again. Comfortable clean room with a respectable time for breakfast for the working man wanting to be on the road early ish. The only criticism was a poor choice of lagers but I did manage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin D
PelicanInnOwner, Owner at The Pelican Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we hope to see you if you are in the area again!

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We were visiting friends for the weekend and were brought to the inn for an evening meal before our journey home. Walked in to a friendly welcome by the owner. Looked after extremely well by the lady who seemed to be doing everything in the bar/ restaurent.Had excellent food, great service even when I asked for chips with my chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markdee157
PelicanInnOwner, Owner at The Pelican Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Average pub grub with excellent real ales Food was ok and friendly staff Place looks a bit tired, I'd go again if passing also have rooms and nice big garden but again garden a bit scruffy Nice local pub though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeB49
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Worth travelling to enjoy a great meal, staff were very friendly and polite. Nothing was too much effort. This pub was recommended by a friend who knows what they are talking about. Food was well cooked and great choice. Would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise r
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

great food comfortable accommodation, pleasant staff, great choice of drink & menu thanks to all staff. very quaint characteristic building and good evening atmosphere. ideal stop over not too far from Norwich & the broads

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asheeran46137667
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015

This is the fourth time i have stayed here in the last 16 months. It is a very relaxed atmosphere the rooms are clean and have free wi fi as usuakl i had a lot of stuff to do on ghd laptop following business metings during the day. that finished i went down to the bar and had a very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan m M

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tacolneston
8.5 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,092 reviews
10.7 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,486 reviews
9.5 km away
Sugar Beat Eating House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful 16th-century former free-house, full of charm, cosiness and character. Clean, friendly and welcoming, modern rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Large licensed residents lounge area, with Now TV (box sets and films), self service honesty bar and real ale bottle shop stocking over 30 bottled local real ales. All rooms are booked on a bed and breakfast basis, offering all rooms with en-suite shower and wc facilities. Wifi free. Key safe for late checking, large extensive FREE car park. Morning coffee garden area. Breakfasts all cooked with local produce. Overnight bike storage. 8 Miles from Norwich city centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pelican Guest House

Address: 136 Norwich Road, Tacolneston NR16 1AL, England (Formerly The Pelican Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tacolneston
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pelican Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pelican Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look at the devil in the detail, the pics don't tell the full story”
361mrc, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
“They are all good”
alanmm2013, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Only a few so I'm sure all similar”
SisterBluebird, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Only 3 rooms and I have stayed in 2 of them with no problems to date”
NormanH_13, 29 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 1,2 and 3”
alisonc939, 1 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
CheapTickets
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates