We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Settlers Rest Farmstay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Swan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Settlers Rest Farmstay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I am loath to write this review as I don't want too many people knowing how great this place is in case we can't book next time we want to go! We have stayed at Settler's Rest twice now and we absolutely love it. From the tranquility of the surroundings, the cosy and super clean cottage, the friendliness and patience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VGood
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure seeing you all again, and wow have the boys grown in the last 18 months! Can't believe they knew all the animals by name and had been constantly talking about them since their last trip! We are thrilled you all felt so relaxed and "at home" at our farm and that the cottage provided all...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Good farmstay experience especially for the kids offering animal interactions including chickens, sheeps, goats and horses. There was also daily farm tour by the owners. Fairly large living space in an antique Australian cottage with well maintained equipment. The beds also came with bed warmers which were very useful in the cold nights and mornings. Owners were friendly and professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ben20883
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity of our lovely farm and the animals. We are very appreciative of any feedback we receive, particularly if we are able to improve in any way. We are not sure of when you stayed so that we can relate to your family. If you could mention what daily necessities you feel would improve...

Singapore
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A 3 bedroom cottage with lots of space to run around. Though the weather was cold, the electric blankets did the wonder at night. My 4-year old daughter particularly likes the goats and sheeps very much as she would be able to feed them as and when she likes. The owners Corrine and Caris even brought us on a mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyapple
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

We are very thrilled you enjoyed our farm, particularly that your four year old daughter got to experience animals and nature out of a zoo, our children were brought up in this environment and it is such a wonderful thing for them to experience, caring and feeding of animals. Also very pleased to know you were nice and warm and...

perth, aus
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Settlkersrest is a sweet, family run farmstay where you stay on property and cna participate in the daily arm activities, located within the swan valley with lots of fun things to do close by. What a sweet little cottage, its a old settlers style cottage, very well kept for its age, with everything you, open fire places, high chair, electric...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SunAndSandPerth_Aus
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about our farmstay, we are very thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The cottage is a real gem, isn't it??? A true farm cottage not a purposely built modern chalet, it really is like stepping back in time but with all the mod cons expected of today's living. The children just love...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at ur cottage and farm. I love ur lovely cottage and the serene environment and my son and niece love the feeding of Fion and the sheep. Best of all, u were such a warm host who made us feel welcomed and spent time giving us a farm 101 on who eats what in ur...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

You are most welcome. We are so pleased you enjoyed the ambience of the farm cottage and the peaceful serene environment, but most of all it was a joy to see the children's pleasure in feeding and experiencing animals not in a zoo! Children are so inquisitive and I am sure they will remember Fiona and the sheep, not to...

Singapore
Reviewed 18 February 2016

It is a rather neat, nice and quaint little country house with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, living, dining area, a bathroom and service area. no problem to find the location via GPS as there are signs pointing to settler rest. Family and friends staying in this farm house would have all the time and chance in the world to bond with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cross_star
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure to host your family on our farm. Yes, you are correct, there are no planned itineraries other than you are welcome to join us around 4.30 each evening when we feed the horses and other farm animals. You are free to roam the farm and met and greet the animals at any time of the...

Reviewed 18 February 2016

It is our first farmstay experience in early Feb'2016 and we (7 adults and 3 kids) all had a fantastic time at Settlers Rest! We had very close encounters with the farms animals - sheep, goats, cow, horse. We bought carrots and they simply loved it! Owners allow us to feed them any time and we could even join their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JaynemcLee
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

It is always a thrill to read such lovely comments about our farm and the cottage, particularly to know that the children had an experience to remember and would love to return. It was lovely to meet all your family, the cottage is made for a maximum of 8 persons, however you all seemed to manage and thoroughly enjoyed your...

singapore
Reviewed 21 January 2016

The farm was a little more rustic and traditional than it looked in the pictures. It nonetheless very well kept and clean, kitchen was well stocked as well. Farm had variety of animals which mostly kept as pets to the owners, who were mainly into horse training. Kids enjoyed the feeding times in the evening which was a good experience....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kennethou
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on our farmstay, our animals are indeed friendly and welcome visitors of the human kind! Our apologies for the BBQ, we had no idea you were unable to operate it, as it was working by using a match to light it. Guests unfortunately turn the knobs over and over and end up...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

The feel of the morning chill and evening chill was just amazing during the summer. Away from the city and surrounded by a vast plot of farm land, it was just the right getaway for us. The owners were warm and friendly from the reservation process till the day we checked out. The farm house is just for you and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Vijayan_Haridas
Settlersrest, Owner at Settlers Rest Farmstay, responded to this review

Dear VJ and family, how lovely to receive your comments on Tripadvisor and you described what we offer to a tee "it is not a hotel it is home"!! We are very pleased this is how you felt, comfortable and at home, as this is what we offer. Back to the natural things in life, stress free and away from...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 May 2015

It was the first time in a long time we were all disconnected from internet. No, I am not complaining. It was a great break away from emails and surfing. The feel of the cottage is nothing near commercialise. It has a warm feeling of staying in a friend's house. There were interaction with the owners which was excellent. They...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ilmare612

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Swan
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 1 in Henley Brook
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Settlers Rest Farmstay

Address: 90 George St, West Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > West Swan
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Settlers Rest Farmstay staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Settlers Rest Farmstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a private cottage with 3 rooms for 8 people. Do ask for more blankets and ask how to switch on the bed warmer as it can get chilly at night.”
 of 5 bubbles KareenL_12, 18 Mar 2014 | Read review
1 of 1