We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Orchid Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Orchid Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Black Orchid Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 16 March 2015

DO NOT STAY HERE! This place is not worth the price paid. We had reserved the villa and was extremely disappointed. Little did we know that the villa is a two minute walk away from the resort. The villa was extremely run down and very old looking. There is no cement sidewalk to the villa entrance and you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ragni2014
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

I take this opportunity to apologize for the poor conditions you found in our 3 bedroom villa across the street from the main resort and have taken the necessary steps to remedy them. The entire villa is presently being renovated inside and out and new furniture, a jacuzzi and barbeque grill has been added. As to your experience with low...

Plainview, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Pretty hotel close the the International Airport in Belize City. I was congested so I didn't notice while we were there, but when we arrived at our next hotel and I unpacked some clothes, they had a strong musty smell. I thought the food was good. It has a pool at ground level. There was another small pool on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julietravelsalot
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

I have no way of knowing how, when, where or why your clothes picked up a musty smell but can assure you that none of our rooms are musty. You stated yourself that you did not notice any musty smell at this resort hotel and it is patently unfair for you to label us that way. My wife and I...

Reviewed 2 March 2015

We took our high school group to Belize using an tour company, so we didn't do any real research for our hotels, but boy all of us were really, really pleased. Edmund picked us up at the hotel and piled all our gear on top of his van, gave us a history of the area, and promptly brought us to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lise L
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our facilities, needless to say that we a very pleased that your student group had a good time in Belize in general and at Black Orchid Resort in particular. It is always our objective to please our guest but sometimes we do fall short, the staff will be most please to get...

Lynbrook, New York
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

Burrell Boom Lovely setting right on Belize River. Rooms and grounds were well maintained. They have a pickup from airport and Edmund was kind enough to stop at a supermarket so we could load up on water. Manager and staff very attentive to our needs. Arranged trip to Community Baboon Scantuary, free canoes and bikes. Food was a disappointment and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Explorer11563
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property, it helps us focus on our guests concerns, and so it is that our restaurant is presently being upgraded in every respect, food & beverage plus astectics and ambience. Doug

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 18 February 2015

My friend and I arrived at the Belize airport, and were picked up promptly by a friendly and helpful driver from the Black Orchid. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, set right on the river, with a nice pool, restaurant, and bar. The staff could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca G
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

As this was our first trip tq Belize and we weren't sure what to expect, we booked our first four nights at Black Orchid Resort because of its proximity to the airport, it's proximity to a number of interesting sites and because generally it receives good reviews on Tripadvisor. On the whole we were not disappointed. The free airport transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robnalice
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to writing a review of our property, we are always grateful for your feedback as it helps us to improve our service which is always our gold. The areas that seem neglected are really not, it just that this time of year many or our trees are blossoming and in some cases changing leaves which...

Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 15 February 2015

The Black Orchid Resort was a perfect location outside the city to begin our exploration of Belize. However, it was a big disappointment. The prices are high for accommodations but outrageous for what you get for dining. I would NOT eat anything other than the continental breakfast here. The staff is friendly and supportive like everywhere in Belize but that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelinldd
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review of our property and we regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You have help us to conclude to take our Villas off the market until we can renovate them and bring them back online. We have in the last month hired 2 very experienced executive chefs and have totally retrofitted...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This is a great resort in a great location! It is very close to the international airport, which makes it a great place to start or end a vacation. The staff is second to none. They were all very helpful, welcoming, knowledgeable, and hospitable. Other reviewers are correct that the resort and food is somewhat simple. But it is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2015

The black orchid resorts new building (Thomson) is a great building with great rooms and the most comfortable bed we had in Belize on our 11 day adventure. Everyone here from the drivers, bartender, chef are fantastic. They have a new chef and the food was amazing, except the continental breakfast they need to work on that. While the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyns179
Encino, Ca
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Stayed two nights. Rooms are average in amenities. Staff was nice. The grounds are nice, but not spectacular. Food was average; in particular the breakfast offered is quite plain. Very clean. Near to several sites in Belieze.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drcuellar2013

425 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (324)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
24.4 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
19.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
37.1 km away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
34.3 km away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
284 reviews
34.5 km away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Price Range: $186 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Orchid Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Black Orchid Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view/front rooms have good view of the river & offer a nice patio....”
trc09, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River View is the one we liked.”
, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I didn't see much difference between rooms.”
kennethg426, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are the best.”
Theowensfam, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are similar; don't think there is a river view room but probably worth asking for.”
ddbelize, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5