We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windmill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Windmill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of The Windmill
 Click to rate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just called on off chance for a bite to eat on way home. Enjoyed the lamb shank and the wife enjoyed the veggie risotto, kids said the nuggets and the curry were nice too. I think that new owners have taken over with big plans, quite a good start if you ask me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear Paul T, Thank you so much for your review of the Windmill, we are really chuffed that you think we have had a good start and are very pleased that your family enjoyed the food. Please say hello next time you are in, it's good to meet customers who are very positive about what we are trying to achieve...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Met friends here for lunch with the kids on Monday. Think we were the first to arrive at 12pm but the place soon filled up so it might be worth pre-booking to save disappointment, especially on a weekend. Was our first visit and What a lovely welcoming place. Very clean and cosy, nice and bright, great outside area. Bet it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumofthree3uk
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear mumofthree3uk, Thank you very much for your kind words after your first visit to the Windmill. and we are so glad you received a warm welcome and enjoyed your visit with us. Glad you enjoyed the food and we do take your point about the kids meals and are working on some family meal deals, especially for the school...

Leeds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here on several times and enjoyed it but on this occasion the overall experience could only be rated as 'average'. On arrival (6pm Saturday teatime) we were given the menu and the specials menu. My partner chose the fish pie and the order was accepted only for a waitress to come back and inform us that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripAdviserreader
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisorreader Many thanks for your review, we really do appreciate your feedback and all reviews are taken very seriously so thank you for taking the time to post yours. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal, we did sell out of our very popular fish pie special, due to the fact that we begin our specials menu...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten at the Windmill on numerous occasions, but not too recently. We stopped on Tuesday the 28 Feb early evening. We ordered a starter, then 2 main meals. My wife ordered the veg sweet potato curry and I got fish and chips. She left virtually all hers as it was bland. I left all the chips as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave9i
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear dave9i, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to us, we appreciate all customer feedback and strive to address every point made, as this can only improve our standards and service. We have asked our chef's to take another look at the sweet potato curry, as we have not had any negative comments on this popular dish before,...

Sherburn-in-Elmet
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided while out looking for a new car to call in the 1st place we came across for some lunch. This was it, the Windmill in Dunnington. The first person we met was warm & cheerful, and we were seated in seconds. The menu was standard Sunday fayre with a twist. The food was served quickly, ( I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaFawcett
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear MariaFawcett, Thank you so much for your glowing 5 STAR review, which we really do appreciate, it was just the tonic we needed. It's fantastic to hear that your food was a Wow from start to finish, and that the staff were not too intrusive and allowed you to enjoy your meal. Also really pleased that you had a...

Poitiers, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The family ate at the Windmill last Sunday 19th February, we were so disappointed. The mains were good, but waiting for over an hour with a four year old was pretty tough. The vegetables that arrived were in one small tureen for five adults and a child, we had to ask for more. It was so limited that I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnninFrance86
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear AnninFrance86, Thank you for your review of The Windmill, it is really appreciated. I'm so pleased that you thought the main meals were good, and that's great to know. You don't mention if the staff told you there might be an extended wait due to customer numbers, so I do apologise for your longer than expected wait, and being...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a family meal, early for the kids. When we came the was only a few in. Table booked for 1230, ordered at 1250 received food at 1415, enough said!! Over booked, under staffed and smiles all around needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8311ben
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it's very much appreciated and we can only apologise for your experience. We are very much on a learning curve since taking on The Windmill in December, and your comments have helped us to reassess the old booking system, so customers will now be allocated tables based on a time-frame, to avoid too many people...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This has been my favourite place to go with my parents for ages now. Even though I'm vegan and there's only one thing I can eat from the menu, we still go every time I'm home. My meal last night could be described as leftovers, just wasn't the same. Please don't let this pub go downhill

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Karen, thank you for your feedback, it's very much appreciated and I must apologise for your experience with your food choice. We do have a number of vegetarian dishes on the menu, and you highlight that you are vegan and obviously have different needs, so our chef's are now working on vegan options, which we trust will be to your...

HULL Yorkshire
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Visited here for lunch with friends,was very busy with a large group of people having just ordered their meals. Good apmashere We were greeted by a member of staff who directed us to a table. We ordered our food and drinks at the bar. We didn't have to wait long for our food to arrive. It was hot very tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaHULLYorkshire
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The Windmill is a great place to meet or stay. The food is excellent with a very varied menu and "Specials Board". My wife and my self went for a Saturday evening meal. I had the Steak Pic with shortcrust pastry and my partner had the Scampi. The menu offers either Chips or Potatoes, we not offered the choice, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcslater879
DanielPettigrew, Owner at The Windmill, responded to this review

Dear malcslater879, Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased we achieved a 4 STAR rating from you, and we have reminded all staff of the importance of mentioning the potato accompaniments to every customer. So glad you could not find fault with your meals or the prices, and despite how busy we were you did not...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
11.0 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
6.5 km away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
565 reviews
10.5 km away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at The Windmill, Dunnington, York. Open all day, every day, The Windmill is the perfect setting for a quick drink, a bite to eat or an evening out. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windmill

Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Price Range: $129 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Windmill staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Hotel accommodation is housed in a purpose built block next to the pub, with Good car parking.”
 of 5 bubbles malcslater879, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Advise to book at peak times, e.g. Sunday lunch and evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles LesT857, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyh898, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were situated on the first floor so quieter as the building is situated in pub car park.”
 of 5 bubbles 643janettew, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not book room number 6. Right next to corridor door.....very loud!”
 of 5 bubbles loglor, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5