We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 499: English reviews
Start your review of Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
 Click to rate
Cambs
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. The building and grounds are very picturesque. There are a number of areas to sit and enjoy a drink. Our room was very good, clean and tidy with a view over the grounds. We have stayed at a number of country house hotels and this was as good as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HagridCambs
surrey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited yet again. This time for my husband's birthday. We absolutely love this place. We always feel so relaxed here and we have got to know the staff pretty well. Thank you so much to all. A special thanks to Pat (who lovingly made a birthday fruit cake for my husband) and got Bruno to join in and sing happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tattoowidow
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel. Good grounds . Sadly under Gatwick flight path. Beds bit on short side in outside accommodation. The worst thing is evening dining . They have a set menu ,but then expect you to pay £3 a portion for vegetablesand £6 for a cheese selection which is very steep and old fashioned in this modern era. Will put me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel P
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and grounds . We have recently launched a new menu in our restaurant and the feedback from our guests at this time is very valuable so that we can continually monitor guests expectations and make changes if needed. Our Chef has designed our...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As expected, this is a country house hotel in massive gardens, some of which are neglected. We were upgraded to a better room as there was a wedding the day after we arrived. It was a courtyard "cottage" - actually a very well appointed, quiet, very long room with bathroom (with fittings for the disabled), and sleeping space and lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlbertfromDorset
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us , it was our pleasure to allocate a complimentary upgrade to you and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our lovely superior rooms . As you have said Courtyard Cottage , one of our most recently refurbished rooms offers a...

Nassington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and found it to be very nice. We had a courtyard type room in a sprawling complex of buildings that was nicely appointed and very clean. (One point however was that the bathroom although adequate was starting to show signs of wear and due a facelift). We had a couple of drinks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank united01
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was lovely to read your review. You must stay with us longer next time. Our restaurant menu has been relaunched this year, the team will be delighted to read how it is being received. Thank you for your kind words. We do hope to welcome you back to Ghyll Manor in the future. Kind regards Amanda Maglennon...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Magnolia which was lovely but disappointing after seeing online the room called 'Beam' and after speaking to a member of staff who chatted about 4 poster beds etc. Magnolia was very tired bathroom floor lifting, worn frayed carpets a trip hazard. Set menu was quite limited in selection range and not all staff were knowledgable but I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KD502016
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us . One of the charms of Ghyll Manor is how different some of the bedrooms are. Each with its own quirk. Magnolia is a beautiful, traditional and very popular room with lounge doors that open out onto the lovely gardens, whereas Beams, which you mentioned, is a...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having recently visited after quite a long time we were pleasantly surprised by a warm and inviting ambiance friendly and helpful staff and a delicious Sunday lunch which catered for a request for gluten free bead, decaffinated coffee and a child sized portion to meet the needs of three generation of our family. The staff had a good balance of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westsussexfoodie2015
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for attending our wedding fair and also spending the time to enjoy lunch with us too. The restaurant are working hard to launch a new menu and I am delight to hear this was enjoyed and catered for all. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and I know it will be...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a superior room as part of a deal with evening dinner and breakfast included. We were very happy with our room and it was spotlessly clean ,. Some might say the bathroom was in need of a refurb but we found it perfectly acceptable. Evening meal was well presented and tasty and breakfast was lovely . Some other reviewers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank septica
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest What a lovely review. Thank you. I will be sure to share your kind words with the team as I know they will appreciate reading them. We do hope we can welcome you back to Ghyll Manor soon. Kind regards Amanda Maglennon Reservations

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here 28.01.17, as it was a Christmas gift from my parents. They explained that they had got a deal on Travelzoo which was for a night stay with breakfast, as well as a 3 course meal in the restaurant. So we drove up to the hotel which is situated in a lovely little village, that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ncbll
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time writing your review of Ghyll Manor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. What a lovely Christmas Gift. I am pleased that you liked your room despite the short walk which we appreciate can be a little cold this time of year. We are very excited to have launched our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having requested a room in the main house on the booking form, I was disappointed to be shown a map to my room involving a long walk through the dark, damp fog. Due to the distance involved a copy of the map would have been useful, but the copy held at reception seemed to be the only copy, hence I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Friertuck
Amanda M, Reservations at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Ghyll Manor is situated on 40 acres of gorgeous private gardens. As a hotel we are spread across these views. We do respect your thoughts on the distance to your room and although reviewing many positive comments from guests that enjoy the stroll in beautiful surroundings I can see that in the winter...

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (394)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Courtyard Cottage (45)
Viewed
Feature Room (35)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
12.1 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,482 reviews
14.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.0 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
324 reviews
11.1 km away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
35.6 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Price Range: $149 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles HagridCambs, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure they have any”
 of 5 bubbles drp1e, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Non resident”
 of 5 bubbles westsussexfoodie2015, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for one in the hotel if you really cant bear to walk”
 of 5 bubbles septica, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother unless you are in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles Friertuck, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5