We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Regency Hotel Solihull

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Regency Hotel Solihull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

746 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 741: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Firstly, the staff were lovely. Friendly and polite. Warm welcome at reception. However the room itself was a let down. The mattress was worn so you slowly ended up slipping towards the middle during the night,the walls were very heavily marked/scraped/had large dents in places. The corners of walls were chipped and scraped. The wardrobe and other items were damaged....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jade n
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our room was big, very clean and beds were comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and the food was 1st class.The pool was warm and a good size the gym was a bit small but had all you needed in it. Overall a great long weekend x

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a decent 3* hotel then this is not suitable. The room was not like it was advertised. It was not cleaned properly as there was stains up the bathroom wall. There was a pubic hair on the side of the bath. The water would not drain away while you had a shower so you was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19bridge79
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay. Personally I believe the offer of a complimentary upgrade and a reduction of the price by 20% is more than sufficient based on the nature of your complaints. I am sorry you felt that the team asking to take a pre authorisation from your card were in your...

Wisbech
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is one I would not return to. The hotel looks ok as you walk in, the room was very tiredThe light in the bathroom only worked after about 5 mins, there was no plug for the sink. The food was not good at all, the vegetables were so hard you could not eat as so hard and lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 7phillc
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments over to the relevant management who will investigate the points raised. Thank you for bringing these to my attention. If you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Regards Bradley Shough General Manager

North East
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as a member of a coach party. Rooms ok and breakfast very good. However evening meals were dire. We had to pre-order our food and this was done by your room number not by tables. Big mistake. The staff were coming out with meals and wandering aimlessly around having no idea who they were for - food getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PheobePrudence
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments over to the relevant management who will investigate the points raised. Thank you for bringing these to my attention. If you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well located for a quick escape to the M42 and the road network but not much around here. The rooms are clean and tidy, spacious and well supplied with drinks, a real steam iron (not the usual hotel steam-free rubbish) trouser press and toiletries. Breakfast is good with nice selection of fruit and cereal as well as the carb heavy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BristolPavs
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, it is good to hear that you were well looked after and overall you enjoyed your stay. We have taken on board the negative points raised in your review and will work towards improving those area's. I will certainly pass your feedback on to all the relevant departments and ensure the team are...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here to go to a birthday party. Booked by phone none of the web sites show family rooms. Lady on phone really helpful and arranged an exc room with sofa bed and extra temp bed. Arrived early booking in was easy, so went swimming with the kids, pool good, changing room bit worn and sauna cold! Room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review, I am glad that the reservations team were able to assist you in creating a family room. (The reason these were not for sale on websites was because they were fully booked) Thank you for your feedback regarding the leisure facilities, in particular the sauna, there was a minor issue and this...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Regency for our anniversary. We arrived early and were allowed to check in early which was helpful. Staff were friendly and courteous. We stayed in room 111 which was a nice room with large bed, good view of courtyard but that is where the positives end. We didn't check all facilities as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misstmorning
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest Having read your review, I am really sorry there was a issue with your television. this was replaced yesterday. I am glad to read that the nights team have dealt with this issue in a prompt and professional manner, although the room which you were moved too was not to your liking. unfortunately our best rooms are located...

Northants
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival early evening for a 2 night stay - no hot water. Eventually advised it would be resolved shortly. In the morning - no hot water. Advised it would be resolved before our return. Returned around 7pm - no hot water. The receptionist was less than helpful stating it wasn't her problem. We had to insist on speaking to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgewalk
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry the major issue the hotel had with our heating and hot water system affected your stay with us. Furthermore I apologise that the room you were moved to was not to your liking, It is not mentioned in your review so I presume your alternative room did have heating and hot water? It is regrettable...

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

11/11/2016 Arrived at Hotel approx 19.00 Given 2 keys to room 114 on arriving at the room the door would not open due to faulty lock. Given access to room 113 on using the bath found the water out of the hot tap the was tepid on the bath shower mixer. Attempted to use the wash basin and the waste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Bradley S, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry that our boiler issues affected your stay with us, I understand that the Front of House Manager has been in contact and the issue has been resolved. The situation with the boilers has been fully rectified and I am happy to report that all the affected units have been replaced, Although this occurrence was completely...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
0.4 km away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#9 of 22 in Solihull
1,196 reviews
3.3 km away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
3.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 22 in Solihull
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 22 in Solihull
936 reviews
8.5 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Price Range: $81 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Regency Hotel Solihull staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
Taunton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Regency Hotel Solihull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first before booking and then choose.”
 of 5 bubbles 19bridge79, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bed with a new matress”
 of 5 bubbles 765peterr, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were of a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles Barmybrummie68, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms around the garden quadrangle have nice terraces to sit in.”
 of 5 bubbles Supastar147, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont get a road room”
 of 5 bubbles leedylan1998, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay