We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Railway Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Railway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Railway is well run and spotlessly clean The rooms are modern and well appointed, supremely comfy, with large bed, coffee machines, refreshments, great shower and bathroom, all a traveller could want The next morning breakfast was served promply and the food excellent it makes a refreshing change to the big "Chain" hotels who seem to forget that we as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Some of the rooms at the top of the building do have sloping ceilings which can be a nuisance if very tall but all are kept in the same manner. We all work very hard to make things as comfortable as we can. Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

While walking the Thames Path, we stopped overnight at the Railway Inn and were delighted with the welcome we received. There's no denying that trains run past the Inn regularly (the name is the giveaway) but hosts Roy and Pauline make you feel really at home. The ale is good and the food excellent. Next morning, after a splendid F.E.B.,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trillionmates
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your lovely review. Hope your walk continued to be good. It's always nice to welcome people into our home and would like to think that people go away happy. Reviews help me keep my business on track

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here several times over the last few months . Very welcoming staff great service. Rooms were spotless with very comfy beds and excellent showers . Breakfast is a delight order from a extended list ( eggs how you want them ) . As this is called the railway you must expect the odd train past your room but this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, a very kind review. I like to tell my staff what is said in reviews as they work so hard to keep our guests comfortable. Yes there are trains which don't bother most people. Not sure if the electrification of the railway through this area will make the trains quieter or just a different sound. We will see

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

First time in the area (a wedding in Oxford, a trip to Blenheim) and this friendly B&B was exactly what we needed for 4 nights. We were in Room 12 to the side of the main building, generously sized accommodation, clean, very comfortable mattress and well supplied. Breakfast was excellent and quickly served. The real ale at the pub is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PDJemima
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your kind review and really pleased you were happy with your stay. Hope you had a good journey on wards, Kind regards

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Countryfile Live at Blenheim and visiting Highclere Castle. Overall for the price paid, especially with an event in the area, it was a nice place to stay. Check in staff came across as a little rude at first, however it may have just been a bad day. The other staff in the restaurant/bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlecRigby
Hull
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Booked a couple of nights at the “Railway Inn” at Culham, now on booking I new the trains would be close...But I never thought I’d be sleeping on the platform or there abouts..(see attached pic ) After the heat wave in mid July, the small room at the top of the building was to say the least on the hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete J
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Yes it is in the name. Next to a main line. Works for some that need a train for travel. Breakfast is full English cooked to order, cereals, porridge, fruit pots a choice of tea, coffee, espresso, latte, cappuccino or hot chocolate and orange juice. I think everyone was suffering in the heat this year...

Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The room we booked was exactly like on the website. Cosy, comfortable & everything you need to make your stay welcoming. We only stayed overnight as we had travelled from St. Albans to go to Abingdon Airfield early on Sunday morning for a Driving Experience. The management & staff are all friendly & chatty. Showed us to our room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaW495
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and i hope your day went well. We do have an early breakfast even on a Sunday

London
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The room was clean & comfortable and the shower was pretty good. (The towels were lovely and fluffy.) Tea & coffee was freely available in the room which was welcomed. As the pub is next to the Railway there are freight trains rumbling past. This may not suit light sleepers. The staff were friendly and keen to ensure that everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonLippy
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this lovely review of us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are next to a main line. At the moment there are no trains until mid August as work is being done on the line. Which to me is quite weird, the silence we are not used to. There are other works that...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

We were a party of five for a meal the staff were friendly the beer was good and the menu was inexpensive and with a wide choice if you are a meat eater! Unfortunately even though I asked when I booked if there were vegetarian options and given a positive response. The only option offered for a vegetarian was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for the lack of information given to you. There is Roast Veg Lasagne, Soya based Cottage Pie, Prawn, Cheese or Egg Salad and Scampi along side of the Omelette. Vegetable Balti with Rice is also a good option

Manchester
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Booked 2 nights (8-9 July 2016) for annual former Culham College of Education reunion. The B&B is value for money (£60 per night for a double room including cooked breakfast). Room was good, nice and clean, skylight window. Great coffee machine (note: please read the instructions first!!) and good choice of coffee/tea.Hosts were friendly and chatty. Met Carla the dog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefanRogers
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Stefan, Very enjoyable weekend and enjoyed meeting everyone. Hopefully be back next year. Carla is very friendly and looks forward to meeting people. Breakfast is cooked to order and also a selection of cereal is available for those who don't want cooked breakfast. Coffee/Tea machine in room and also a kettle if you prefer.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culham
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
3.5 km away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#2 of 5 in Abingdon
215 reviews
5.0 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
1.8 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Clifton Hampden
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Culham OX14 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Culham
Price Range: $109 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Railway Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Scarborough, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I cant imagine there is a bad room at this place”
 of 5 bubbles 757ChrisB, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room well away from the Trains...If poss a couple of miles away...”
 of 5 bubbles PeteJ261, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room with separate entrance, lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles PatriciaW495, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you smoke as for upstairs room at the back near the terrace!”
 of 5 bubbles StefanRogers, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“As noted above, the four rooms called Platform 4 are furthest from the railway and therefore quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 1000brian, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay