We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Seal Bay Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Seal Bay Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Seal Bay Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 49: English reviews
Cherrybrook, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I lived in a cabin facing an open farm. It's facing the west, so actually I could see the splendid sunset. I have been to other cabin in NSW, but they not some quiet like this one. Inside the cabin, it's simple but clean. So it's nice. I forgot my electrical toothbrush there. When I called them 2 days later,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fan H
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Fan! It really is a beautiful location here, the sunsets are spectacular, and I'm so glad that you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy it! We hope to see you again one day! Yollana

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Nice place to stay but I get the feeling it's about making money rather than being the best it can be. The cabins are fine and have everything you need but they are not loved. We arrived to find pots and pans still dirty from the previous guests and the toilet not flushed by someone who had clearly not been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexandmaggie
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear that there were unclean pots and pans in your cabin on arrival. This is certainly not our usual standard. Our cabin toilets are supplied with dam water and some brown discoloration in the toilets is normal, which may have been what you were looking at. We appreciate your feedback...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016

I went to Seal Bay Cottages with my daughter for lunch , the menu was fantastic , we both had homemade gourmet burgers that were incredible .The cafe was cool and roomy as it was a very hot day the day we were there . The cafe is licensed and theres a huge selection of kangaroo island produce which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank willy b
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Willy b, Thanks for submitting your review online. We receive many positive comments about our food, coffee, service and atmosphere, but not all of them make it onto Tripadvisor! We have a wonderful place here, and very much appreciate it when our customers make the extra effort to share their positive experiences online for other travellers to read. Wishing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Our family of three stayed for one night in one of the cottages with two bedrooms - one with a double bed and another with two bunk beds. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and with great hospitality. The great: - The cabins are exceptionally clean, from the beds/linen to the cutlery and cooking facilities/utensils provided in the cabinets -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pecana
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Pecana. For people who are used to the city, the quiet of the bush (and the noises of it!) can be something to get used too! Part of the adventure of travelling, I hope! Since your stay, we have installed reverse-cycle air conditioners in our cabins, and we do provide ironing facilities on request. Guests...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015

A lovely peaceful place to escape to, conveniently situated 200m and out of view from the main highway. Traffic noise wasn’t a problem because there is hardly any traffic on Kangaroo Island! I stayed 3 nights and the lady manager called Yollana is very pleasant and helpful. Because I was travelling alone I only paid $100 per night as opposed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew h
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the peaceful location and the beautiful sunsets we have here. It really is a convenient spot to see the rest of the island! It was great to meet you and learn about your art work. Wish you all the best in your travels! Kind regards, Yollana

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night in a cabin. The kids loved the 4 bunk beds and the cosy cabin. The cabin itself is what you would find in a caravan park so wasn't that well insulated or new. The cabin had a little kitchen so we cooked our own dinner and breakfast with food that we'd purchased in Penneshaw. You could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happyitchyfeet
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Dear happyitchyfeet, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We think our cabins are great value for the location and facilities we provide... and it's great to hear that you got to see a wild wallaby right by your cabin! Regards, Yollana

Canberra
Reviewed 5 July 2015

A nice enough place to stay near Seal Bay but you can only get food if you book in advance (as the cafe isn't open for breakfast or dinner otherwise). Ok, but make sure you plan your meals in advance. The cabins themselves are your fairly standard small cabin found in caravan parks throughout Australia.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daveo_2012
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Seal Bay Cottages came under new ownership and new management in September 2015. We have made a number of improvements since then and hope to continue to do so. We appreciate your past reviews and hope you will be back in the future. Regards, Yollana

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2015

The cabins are located on a peaceful, rural property next to a winter pond teeming with birdlife. Koalas can also be seen on the property itself. Our cabin was clean, but in need of refurbishment when we visited. We gave feedback to the staff at the time, who were friendly and happy to help where possible. Would love to go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adelaidetraveller888
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Seal Bay Cottages came under new ownership and new management in September 2015. We have made a number of improvements since then and plan to make more. In the meantime, we appreciate your past reviews and hope you will be back in the future. Kind regards, Yollana

Mount Barker, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We booked this accommodation (3 adults) for the convenience of location near Seal Bay. We arrived about 1PM. We wanted to have lunch and were told as it's winter the café is only open from 10AM to 2PM and whilst we were still on time, they still wouldn't serve food as there were only 2 of them working. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank laurence_baillie
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Seal Bay Cottages came under new ownership and new management in September 2015. We have made a number of improvements since then and plan to make more. We were sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience here in the past, and we hope you will be back in the future. Kind regards, Yollana

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We spent 3 nights at Seal Bay cottages recently . The setting was peaceful , ,new owners very helpful and welcoming . The cottages however need some revamping and I am sure the new owners have this in mind . The cottages are in a good position for exploring the wonderful scenery of the south and west of Kangaroo Island...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sally O
Sealbay24, Owner at Seal Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Thanks for your review! Seal Bay Cottages came under new ownership and new management in September 2015. We have made a number of improvements since then and plan to make more. In the meantime, we appreciate your past reviews and hope you will be back in the future. Kind regards, Yollana

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
47.2 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
41.8 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
697 reviews
40.8 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.2 km away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
43.3 km away
Flinders Chase Farm
Flinders Chase Farm
#31 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
33 reviews
43.3 km away
Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*Under New Ownership in September 2015* Seal Bay Cottages offers a number of self-contained two-bedroom cabins in a tranquil rural setting nestled among native gum trees and overlooking a winter lagoon. Water birds, wild flowers and native animals are on your doorstep depending on the season. Seal Bay Cottages also offers 12 bed hostel accommodation in four bunk style rooms and a shared kitchen facility. Seal Bay Cottages is situated in a beautiful location, on 35 acres of land, half an hour from Kingscote. It is an ideal base for visiting the world famous Seal Bay Conservation park, Little Sahara sand dunes, Vivonne Bay, Kelly Hill Caves, Remarkable Rocks and Flinders Chase National Park. Our fully-licensed restaurant / cafe, is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (breakfast and dinner by request during quiet periods) and serves a variety of meals including local produce and alcohol. (See the Seal Bay Cafe Listing on TripAdvisor). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seal Bay Cottages

Address: 3052 South Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Kaiwarra Cottages)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Price Range: $129 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seal Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Seal Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seal Bay Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommend staying in the cabins”
 of 5 bubbles Roman_Ferdman, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Very basic accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles 291christine2016, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All the Cabins are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 940carmelf, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“7 huts - all the same - all a bit worn out.”
 of 5 bubbles steven_wilkinson, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“chose the west facing one to see the sunset”
  • cabin
 of 5 bubbles 228fanh, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay