We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Orbitz.comUS$61*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017

rooms with good view, neat and clean, good enough for a days stay. Ayurveda treatment was very relaxing. food was decent enough to fill . private beach was good and clean.Pool can be improved.pricing also good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhanesh b
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. dhanesh b, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thank you very much for your stay at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort and sharing your feedback through tripadvisor. We are very happy to learn that you had an excellent Ayurveda stay at our resort. It is our pleasure to inform you that we have received 03 times National Award of India Government,...

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We booked for soma palmshore resort, but due to some undisclosed reasons, we were sent to this resort,since they are the same hotel chain. Initially i didnt liked the place bcz it was very far from beach nd we were not given desired room. We had elderly nd children too with us. But after we insisted, they gave us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sundusmonis
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

My extended family and I were at Somatheeram Ayurvedic Resort the last four days. Here is why we will never come back: 1:Check in: While we had booked for two sea facing and one partial sea facing cottages which was confirmed several times over the phone, we were told that we would get only one sea facing cottage. General Manager...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MaheshShah9
Kep, Cambodia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I have just returned with my wife from a three week stay where I went specifically for the Ayerverdic treatment which is quite fantastic. The huts are clean but very basic more basic than they should be for the price. They are very busy so busy they are building a huge concrete addition to the hotel, that is the lift...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike B
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mike, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thanks for your stay and feedback. We are very happy to learn your appreciation about your stay at our Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, I quote your words here “We were on a package where the treatment and food was included. I would say that it is a good deal, the food was really...

Kozhikode (Calicut), Kerala, India
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We were a family of four.. I had initially booked at a different resort of the same group and I was upgraded to this resort and boy was I glad!.. Getting there is a bit of a pain.. Many narrow roads and its a bit interior.. But upon reaching it was truly worth it.. One of the best maintained and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanbabu83
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thanks for your mail and feedback. We are very happy to note you are happy with all service provided in our Ayurveda resort. Thanks for your appreciation on our private beach is excellent and clean... Food is all vegetarian and all organic and extremely healthy. We are exclusive Ayurveda resort and all services and facilities...

ireland
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The hotel was over booked when I arrived and my room had been given away before I arrived although I booked and paid months in advance. I was made to stay in a temporary room for the first night but was still charged full price. The reception staff and booking.com did not help, booking.com has not even replied to the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Morealle
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Morealle, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thanks for your mail and feedback. We are very happy to note your positive feedback on our facilities and services such as Good Ayurveda massage therapists. Nice pool. Nice staff in restaurant. Planting great and landscaping. Simple/ standard room / hut is nice and airy. White walls and high ceilings. Lots of free...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a simple yet accomplished place in terms of its Ayurvedic treatments and the right kind of food to go with, then there's no need to look further than Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort. It's a nice and cozy place which will give you all the comfort along with a great environment for ayurvedic treatments. We had an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sameer M
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sameer, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thanks for your mail and feedback. We are very happy to note you are happy with all service provided in our Ayurveda resort. As you mentioned we are exclusive Ayurveda resort and all services and facilities are designed for that purpose. We assure you our best service all times and looking forward to...

Gurgaon
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Their USP is the beautiful property, amid of green surroundings next to a not so crowded beach, though quite old one. But services are real slow, due to lack of staff or may be some other reasons. We had to call 4-5 times and wait for almost 1- 1.5 hrs. when we faced some issue in our locker. again for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PARAMSIM
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Paramsim, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thanks for your mail and feedback. We are very happy to note you are happy with our room, beach, swimming pool and location. Yes, we are exclusive Ayurveda resort and all services and facilities are designed for this purpose. We are promoting and propagating the Ayurveda life style, so we are non alcoholic...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The moment I stepped in , I was totally awed by their property.location is perfect- it is very close to a quiet beach. Fortunately, this beach is not frequented by tourists and one can truly enjoy the clean water. Location wise it is 10/10. Facilities: 10/10 clean, good swimming pool. Yoga sessions. During our stay we saw dance programmes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DishaDave
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Horrible experience at the hotel. In terms of the spa, when we arrived we selected the package that gave you 2 hours of spa service per day for three days. The spa service was not relaxing AT ALL because the two therapists talked the WHOLE two hours of my treatment. I ended up only completing two days of treatment because...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 900aileenl
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! This is the 02nd time you are posting same feedback. Please verify your posting, is in the same resort that you had stayed??. As we do not have any records of stay as per the information you had provided. Also we never had any incidents reported as you had mentioned in your feedback....

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (310)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowara
0.2 km away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
580 reviews
6.3 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
7.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
0.3 km away
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
#1 of 2 in Chowara
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Somatheeram is the world of authentic Ayurveda. A serene Aryurvedic resort by the sea in South India. Here you can benefit from traditional Ayurvedic therapy as well as yoga in a blissfully peaceful environment. It is one of the best tourism spots in Kerala, India. Located at Chowara Beach on a hillock 9 km south of the famous Kovalam Beach, Trivandrum, Kerala with over 15 acres of greenery all around.And for houseboat trip in kollam u can visit our kollam allseason backwater resort .. search for allseason kollam ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Address: Kovalam, South of Kovalam, | South of Kovalam beach, Chowara 695501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Ernakulam District > Chowara
Price Range: $86 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somatheeram Ayurveda Hotel Chowara
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Beach Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go for the cheapest option if possible.”
  • Lush greenery everywhere
  • Lush greenery everywhere
  • The rooms from outside that I stayed in
chipalkatti, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the sea and not close to the church are much quieter”
umesh2017, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I had a bungalow just up the steps from the restaurant, it was quiet and nice.”
MDHarding, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“individual villa”
, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“By the pool close to the sea”
A8822OYmikeb, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$61* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$69
Expedia.comUS$61
Hotels.comUS$61
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates