We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tui Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Kaha
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Tui Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Tui Lodge
 Click to rate
auckland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were delighted on arrival to discover this wonderful relaxing B & B with beautiful grounds and welcoming hosts. Our room was well appointed opening onto the extensive veranda where we could sit and admire the view. Wendy was kind enough to cook us dinner that we shared together. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and with reluctance we continued...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_takapuna
tuilodge2016, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this review

We were delighted to hear the very positive feedback from our guests stay at Tui Lodge in Te Kaha. It is always very much appreciated when guests find the time in their busy lives to make the effort to give their recommendations. We were glad that they found our Lodge a peaceful stop over on their journey around the East...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2017

What a wonderful quiet area and how relaxing sitting out on the front veranda. We were welcomed by Wendy and later on we met Trevor. My husband enjoyed his afternoon tea and as I have dietary requirements I supplied my own. Room was very big and comfortable. Lovely hosts to talk to and they gave us more information about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen_S798
tuilodge2016, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this review

We are always grateful when guest take the trouble to tell other would be tourists about the East Cape and their stay at Tui Lodge. We like to feel that this is a very peaceful stop over after a long days driving, where our guests can relax and enjoy a quiet evening. So glad that this couple enjoyed the garden,...

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We called in at this B&B on the off chance they had a vacancy while touring the Pacific Coast Highway and fortunately they had. From the moment we arrived Wendy made us very welcome and after showing us to our room made us afternoon tea and offered us a lovely slice of cake which she had baked in the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JORO6
tuilodge2016, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this review

It is always much appreciated when guests find the time in their busy lives to write a review which other people who are enjoying the East Coast, will appreciate. We were so pleased that they enjoyed this little piece of paradise and hope that they rest of their journey was equally as nice. Many thanks. Wendy and Trevor

Opotiki, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The team loved the relaxed atmosphere and were able to settle into their strategic planning session into the evening and the next day. The meals were just right and mainly from the garden. Wendy's baking was excellent and she was very hospitable. The rooms were very clean and it was a joy to be able to relax on the verandah...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindasteel2017
tuilodge2016, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this review

We thank the team for their lovely feedback on their stay at Tui Lodge. We really enjoyed their stay and they are all a great asset to the local community. We look forward to hosting them again and welcome any other small groups who need a quiet retreat for some 'serious' planning. Wendy and Trevor

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed overnight at Tui Lodge, arriving in afternoon to a warm and friendly welcome and afternoon tea. Our room was very comfortable and roomy. We enjoyed the gardens and the sound of birds and nature, along with a guided tour by Trevor. Chooks strut in the garden and then supplied us with our eggs for breakfast in fact most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zordor
tuilodge2016, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this review

We thank the guests for taking time to give their thoughts about this lovely part of New Zealand. It is nice to know that they also had a few hours to enjoy the peacefulness of Tui Lodge. Waking up to the birdsong after a very quiet night's sleep is one of the pleasures of this little piece of paradise. Many...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We were made to feel very much at home here. Pleasant room with lovely garden view from the verandah and an amazing guest sitting room with beautiful wood ceiling and floor. We had tasty evening meals with garden produce and freshly picked bananas with breakfast! Trevor and Wendy gave us an interesting tour of the garden and we had our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F3271EGmaryl
tuilodge2016, Owner at Tui Lodge, responded to this review

We are always happy to have feedback from our guests, especially when they have appreciated all that this peaceful and tranquil area of NZ has to offer. We want to thank these guests for finding the time to review our little piece of paradise. Much appreciated.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We arrive to afternoon tea with a slice of homemade cake and a cuppa. the evening meal was mostly from the garden. The room was good with its own en suit. Wendy was very accommodating and would do anything to help. The gardens were amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 155richard81
Wellington
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We overnighted at the Tui Lodge whilst having business in the area. Wendy and Trevor had only just taken over and we were among the first guests. The room was very clean and Wendy welcomed us with a slice of homemade cake and tea and coffee. Dinner was simple and delicious using produce from the garden. Although they had only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellors
Bristol England
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Like the previous reviewer, we read the excellent reviews of Tui Lodge and decided to stay one night on our trip around East Cape. However, although the room was good, the bed comfortable and the grounds lovely, and Wendy was very hospitable, the breakfast was a big disappointment for the amount of money being charged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken649
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We booked this B&B based on the amazing 5* trip advisor reviews - however ownership has changed recently. The gardens are beautiful and bed very comfortable, however the level of hospitality wasn't as described in the previous trip advisor reviews so we were disappointed (ie none of the nice little touches e.g. only a basic breakfast, no tea & cake...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank eleroo11

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tui Lodge is the realised dream of Joyce and Rex Carpenter. Purpose built in 1998, the Lodge offers comfort and tranquility without equal on the coast. The Pacific Highway from Opotiki to Waihau Bay has been described by a leading British travel writer as a contender for the best Coastal drive on the planet. Tui Lodge can be found 66 Km from Opotiki on this spectacular coastal excursion. Situated in three acres of gardens and constructed in natural materials with guest comfort and privacy being paramount, the Lodge is in complete harmony with our native bush surrounds while affording views of volcanic White Island and the Pacific Ocean. Since November 2016, Wendy and Trevor McJarrow have taken over the Lodge and will continue the long tradition of hospitality and welcoming all guests, to this little piece of paradise. The Lodge is well suited for small groups who want to hold seminars or conferences, as the main lounge is spacious and private. Even those interested in gardening or art, would benefit from spending perhaps a weekend, to enjoy the very best of what this part of NZ has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tui Lodge

Address: 200 Copenhagen Road | Eastland Bay of Plenty, Te Kaha 3199, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Te Kaha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Price Range: $201 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tui Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tui Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a garden room, the view of the garden is lovely”
JORO6, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have a view out into the garden and beyond”
zordor, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Its a B&B so don't expect hotel ammenities”
155richard81, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Click the web page, look at the room image with the red bed cover, that's the one we had, very good, quiet, clean, comfortable.”
nigelr994, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There is a lovely room that looks out over the beautiful front garden. But all of the rooms were nice.”
horseshoebush, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5