We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Buckingham Place

    Wellawathugoda Road, Rekawa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
    011 94 47 3 489447
    Hotel website
    Lowest prices for your stay
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
     10 people are viewing this hotel
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    View Deal
    Traveller (760)
    Room & Suite (202)
    Pool & Beach (151)
    • Excellent94%
    • Very good3%
    • Average1%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “his team” (64 reviews)
    “the owner” (133 reviews)
    “sri lanka” (190 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Poolside Bar
    Wheelchair Access
    Dry Cleaning
    Private Balcony
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Buckingham Place
    Offers & Announcements: FREE NIGHTS OFFER
    29 Oct30 Oct
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 43 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (704)
    There are newer reviews for Buckingham Place
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    • More languages

    21 - 25 of 599 reviews

    Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

    Coming every year in Galle and Tangalle we tried for the first time this hotel The garde in the gate was as rude and impolite maybe coming in a diplomatic black limo he wanted to give us a lesson! The hotel was occupied by a...More

    10  Thank ril27
    Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 7 August 2017

    I await the outcome of an investigation into whether your submission falls within Trip Advisor guidelines. Because you have no substantive experience of this hotel or restaurant other than to a) arrive without a reservation and b) not accept/believe the property was fully occupied and...More

    Reviewed 6 August 2017

    Buckingham Place is one of the most breath-taking places we have ever stayed. It is super-stylish but also super-welcoming. The location is perfect and the hotel itself is built with complete sensitivity to its stunning natural environment. The word generous comes to mind - generous...More

    Thank Teresa108
    Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 8 August 2017

    Beyond praise… Your straight from the heart review bowls me over this morning, I have a huge grin on my face! So many kind guests have supported us over the years just as you've done today. Nevertheless, reading yours feels no different to reading our...More

    Reviewed 2 August 2017

    My husband and I first visited Buckingham Place in 2014 and were completely wow'd by it. We knew we had to go back and sure enough this year we spent 12 nights in paradise again. The place has changed since our first visit.....bigger pool that...More

    Thank N T
    Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 3 August 2017

    I’m enjoying my afternoon, thanking our ‘regulars’ and guests who are becoming so! It’s hard to express exactly how we feel when guests return to the hotel. We feel happy and confident with what we’re doing of course, but there’s something else more difficult to...More

    Reviewed 31 July 2017

    We arrived at Buckingham Place during the monsoon floods at the end of May and were told that the restaurant and pool had been flooded, but there was no sign. The staff had done a wonderful job in clearing up. Our stay (fourth or fifth,...More

    Thank Tim W
    Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 3 August 2017

    Another great review..! Thank you for returning - yet again, and for following up with another flawless review. Your compliments for the team are as magnificent, as your kindness towards all when you’re here. Sorry, I think I too have lost count of the number...More

    Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

    This is one of the most wonderful locations. The terrass has a stunning view over the Indian ocean with massive waves, the beach is totally deserted and beautifully natural, the turtles are nesting and hatching on the beach. The restaurant serves excellent food. There is...More

    Thank Dirk G
    Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 29 July 2017

    You may know, I’ve recently returned to the hotel after a lengthy ‘medical sabbatical’. I’m overjoyed being back and to be ‘fighting fit’ of course but equally, I’m thrilled with all the recent reviews, and by seeing (once again) that during my absence the team...More

    Similar hotels
    Palm Paradise Cabanas
    700 reviews
    #4 of 23 hotels in Tangalle
    Turtle Bay
    428 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Kalamatiya
    94 reviews
    #8 of 23 hotels in Tangalle
    The Nature Tangalle
    19 reviews
    #20 of 23 hotels in Tangalle
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Breakfast included
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Outdoor pool
    • Price range
    • US$188 - US$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 16
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buckingham Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Sri Lanka >
    • Southern Province >
    • Tangalle >
    • Netolpitiya >
    • Rekawa
    • Also Known As
    • Buckingham Place Hotel Tangalle
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (760)
    Room & Suite (202)
    Pool & Beach (151)
    Dining (96)
    Hotel & Grounds (520)
    Bathroom (38)
    Family and Play Areas (4)
    Palm Paradise Cabanas
    700 reviews
    9.13 km away
    Turtle Bay
    428 reviews
    9.40 km away
    The Nature Tangalle
    19 reviews
    4.42 km away
    94 reviews
    12.12 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Oceanfront @ Buckingham Place
    69 reviews
    .03 km away
    Mango Shade
    293 reviews
    5.97 km away
    All view resort
    7 reviews
    .78 km away
    Dream Family
    552 reviews
    5.95 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Turtle Conservation Project Turtle Watch
    361 reviews
    .15 km away
    Tangalle Lagoon
    217 reviews
    5.94 km away
    Medilla Beach
    72 reviews
    7.67 km away
    Medaketiya Beach
    70 reviews
    6.87 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Madusha D
    30 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from Jane R | Reviewed this property |
    The beach is not private but is very quiet. There are no loungers from hotel but you cannot swim in this part of the ocean.
    23 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 7 answers
    Response from Buckinghamplace | Property representative |
    Dear Lisa, Thank you for your interest in coming to stay with us and happily answer your questions as follows; yes, we can suggest alternatives to our restaurant and do so based on positive feedback from guests. There are... More
    26 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from Buckinghamplace | Property representative |
    Dear Debbie, Thank you for your email, interest in coming to stay with us. My sincere apologies for the delay in response, I happily answer to your question as follows; With regards your anniversary; we can obviously do... More
    Room Tips
    "Try for a a room with a lagoon view, but all rooms have a peak of the jungle and lagoon"
    Read review
    "They are all very good, whichever one you choose will be a delight."
    Read review
    "All rooms have views of the lagoon."
    Read review
    "All rooms have excellent views"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing