We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Alta

Show Prices
#2 of 5 Hotels in Alta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Alta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Alta
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hotel is well-situated in town, is very clean and has friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are neat and modern, are reasonably big and have a desk and chair. As with many other Scandinavian hotels there were no tea/coffee making facilities. More significantly the room + bathroom had no glasses/plastic cups etc - something I would consider a minimum... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob K
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apoligize for forgetting to put glasses in your room. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We spent two nights in Scandic Alta hotel. This was the first time we stayed in a Scandic hotel. We selected this hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disapointed. The hotel was modern looking, in a good location, easy to find and easy to park just outside the hotel. Though the premises belonged to Scandic hotel, parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewFernando
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We are really pleased to hear thar you enjoyed your stay with us. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Check in was most polite and efficient. The next morning the young man was still on duty, some 12+ hours later and he still managed to have a smile on the face. The question for the breakfast timing was replied to with “usually 0630-1030 but tomorrow is Sunday and it will be 0630-1000”, the inquiry “why” was replied to with... More 

Helpful?
Thank RolandUO
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

La Crosse, WI
Level Contributor
328 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Having had 3 flights in 20 hours and arriving late, we were ready for a rest. The man at the desk was very kind and helpful, and underground parking was only about $10 (well worth it, but beware of the tight turn on exit -- many had failed to make the turn, as judged by the marks on the wall.).... More 

Helpful?
Thank occdocbill
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel. Our rooms were facing the shopping complex and totally happy with it. The are no coffee or tea making facilities in the room but you can get complementary water at the fountain close to the front desk reception hot water and coffee is available at the restaurant whenever is opened. Breakfast were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We are really pleased to hear that you liked our hotel. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The hotel's location next to the cathedral and amfi is convenient, with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Parking was quite expensive, and a lot of buses with tourists made the breakfast area quite busy. The room was quite average, but clean and with no carpet on the floor (which is appreciated!). No air conditioning, but we could open the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MortenNygard
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is a bit outside of Alta but shopping facilities and the Cathedral are right nearby. It looks like the Hotel is quite old, however, the rooms are renovated and quite comfy. Breakfast was included and tasted very good. Charging parking fees at such a remote place is a bit "unusual".

Helpful?
Thank FTC0815
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Staff not as friendly as other Scandic hotels. Parking should be indicated as paid parking and not self parking which we intrepreted as free self parking. Breakfast buffet was not well replenished. Ran out of fruit juices on both of their juice machines. Similarly with their fresh fruits they were not replenished. The tables were not cleaned faster enough and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Singababe
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We at Scandic Alta do appoligize that your stay didn`t stand up to your expectations. We try every day to do our best but in this case we have not delivered. We will do our best to learn from this and do better in the future. Best... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel has large comfortable rooms with Windows that can be opened. It is centrally located although apart from a very modern cathedral, the city itself has little to offer anyone not into shopping. The attractions, of which there are several well worth a visit, are out of town. By the way if you intend to shop remember they close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham J
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We are sorry that the elevator didn`t work that day. This problem were taken care of shortly after. We tried our best to seat everyone but had some problems that day. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Good hotel. We were here for 2 nights in the middle of sumner as part of a tour of Scandinavia. The hotel is centrally located and rooms are large with single beds. Rooms are clean, water is hot. Breakfast is a bun fight but the staff manage to keep the food supplied to hundreds of tourist locusts - many of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bailey R
301manager, Manager at Scandic Alta, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your review after staying with us. We at Scandic Alta hope to see you again another time. Best regards Scandic Alta Jørn T. Operation Manager More 

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alta hotels
0.2 km away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
267 reviews
1.3 km away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
19.7 km away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
11.4 km away
Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
2.9 km away
Holmen Husky Lodge
Holmen Husky Lodge
#3 of 7 in Alta
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is located in central Alta - the gateway to the Finnmark region - perfect for business and leisure. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in our Restaurant Alta - a combined cafe and a la carte restaurant. We offer excellent meeting and conference facilities that can host up to 650 participants. Parking is available in our garage or just outside the hotel for guest arriving by car. We also have a sauna available on request. As a guest you always have free WiFi in your room and in public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Alta

Address: Loekkeveien 61, Alta 9510, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Alta)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Price Range: $162 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Alta staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Alta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors offer a better view of the beautiful nature surrounding the hotel”
  • Northern Light Church
 of 5 bubbles SwizzAnja, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
  • Standard room
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles BillGWB, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles RolandUO, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Demand your room in the newer building if you wish to enjoy a modern hotel.”
  • Exceptionally worn out bathroom with difficulties with the shower.
 of 5 bubbles suomituristi2015, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the pub, it will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jdjd74, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay