We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 649: English reviews
Start your review of Sunderland Marriott Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unless you were going to Sunderland on business you'd probably never go there because it's a pretty dreary, neglected and poor industrial town, but I have been visiting this hotel from Manchester for 25 years as there is something unique and special about it and it's location in Seaburn opposite the glorious unspoilt sea front. For a visit to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrChipsManchester
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a wonderful location right by the sea. It is very comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. We had a superior room with a sea view. It was well appointed and spacious. We used the leisure centre which was really good. Breakfast was also good. Our package included dinner in the restaurant; this was a huge disappointment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _lynda24158
SunderlandMarriott, PA Executive at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lynda24158 We appreciate you posting your experience in a forum such as this one and delighted you had a lovely weekend break. Your kind comments have been shared with the team and your constructive feedback regarding your poor dining experience has been conveyed to the relevant manager to address. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused. We...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friendly welcome and in fact the staff throughout were great. Very clean and the food was good. Would stay again. The hotel is right on the seafront, about a 45 minute walk to the football ground. There is also a pub/restaurant next door with a fat Buddha just along the seafront as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shrimper79
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Hi shrimper79 Thank you for your great feedback and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to the area. Kind regards Liz Codling PA Executive

cheshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When following your football team to away matches, you want a functional hotel that is close to where you want to be. We arrived on a beautiful sunny January day and whilst we were too early to check in, we took the opportunity to walk along the beach, right in front of the hotel. Such a great spot. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CheshireDancingqueen
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

It is very much appreciated that you have posted your review and thank you for your valuable feedback in a forum such as this one. I am pleased you very much enjoyed your stay with us but sorry to read that you had a poor breakfast experience. Please accept my sincere apology for any disappointment caused. Your comments have been...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I had a particularly large room with a sea view. Although it was a bit tired in places, it was really clean and comfortable. We hosted an event in the hotel, at which the food was superb and the staff were fantastic. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAH27
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and I am pleased the hotel met your expectations. We are aware that the hotel is in need of refurbishment in some areas. We do have an on-going maintenance programme in place and have already completed several projects in 2016. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely Christmas dinner with my family. Service was quick and efficient. Food was tasty and a grand piano playing in the background. Staff were very helpful. Needs stronger air con when the restaurant is busy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karly C
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Dinner with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have shared your feedback with the team, who do work extremely hard to deliver a great customer service. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. Kind regards Sarah Harrison

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

From start to finish staff are superb. Great welcome, helpful on local transport, excellent breakfast choices, comfy room with every thing we needed, perfect housekeeping, just great. Very convenient hotel, a bus straight into Sunderland or north up the coast, great sunrise, near an assortment of restaurants but theirs is very good too. Has a spa but did not use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gimamo
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

It is always nice to receive such great comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your three-night break at the Sunderland Marriott. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to the area. Kind regards Sarah Harrison

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This was our second trip to this hotel, and may well be our last. The hotel location is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are okay, (although decor getting a little tired and dated)but the food is awful and breakfast was a joke!! I noticed on the back of one of the chairs in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank campariandbecks
Management response:

Many thanks for posting your review and I am very concerned to read your feedback regarding your poor dining experience at breakfast. I would be most grateful if you could contact me at the hotel on 0191 5292041 (option 1) to discuss the matter further. Kind regards Sarah Harrison

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

3 of us came for Christmas day lunch at 1430....... fortunately although staying over the 3 days, we were in a different hotel. Although the staff tried their best, they were clearly overstretched. For a restaurant meal at £80 per head, the main was the equivalent of what I would expect as a school dinner or a work canteen lunch-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Del C
Management response:

Many thanks for posting your review and I am very concerned to read your feedback regarding your poor dining experience at the hotel on Christmas Day. I would be most grateful if you could contact me at the hotel on 0191 5292041 (option 1) to discuss the matter further and I look forward to speaking with you soon. Once again,...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We have visited this hotel on my son's birthday for the last 4 years on boxing day and this used to be excellent . What on earth happened today??... Food ... Vegetables uncooked and school food menu. The service was terrible... Took over an hour just to get served the 3 hours to get 3 courses. Not enough staff clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon b
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review and I am very concerned to read your feedback regarding your poor dining experience at the hotel on Boxing Day. I would be most grateful if you could contact me at the hotel on 0191 5292041 (option 1) to discuss the matter further and I look forward to speaking with you soon. Once again,...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
258 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
770 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
20.0 km away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
6.4 km away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: $121 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunderland Marriott Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
4 months ago
Ilkley, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunderland Marriott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for superior room. Well worth it for extra space and fabulous sea view”
 of 5 bubbles _lynda24158, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front view over beach”
 of 5 bubbles Gimamo, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a bonus.”
 of 5 bubbles Cheryl19542014, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view above ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles BPasta, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“204 lovely size and sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Daisies99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5