We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunderland Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 631: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

As part of a short business trip to Sunderland I was booked into the Marriott Hotel. It has a superb location facing the sea albeit it is slightly off the beaten track for a business trip. The staff were very efficient and helpful and the quality of the room was good and well appointed. Unfortunately, it was a Sunday I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cfab777
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I do appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I am pleased to read your valuable feedback. It is always encouraging to read such positive comments as our associates work hard to deliver a great customer experience. The Promenade Restaurant is open for dinner between 6:30pm and 10.00pm nightly (excluding Sunday). I am sorry to read your...

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised the hotel is on the promenade with an uninterrupted view of the sea -the promenade is currently being renovated and made for a very enjoyable walk. The check-in (and check-out) were straightforward and quick, the room was large a bit tired but had everything you needed a large, a trouser press, tea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HughMc
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing your review and I am very pleased you were pleasantly surprised with the hotel and its location. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback and your kind words have been conveyed to the team. We are aware of the need for refurbishment in some areas of the hotel and we constantly improve the property,...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I stayed here for 2 weeks with my mother last summer. We had payed for a bigger room with a sea view for the first night due to lack of availability of a cheaper one for that night. We were then moved to our other rooms which were cheaper and facing the back of the hotel. The first room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodie L
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of the Sunderland Marriott on TripAdvisor and I am delighted to read your review. We do have a selection of room types and there is a small premium for our sea-view rooms which overlook Seaburn Sands and the North Sea. I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy the amazing view...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We always enjoy our short breaks at this hotel. Large rooms with sea view, comfortable bed (and pillows!). Breakfast buffet is good but fairly predictable. Well placed for access to the town, the coast and what passes for football!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherDavid
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted you always enjoy your short breaks at the Sunderland Marriott and it is pleasing to read your positive feedback. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, when your travels bring you to the North East. Warmest regards Gillian Eaton

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Since I was young I had always heard that the Marriot Hotel in Sunderland was the perfect place to go for a night away. Considering you can only pay for two night's stay and not just one I was expecting sunny views and a comfortable night's sleep Sadly I was greatly mistaken. The room was tired and dated with no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavinaCanning
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations and I sincerely apologise for the discomfort you encountered with the room temperature. Unfortunately not all of our bedrooms have air conditioning and the windows are fitted with restrictors for health and safety reasons. Rates are available...

NH
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Booked three rooms for 2 nights for a family get-together. The rooms were large with big bathrooms, very clean and fresh-smelling. The furnishing is "my rich old auntie's house" style - a bit plush and ornate, a little used, but functional and scrupulously clean. We were told that our room was in the "new wing". Oddly, for such a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wollo
SunderlandMarriott, Drector of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your sharing your experience in a forum such as TripAdvisor. I am pleased you found the staff to be cheerful, polite and helpful and your kind words will be conveyed to the team. It is also very pleasing you slept like a log and you had an excellent breakfast experience. It is always encouraging to...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

i recently stayed for six days at this hotel whilst on a business trip i found the staff very friendly and accommodating the hotel was clean and to a good standard, the food i found to be overpriced and average which led me to try the local restaurants,the rooms were cleaned every day but one thing that did disappoint me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelseadaz
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review and for sharing your experience, following your recent visit to the Sunderland Marriott. It is pleasing to read your positive comments which will be passed on the the team. However, I sincerely apologise for your concern with the bed linen, this comment will be addressed by our housekeeper with her team. For long stay...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Room was average - no thermostat control/air con, so the room was very warm (the window onto the main road could have been opened?!). Bed was very hard for me, pillows too soft. Shower weak. Bar area like a social club in decor. The most annoying thing - why does a paying resident have to pay for wifi in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelandAndyY
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry the hotel’s facilities did not meet your expectations. I sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered and for any disappointment caused. We have taken your comments on board and thank you for your valuable feedback. Our bar area is presently being decorated with soft furnishings still to be put in...

Hull, UK
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

I booked a sea view room for one night ( worth the extra money as it really was directly looking out to sea / beach..shame it rained some of the time! Check in was fast, and really friendly. The room was huge with a separate sitting area within the room. It would have been good to have air con as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I do appreciate you posting your review and I am delighted you enjoyed the sea-front location. It is always encouraging to receive such great comments and it is pleasing the hotel’s facilities and services have met your expectations. I am sorry you had an issue with the room temperature. Unfortunately not all of our bedrooms have air conditioning but fans...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Ok. The weather did help. However, the hotel has a great locaction right on the beech and in the middle of the seaburn sea front. Staff are really friendly and happy to help. The gym is small but ok. The best festure is the pool and hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevef16
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

It is fantastic to read your review and thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the Sunderland Marriott. I am so pleased you enjoyed the leisure facilities and found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. Thank you once again for your great feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Warmest regards Gillian...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
729 reviews
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
199 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
0.0 km away
The Pullman
The Pullman
#10 of 11 in Sunderland
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: $104 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunderland Marriott Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago
Ilkley, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunderland Marriott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view above ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles BPasta, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“204 lovely size and sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Daisies99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea views best”
 of 5 bubbles bluebird312, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for sea view and visit the pool!”
 of 5 bubbles devons436, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“suite with the large round window”
 of 5 bubbles oscarsmad23, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay