We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Sunderland Central

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Sunderland Central
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 199: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice Travelodge with exceptionally friendly reception staff. Room very spacious and clean. Hotel is near shops, bars etc but was very quiet at night. There is no bar or restaurant in this hotel but there is a bar right next door that serves good priced cooked breakfast. Much better value than the boxed continental breakfast on offer at the hotel.

2Thank Marion B
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. We’re pleased that you found your room to be very spacious and clean as we aim to provide an enjoyable stay to all of our guests. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel, we do hope to see you again in the future.

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful and it was just amazing. I would highly recommend anyone who wants a quiet peaceful place to stay to stay here. Its very central and someone can easily visit the various locations in the city.

3Thank 885nathanielu
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This travelodge is by FAR the worst one I have EVER stayed in. The carpet in the reception area was covered in mud!! The room was cold, dull and felt like a boxed prison cell! At about 11pm the receptionist came up to tell us to turn our music down which baring in mind wasn't even loud it was on...

Thank Lucie B
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Sunderland Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights (Fri,Sat and Sun). Quick easy check in and was asked if we needed any local information. We had room 224 that overlooked the Sunderland Minster. The room was very quiet even though when you looked out of the window there were plenty of people about. On Saturday morning I received an urgent email and had...

3Thank Ian H
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

room was very clean and comfortable staff were very friendly and helpful.booked taxi for us.nothing was too much trouble. if u want quiet this is nt the place for you as its in the town which we knew when we booked so didnt mind at all

3Thank Tina H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

have stayed at this travelodge many many times rooms always clean fresh warm and welcoming all the staff are friendly helpful if you need anything all you need do is ask it is in easy walking distance to shops and the water feature that is near by is lovely at night time

3Thank Tracey O
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of our Sunderland Central Travelodge with us. Your feedback is really important and detailed comments like yours will help us improve our guest experience. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our helpful hotel team. We will be sure...

Peterlee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night with friends while visiting the theatre(which is only a 5 minute walk away) Quick check in with no problems and room was spotless. There are plenty restaurants really close by .On return to hotel about 1am the member of staff on duty ( Judith I believe she was called ) was extremely friendly and helpful...

3Thank Christine J
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

We're so pleased to hear that our hotel team were friendly and attentive during your recent stay with us at our Sunderland Central Travelodge and we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We're so happy to learn you had a great stay and we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the hotel...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location for night in Sunderland, staff very friendly and helpful. hotel good value and clean, only downside is limited parking but right next to public car park so not an issue. Despite being next to a pub we had no noise issues at all, will definitely be staying here again.

4Thank 422ajd
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying for a week for a business trip in Sunderland, I booked this hotel because it had good ratings on trip advisor which noted it was close to all the central pubs and restaurants. I knew what to expect of a travelodge, and it was perfectly adequate as a room (though a more comfortable chair would have been nice). But...

2Thank PeterinUK
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the room you received, although we would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay due to the location of our hotel. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed on Sunday night and was greeted warmly by reception given plenty of local information. Room was very clean and warm and had a very good nights sleep. Excellent shower. Next door is a very friendly Wetherspoon pub which serves a great breakfast from 8am. Be aware there is only limited parking on site but I had no problem on...

4Thank KBW107

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
Room/Suite (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Bathroom (4)
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.8 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
637 reviews
2.5 km away
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
729 reviews
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Sunderland Central

Address: Low Row, Sunderland SR1 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: $67 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sunderland Central 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Sunderland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Travel Lodge Sunderland
Sunderland Travel Lodge
Sunderland Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Sunderland Central staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Sunderland Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early”
 of 5 bubbles traceyo498, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Business floor”
 of 5 bubbles 28raymondj, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A room on the front overlooking the car park would probably be quieter as this borders St Michael's Way rather than Low Row.”
 of 5 bubbles nickg812, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“south facing rooms are quieter although we had no issues with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles grumpy123456, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the first floor mean you can pick up free wifi from the wetherspoons”
 of 5 bubbles travel1trip2, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay