We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saxon Crown

Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (14)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
The Saxon Crown is a refurbished 1960s landmark building in the centre of Corby town, ideally located for those doing business in the town and surrounding area or visiting the nearby countryside, Rockingham Castle or Rockingham Speedway. Our rooms are luxuriously fitted and contain sparkling bathrooms with relaxing rainfall showers. We offer a complimentary welcome tray in each room, comprising tea, coffee and biscuits, along with a bottle of sparkling and still mineral water. Each room is fitted with an HD LED smart TC and USB plug sockets to keep up with current demands for technology. As with all Wetherspoon pubs/hotels, we offer free Wi-Fi throughout the building, including every bedroom. The name refers to the history of the area: the village of Corby derives its name from Kori, the leader of Danish invaders who settled in a clearing in Rockingham Forest.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Accessible rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
58Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
12Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wetherspoon hotels town centre bottled water scottish breakfast tim martin didn't hear a thing co op an iron and ironing board lovely hotel family room nice room walk in shower hanging space clean towels lady on reception family visit
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I had no idea Wetherspoons did hotels until my first and second choice in the area were fully booked. I was pleasantly surprised. Nice service, rooms decorated to a high standard and the price was a less than I was going to pay for my...More

Thank zxmike99
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

A local when home, great home and good atmosphere though can be really busy! It has a good choice of food, especially on deal days such as the Indian food and steak night evenings. It’s cheap and cheerful and good prices for drinks too.

1  Thank smitchell1989
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Me and my dad has brilliant two night stay which is excellent. The staff were helpful especially the manager who has been top guy to me and my dad. The food was brilliant especially the pizza and garlic bread is tasty. The room was spot...More

2  Thank Supermarriott
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Stayed on a Monday night and had breakfast next morning. Very comfortable bed and room. Powerful shower and big bathroom. Hotel very central - no parking supplied but 30 minutes dropoff free in front of the hotel and easily found free overnight parking in the...More

Thank Liz C
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Bed runners are used to put feet (shoes) on whilst lying or sitting up on the bed to watch TV. Not good to put clean towels on bed runners! Wash hand basin too small to fill kettle easily, makes a flood on bathroom floor Lack...More

Thank Arthur255
Response from DJCunningham, General Manager at The Saxon CrownResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it is good to have and take back to make improvements in the future. Some of the issues raised are outside of our direct control, being to do with the fabric of the room, however we will pass these on...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
29 July 2016|
Response from Saxon-Crown | Property representative |
Good Evening, if you could email or call the hotel directly we will be able to liaise with you and go through the room options we have available. Check in is from 2pm but we can arrange an early check-in for a £20 fee, there... More
10 April 2015|
Response from Saxon-Crown | Property representative |
There is on street parking 2-5 minutes away as well two paid car-parks in the town centre both a 5 minute walk. We also have a pick up and drop off point directly outside the hotel.
p g
19 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Saxon-Crown | Property representative |
We have 12 rooms in total, including doubles, twins, a family room and a DDA room
Room Tips
"Check out the building works - not yet started but plans approved months ago"
31 Aug 2018
Read review
"Had no problem with noise from the outside traffic"
1 Feb 2018
Read review
"no useful tips as could not fault"
31 Oct 2017
Read review
"Rear rooms overlook the delivery area (see review), front rooms may have traffic issues..."
16 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
US$55 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandCorby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing