We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast is very delicious with lot to choose from. The rooms are cleaned every day and appear very clean. Definitely my favourite hotel in Frederikshavn. I've stayed there several times and have never been dissapointed in any way,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenrikHelmer
oslo, Norway
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Cozy hotel. Everything is very clean. We stayed one night and had a good rest. Breakfast is variated and very good. Rooms are clean an service is nice too. We arrived late at night and could still put in an order for food in the restaurant. Big bonus. Personally I enjoyed this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice Christ... J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Really good hotel in a good central location for the town. Rooms are clean and well presented with a wide selection of tv available for non Danish guests. Nicely presented breakfast if maybe a bit limited but this is a not bad standard for Denmark. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Adjoining anerican diner style restaurant is also pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianc2004
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this and expected to sleep well that usually happens at hotels. Our view was to the charming street - but in the middle of the night there started to be more and more drunk people yelling and loud music. For the record, it was a Saturday night. I woke up several times because of the yelling. The windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirja E
HotelHermanBang, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Mirja. Our location in the middle of the city can sometime be a challange when it comes to noises in the night. When visiting us again, do ask for a room facing the parking lot, away from the pedestrian street with has chances of some noise duting the night because of people going to nightclubs a discos. Best regards;...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Classic exterior and reception area with high ceilings with welcoming candle lit windows & tables. Rustic tones with bright clean spaces with large windows in the public rooms. Wide brightly lit corridors with large windows to all rooms. A family friendly hotel with a special welcoming style.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
HotelHermanBang, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Hi Graham. Thanks a lot for taken time to review our hotel. We shure hope to see you sometime again when visiting our city. All the best and have a great summer. Lars Dannervig. Hotelmanager

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Rooms are correct and clean with some modern touch, however they might feel a bit small. Breakfast was certainly a deligth, much of choice, fresh and overall good buffet! Ideal for being close to the main shopping street and just a step down from the ferries. Absolute easy access and parking at the back of the hotel. Also it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stayed here for a 2 day business trip. The room was small but comfortable. Nice bathroom with lots of space. As for the bed, it's a bit small but with a good bed spring. What annoyed me was the TV, it has a bright blue led on the front that shines very bright when it is in standby and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moisandor
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Moisandor Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Late check-in went without problems; the hotel was easy to find, coming from the ferry terminal. The room was perfectly adequate for a good night's sleep. Internet connection included in the room rate worked very well which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was tasty and inlcuded both warm and cold dishes. Upon arrival there was no assistance given with luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axu K
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 31 July 2015

but unfortunately management fails. Three important things did not function in our room and gave a bad impression. The handle to the glass sliding door to the toilet was loose and threatened to fall on the floor. The door could not be closed and slipped up. The water in the sink wanted to stay in the sink when we wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeigi
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry to hear that the room you booked was not what you expected. We are fully aware that theese rooms are not in the same standard as the rest of the hotel, that is why we call them economy or budget rooms and the Price on theese rooms are lower than a standard room. However...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I needed a room. I was told only one left in the annex building 2 blocks from the main one. They said: same quality, same price. I took it. As soon as I walked to the annex the very same room was advertised by the door half price. (Picture enclosed) Bad business. The building is old, run down, not really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ipm001
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tak, fordi du udfyldte spørgeskemaet vedrørende dit nylige ophold hos os. På hele vores teams vegne vil jeg gerne beklage,...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 km away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 15 in Frederikshavn
504 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 15 in Frederikshavn
158 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 15 in Frederikshavn
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
31.6 km away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 3 in Skagen
223 reviews
0.4 km away
Danhostel Frederikshavn City
Danhostel Frederikshavn City
#8 of 15 in Frederikshavn
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Price Range: $124 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the room are facing the pedestrian street. They are quieter and have the best view of the streets.”
 of 5 bubbles HenrikHelmer, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have booked and paid via hotels.com - bring a receipt of the payment. Or use Expedia.com.”
 of 5 bubbles AxuK, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Avoid annex. I don't know the main building. (If it's similar to the annex avoid that one too)”
 of 5 bubbles ipm001, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Make sure to have a room not facing the street!”
 of 5 bubbles Theoscarssons, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Some of the rooms on the 4th floor can be a little warm in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles 891mortenr, 27 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5