We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Viamede Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Viamede Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Viamede Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I researched a lot of places to take the dogs for a vacation. The places we looked at allowed dogs but charged higher prices and/or only allowed one dog per couple. What's great about Viamede is dogs are totally welcomed with friendly smiles and dog treats. They even provided us with a dog bed. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kendra D
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kendra, Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Ben

ottawa
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I found Viamede while searching on-line for pet friendly getaways and wanted to book a family weekend as a birthday gift to myself. The trails, the lakeside setting and the emphasis on local food sealed the deal so we booked. On arrival, we checked out our lakefront cabin #414 and I must say we were not off to a great...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank familyexplore
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear familyexplore, Thanks for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. Apologies for the misses with your meal at The Boathouse. Hopefully next time you visit we can book you in to a larger cottage. Cheers! Ben

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We are two couples being put up in a cottage of two bedrooms for $400. It is pricy and we expect quite a quality suite but we're disappointed. The water flow is not strong enough when you have two persons taking shower at the same time. Do not expect to get what you usually will get at the price in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hotpu
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hotpu, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your stay wasn't as expected. Our accommodations are not what you would find in an expensive city hotel chain, but we find that is part of our charm. The meal at Mount Julian is absolutely an experience, and it is not for everyone. Nonetheless, I hope you enjoyed the rest...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed 3 nights in cottage 432 at Mount Julian. The cottage was clean and the housekeeper was great. They even washed our dishes. I love the fact that the entire resort is pet friendly. Our golden retriever enjoyed swimming in the lake. He also liked all of the dog treats in the lobby. The main hotel offers free WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jane, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you (and your golden) again soon! Cheers, Ben

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We loved our stay ! We roomed in a cottage, looking at the lake, comfortable with a BBQ and porch. Our dog loved it - such a bonus that this resort is 100% dog friendly ! Dog park too! The trails around the resort are beautiful. Food was over the top good! Loved the fine dining at Mount Julian and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schoutsen
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Schoutsen, Thank you for your comments. I hope we see you again soon! Cheers, Ben

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Unkempt. Gardens full of weeds, dingy corridors, dirt (Cheerio's on the hall carpets. Toilet wouldn't flush properly. Shower only, no tub! Counter in washroom was miniscule. certainly not enough space for toiletries for 2 people. Staff Very friendly but poorly trained and some were not very knowledgeable. Perhaps it is early in the season and once they gain experience thing...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank RetiredWoodturner
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear RetiredWoodTurner, Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. It's quite unfortunate that this was your experience, since I spoke with you personally every day that you were here and you commented how much you were enjoying yourself. I do hope we get to see you again sometime, perhaps in the summer when...

toronto
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Trying to book a night for our elderly family from overseas. They wouldn't accommodate a table of 6 for dinner after 5pm. Check in a 3 and dinner at 5 is a bit of a rush for almost 90 year olds. No more boat cruises either. Sounds like Viamede is for the young families these days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfroToronto
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear jfroToronto, Thank you for your review. It seems that you tried to book a table at the Mount Julian Restaurant - you are correct, we don't take a table of 4 after 5 pm, but this is deliberate. The restaurant only has 9 tables, and we have arranged the reservations very specifically to ensure the best service. A meal...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2016

This is a family friendly resort, everyone is welcoming and attentive. Free access to canoes, paddle board, and lots of islands and inlets to explore. Family friendly daytime activities. We don't fish but we really enjoyed the morning fishing. The breakfasts, while not gourmet are good. The moonlight night was beautiful. The indoor pool has an opening to swim in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you for your review! I am very happy to hear you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. Morning fishing is always a great way to start the day, so glad you enjoyed that! We look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers, Ben

Toronto
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We booked last minute and were lucky to get a three bedroom waterfront cottage. The cottage was spacious and could easily fit 8. It had open concept, two bathrooms and a porch with a nice view. Breakfast was buffet style and had eggs/bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, etc. We didn't try the restaurants but they looked good from the outside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guslius
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guslius, Thank you for your review, I am so glad we were able to get you in and you and your family enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you back for some more fun! Cheers, Ben

Toronto
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Whether you choose a dog-friendly cottage, or one of the new suites with Jacuzzi tub, Viamede's accommodations are snug and comfortable. The newer rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. The cottages have great views of the lake and have BBQs and porches for settling in and watching the sunset. There's an indoor pool, plus an outdoor pool and lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WinsomeTraveller
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Winsome Traveller, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I love to hear a guests description of Viamede, so thank you for that. We do try to create an enjoyable experience for families with various activities available, and of course delicious food! I look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers, Ben

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.1 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
91 reviews
3.9 km away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
64 reviews
33.0 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
222 reviews
5.7 km away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
14 reviews
35.3 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Price Range: $209 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viamede Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views from the cottages on the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles suesherban, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottages provide private comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles jennalbw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins are mostly all a water view, just a couple are behind so ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 51shanah, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For internet the modernized hilltop rooms have the best connection along with those in the main lodge. The cabins I saw were really rustic.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretS351, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try cottage 406”
 of 5 bubbles travelguy002, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay