We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viamede Resort

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Viamede Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Viamede Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This was our second stay at Viamede and I am not sure I wouldn't go back, but I am not sure I would either. The lake is beautiful, the outdoor pool was clean and the water trampoline and free water toys push the trip to a positive, but only just. We stayed in a cottage which was dated and in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ryan B
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ryan B, Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, but apologies that some things were not up to expectation. We are continuously updating and renovating, so I do hope you'll be back in the future! Cheers, Ben

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom cottages 2015 August and with my family of 7 (3 adult girls & husband, 1 grand-daughter)and had a great time. Found staff very friendly and accommodating. When out of coffee or ice called front desk and had delivered. When need bed changes for guest was done with a smile. Booked the pontoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suesherban
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear suesherban, Thanks so much for the kind review! We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Ben

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Last weekend, my wife and I got out of the city to celebrate our 25 th Anniversary. We wanted a causal place with a reputation for good service and great food. We were not disappointed. We are both very experienced travelers. I have been to most of the major cities and countries around the world and have experience outstanding accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank allanjackson2016
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear allanjackson2016, Thank you for the kind words! We're so happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. See you next time! Cheers, Ben

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I researched a lot of places to take the dogs for a vacation. The places we looked at allowed dogs but charged higher prices and/or only allowed one dog per couple. What's great about Viamede is dogs are totally welcomed with friendly smiles and dog treats. They even provided us with a dog bed. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kendra D
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kendra, Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Ben

ottawa
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I found Viamede while searching on-line for pet friendly getaways and wanted to book a family weekend as a birthday gift to myself. The trails, the lakeside setting and the emphasis on local food sealed the deal so we booked. On arrival, we checked out our lakefront cabin #414 and I must say we were not off to a great...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank familyexplore
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear familyexplore, Thanks for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. Apologies for the misses with your meal at The Boathouse. Hopefully next time you visit we can book you in to a larger cottage. Cheers! Ben

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We are two couples being put up in a cottage of two bedrooms for $400. It is pricy and we expect quite a quality suite but we're disappointed. The water flow is not strong enough when you have two persons taking shower at the same time. Do not expect to get what you usually will get at the price in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hotpu
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hotpu, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your stay wasn't as expected. Our accommodations are not what you would find in an expensive city hotel chain, but we find that is part of our charm. The meal at Mount Julian is absolutely an experience, and it is not for everyone. Nonetheless, I hope you enjoyed the rest...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed 3 nights in cottage 432 at Mount Julian. The cottage was clean and the housekeeper was great. They even washed our dishes. I love the fact that the entire resort is pet friendly. Our golden retriever enjoyed swimming in the lake. He also liked all of the dog treats in the lobby. The main hotel offers free WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jane, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you (and your golden) again soon! Cheers, Ben

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We loved our stay ! We roomed in a cottage, looking at the lake, comfortable with a BBQ and porch. Our dog loved it - such a bonus that this resort is 100% dog friendly ! Dog park too! The trails around the resort are beautiful. Food was over the top good! Loved the fine dining at Mount Julian and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schoutsen
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Schoutsen, Thank you for your comments. I hope we see you again soon! Cheers, Ben

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Unkempt. Gardens full of weeds, dingy corridors, dirt (Cheerio's on the hall carpets. Toilet wouldn't flush properly. Shower only, no tub! Counter in washroom was miniscule. certainly not enough space for toiletries for 2 people. Staff Very friendly but poorly trained and some were not very knowledgeable. Perhaps it is early in the season and once they gain experience thing...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank RetiredWoodturner
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear RetiredWoodTurner, Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. It's quite unfortunate that this was your experience, since I spoke with you personally every day that you were here and you commented how much you were enjoying yourself. I do hope we get to see you again sometime, perhaps in the summer when...

toronto
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Trying to book a night for our elderly family from overseas. They wouldn't accommodate a table of 6 for dinner after 5pm. Check in a 3 and dinner at 5 is a bit of a rush for almost 90 year olds. No more boat cruises either. Sounds like Viamede is for the young families these days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfroToronto
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear jfroToronto, Thank you for your review. It seems that you tried to book a table at the Mount Julian Restaurant - you are correct, we don't take a table of 4 after 5 pm, but this is deliberate. The restaurant only has 9 tables, and we have arranged the reservations very specifically to ensure the best service. A meal...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.0 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
101 reviews
33.1 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
354 reviews
14.5 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
175 reviews
5.6 km away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
16 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viamede Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everything is right on the lake.”
Joan1804, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“There are resort rooms and cottages. We really liked being in our own cottage right on the water.”
  • The view of the lake from our cottage deck
  • Sunset - can you even!
  • Just outside of our cottage
359elisak, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“being at the waters edge is nice but check that the rooms are clean and stocked with supplies”
marg634, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“I love staying in the main building - I didn't need to go outside to get to breakfast.”
450jenna, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not bother”
860ginger, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates