We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novastar Motel On The Lake

214 Highway 1, Dayton, Nova Scotia B5A 4A5 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Dayton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
33Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 11
  • 4
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stephen P wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
The room was clean and that is where it ends. Place needs a major overhaul. Way over priced for what is provided. 1-Beds uncomfortable 2-No hot water 3-Morning Front Desk person very very curt and unfriendly (She put a few things out and then disappeared) 4-Breakfast...Really bad coffee, Muffins were as dry as dirt, Oat Meal in pouch was hard (had to break it up with a spoon-I only assume was last year's product) DO NOT...DO NOT STAY HERE......BETTER OF TO STAY IN A TENT
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sjkyo wrote a review Sept 2022
Manchester, New Hampshire37 contributions10 helpful votes
Nova Star is a clean, basic motel with rooms that look across the road to a lovely lake. We stayed on our way to the CAT ferry to Bar Harbour. The location is quite convenient to the ferry, just a 5 minute drive. I can not sat enough good things about the staff. Kind and helpful at check in and then amazing later. I left my phone in the room, discovered this just as we were getting on the ferry. Amanda, the morning staffer brought my phone to the ferry when she got off shift for the day and the ferry brought it to Bar Harbour for me! Thank you, Amanda! Thank you NovaStar!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Matt R. wrote a review Sept 2021
Annapolis Royal, Canada4 contributions
Had to head down to Yarmouth to meet with some clients and do some work for a couple of days. This place was excellent. Nice view of the lake, super relaxed atmosphere at night. The gal at the desk was super helpful too when I needed some advice on a store to pick up some things I needed. They have a breakfast in a bag you can grab on the way out and eat on the way to the job. Saved me time and didn't have to stop somewhere else for coffee and food. Clean, quick, easy, near town, met a couple of nice people while I was there too. I would highly recommend staying here if you need a place in Yarmouth.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KJ Addy wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The place was clean and the staff was very helpful! Good outdoor space for a limited number of people. I would return. Great view of the water. We were travelling as a family and didn’t have a credit card. They took a deposit and saved our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susanne Giebels, General Manager at Novastar Motel On The Lake
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Hello @KJAddyadventure, thank you for your review. We absolutely appreciate it. Next time you visit us, you will be amazed by the many positive changes that have been made since your last stay. Have a fantastic weekend! Susanne Giebels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronald M wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed here one night and will never go back again. The floors in the first room they gave us were filthy and the TV wouldn't work. The manager spent a fair amount of time talking to the presumed owner on the phone trying to fix the TV but in the end moved us to a different room that he had just finished cleaning. I will say the floors were better in the 2nd room but the room was not adequate. Neither room had a hairdryer in the bathroom which is normal standard in any hotel/motel. This room did not have an outside door like the first room did so we were unable to leave the inside door open at any time in order to get fresh air. The blind in the bathroom had a slat missing in it and in order to have privacy we had to stuff toilet tissue along the whole width of the blind to block it off. The stopper in the sink was broken and in order to release it and drain the sink my husband had to work around under the sink. We had a small dog with us and the extra fee for her had been waived but I am at a loss to know what sort of damage any dog could have done to this place. Our dog sleeps in a kennel and I am glad she had the cleanliness of her own spot for sleeping. If this place has been upgraded I am so glad we were not there when it was any worse than this. We were very surprised in the evening when the man who appeared to be managing the place asked us if we were going to need anything from him as he was leaving and would be back at 8 o'clock in the morning. Apparently there was no one there for emergencies during the night, no telephone in the room, and there appeared to be 5 other rooms occupied. I have to give him credit though and that is why I have given the rating a 1. He was obliging and tried to help and was very polite and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bonnie Minard wrote a review Jul 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We booked a suite online as we were attending a family reunion for 3 days.Booked online through booking.com as the pictures showed a lovely spot with a beautiful view. We are from the area but have been away since 2001.As we were anxious to see family, we went there first and did not check in until after dark. We paid upfront for the room and when we were taken out back were in for quite a schock. Hazardous walkway and stairs, screen door jammed open stuck in the stairs on the next flight and broken, gross dirty windows, holes in screens, uncomfortable soft saggy mattresses.Hair dryer cord taped with electrical tape. I ended up not staying, some family stayed a second night as we had no where to go, and the 3rd night no one stayed. We asked for a refund but the owner refused saying they had paid booking.com. Booking.com refunded 15% but we are still out $500
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from El R, Manager at Novastar Motel On The Lake
Responded 3 Aug 2019
This is at least 2nd sites, 3 different guest's names that you placed nagative diverse comments with attempting to tear us a part and chop us down. Moneytary anger comment! The fact , you booked 03 nights in peak days and your husband came to us at 9AM of the 3rd night to ask for cancellation due to you got a free night stay in your family. This request violated our cancellation policy and we had that right to refuse refund. There was no complaint mentioned at all when you asked for cancellation. We always appreciate guest 's constructive comment to improve our operation so Your real comments are not exceptional, they were already improved and fixed. We blocked 03 nights for you and refused other booking request, how can we fill in that night once you cancel on the same night? Seems you want to get free stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FellowTraveler486693 wrote a review Sept 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This motel was disgusting. It was very dirty. The fridge was mouldy and not cleaned. But worst of all was the bedding. Everything was stained from the bed spread , blanket, sheets and pillow cases. I mean body fluid stains. The pillow case had blood on it. It was horrible. We had to go to Walmart to purchase bedding as everything else in town was booked. Stay somewhere else not here for 40.00 more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from El R, Manager at Novastar Motel On The Lake
Responded 30 Jul 2019
We are new management and we are sorry for these problems you had on behalf of our brand Since 2019, we have replaced all towels, bed sheets, bedspread, pillow, ect. Room was changed and renovated. Upgrading project has been ongoing. That will be a different El Rancho that you used to stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brad K wrote a review Sept 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Was on the phone with the owner trying to deal with a situation, and it was the most unprofessional and most awful customer service. I explained to him the situation that i was going there for an LGBT event and had to cancel one night and he wouldn’t allow me to. I found him homophobic when I spoke to him and he was agressive on the phone. He didn’t care one bit, do not book here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle M wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
As all reasonably priced places in town were full, I pulled in here to check it out. As I walked into the office I realized the attendant (owner??) was on the phone. He looked at me and I quietly asked if there were rooms available, so as not to be too loud. He said yes there were and to please wait for him to finish his call. He then said "please exit" and pointed to the door. Apparently whoever he was talking to was more important than selling a room for the night. I ended up getting a much nicer place down the street. Thank God!! After reading these reviews I am so glad we didn't stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
david c wrote a review Sept 2017
Gananoque, Canada107 contributions56 helpful votes
Very clean, Very friendly, helpful, free wifi the proprietor said come to the office for coffee in the morning, I did and was shocked to see he had yogurts, coffee tea toast cereal's milk bananas, juices he went out of his way to accommodate his guests I was up early and he was out in the parking lot with his phone picking up any bits of papers or litter if he could find any.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: very clean, dated, huge breakfast choices free/included great location referred great resturants...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dayton area.
PRICE RANGE
S$117 - S$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
El Rancho Motel
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaDayton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVASTAR MOTEL ON THE LAKE: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 60 Photos (Dayton, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Novastar Motel On The Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Nearby attractions include Frost Park (3.2 km), W. Laurence Sweeney Fisheries Museum (3.0 km), and Yarmouth County Museum and Archives (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shanty Cafe, The Dinner Plate Family Restaurant, and Old World Bakery And Deli.
Does Novastar Motel On The Lake have airport transportation?
Yes, Novastar Motel On The Lake offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Novastar Motel On The Lake located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Dayton.
Are pets allowed at Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Novastar Motel On The Lake?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chebogue Point (3.2 km).