We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
12 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/04/22
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4070)
Room & Suite (800)
Pool & Beach (743)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairmont Orchid
Updated 11/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 7 hotels in Puako
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Inspired by culture, well-being and genuine aloha, Fairmont Orchid is a luxury Hawaii Island resort and spa beautifully located on the majestic Kohala Coast. Resort amenities feature our award-winning Spa Without Walls, a 10,000 square foot oceanfront pool, Hui Holokai Beach Club offering ocean and cultural activities, six restaurants, year-round children's program, golf, fitness center and tennis pavilion.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
24-hour security
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room service
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Deal:Fairmont Gold Experience - Complimentary breakfast served in private lounge
5388Reviews180Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,447
  • 1,270
  • 410
  • 176
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cherie H wrote a review 3 Dec
Newport Beach, California97 contributions59 helpful votes
My daughter planned what was supposed to be a mother/daughter vacay to celebrate my 60th. The assumption when she booked through Amex Fine Hotel’s and Resorts was that we were headed to a 5 star resort experience. Unfortunately from the moment we drove up to The Fairmont Orchid our impression was far below expectations. No greeting. As a matter of fact we were ignored completely. Not just ignored but blatantly treated rudely. Strike I. I wish I could say it got better from there, but no. After our less than stellar arrival, we headed to check in. Although the front desk person was very professional and kind, again the check in experience fell short in the following ways. First, as an Amex card member we expected to be checked in early. This did not happen, as the room we were “upgraded” to was not ready. We were assured it would be worth the wait, as we were told it was an upper level “deluxe” ocean view room. We decided to go have a cocktail and light snack while we waited. At a minimum this should have been comped for the wait. Strike II. After our mediocre cocktail and about an hour wait, our room was ready. Whew, we are tired from a long day of traveling and initial disappointment, we were ready for our ocean view deluxe room. We walked in and were pretty speechless. At best a 3 star run of the mill average small room right above a construction area. Ocean view only if you crook your head. Disheartening to say the least. We immediately called the front desk and requested to check out! We were told that we could check out, however, they’d like an opportunity to correct the situation and upgrade us to the “Gold” level floor. So we agreed. However, the “Gold” level room was identical just 2 floors higher. Directly above the last room. There were stains in the furniture too. The “Gold” level provides zero value for us. It’s probably one of the worst concierge levels I’ve ever experienced. Not only in terms of amenities, but it’s dated and needs modernization. The food offering is limited and unimaginative. Do people actually pay extra for this level? It’s basic. Oh but I’m not done. The final straw was a text my daughter received while we were out having dinner. “Aloha! We hope you are enjoying your stay. Please view our noise notification letter for tomorrow's event. The hotel’s event team will make all efforts to minimize set up and tear down disruption, which will occur at least two hours before and after the event. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might experience. If you have any concerns, please contact the Manager on Duty at extension 7309.” What?! After everything you’re letting us know there’s going to be more construction noise from an event set up, a party and tear down beneath us and you never mentioned it before? When I see the Fairmont name I have an expectation that has been cultivated by Fairmont itself. This is not it. Do better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Daria G wrote a review 3 Dec
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Infested with cockroaches! We saw one in our room on the first day and mentioned it to the front desk. They were not very apologetic about it, just saying it could have flown in through the balcony and normal when in nature (we never had balcony doors open)...fast forward a week and we're installing our carseat (which was in the closet in our room for our whole stay) into our rental car and 10 minutes into our drive hundreds of cockroaches are swarming all over my infant son's carseat. It was literally infested with them. We had to throw out the carseat and get another one. Also - the freezer in our room broke, spoiling 15 oz of my son's frozen breastmilk...very frustrating for a pumping mom! I also encountered some negative and unhelpful staff throughout my stay. Overall I am disgusted, shocked, and beyond disappointed in the Fairmont Orchid, and would never stay here again. Oh, and they use kirkland almond milk in their $8 lattes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
BDM wrote a review 2 Dec
Dallas, Texas1 contribution
Great hospitality. Hotel was well staffed with attentive team members. Made us feel welcome and appreciated. Beautiful resort with everything you need for a Hawaiian beach holiday. Browns Beach House offered a terrific dining experience and the Orchid Terrace buffet was a great way to begin the day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Barbara Nakamura, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Orchid
Responded 4 days ago
It is so important to feel welcomed and appreciated! I am thrilled to know you felt that! We are so happy you chose us for your holiday! If your travels bring you back to Hawaii we hope you choose us again! With warm aloha, Barbie Nakamura Director of Quality
Read more
Ms. Antonio wrote a review 1 Dec
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My kids and I had a wonderful time and experience at The Fairmont Orchid. Staff was amazing, delightful and made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Service was exceptional and top-notch. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Big Island.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Barbara Nakamura, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Orchid
Responded 4 days ago
It is fantastic to know you had such a wonderful time! I appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone! I am so glad to know the staff was amazing and made your stay so enjoyable! Love the description of 'top notch' they will be very excited to see your review! Thank-you for recommending us! We appreciate it! Hope you can return sometime very soon! With warm aloha, Barbie Nakamura Director of Quality
Read more
Julie P wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff and facilities were fantastic except for the elevator situation which was a serious frustration. The north building where we stayed had 6 floors of 60+ rooms per floor with just 3 elevators, one of which was out of service, and only emergency exit stairs. Add to this the covid policy of one family per elevator and the waits sometimes topped 10 minutes. We stayed on the second floor and started pushing both up and down buttons because elevators down were always filled before they reached us. At one point an unmasked person barged onto the elevator with us and after we asked him to leave and he refused we had to get off and wait another 10 min for several full elevators. When we finally got one it stopped on another floor and another unmasked person tried to get on! She got belligerent with us and started shouting when we insisted she get off. (Our kid is under 12 and not fully vaxxed!) Eventually we shared elevators with other masked families because waits were unreasonable. We were in a king suite which was gorgeous and had 1.5 baths and two showers which was quite nice for post-pool shower time. 2 lanais overlooked the golf course and a bit of ocean. When they had a luau they parked the bathroom truck w attached sewage hose just below us... I would not recommend odd numbered rooms on the first floor above 2151 for this reason🤣 but we could see the performance from the lani.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Barbara Nakamura, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Orchid
Responded 1 week ago
Julie, I enjoyed having the opportunity to meet you while you were on property! Hope you had a safe travels home! Thank you for choosing Fairmont Orchid for your Hawaii Island vacation! We are glad you enjoyed your resort experience and appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you had while here. We are always looking for opportunities to grow and provide an exceptional experience for each guest, we would like to assure you that your comments have been heard and will be share with our team for review. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Warmest mahalo, Barbie Nakamura Director of Quality
Read more
US$351 - US$751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the fairmont orchid, hawaii hotel waimea, fairmont hotel kamuela, fairmont orchid hawaii, fairmont kamuela, kamuela fairmont
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastPuako
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Orchid
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Orchid?
Nearby attractions include Kona Kozy's Comedy & Magic Show (1.1 km), The Shops At Mauna Lani (1.1 km), and Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Orchid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Orchid?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Orchid?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Orchid?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Orchid?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brown's Beach House, CanoeHouse, and Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Orchid?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Orchid have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Fairmont Orchid offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Fairmont Orchid have airport transportation?
Yes, Fairmont Orchid offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Orchid?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fairmont Orchid offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.