We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Show Prices
#2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,218: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014

The juxtaposition between the sparse lava fields and the man-made irrigated oasis of the Fairmont Orchid is incredible. The hotel's shoreline is incredible, with elements of green sand, lava, white sand, historic fish ponds. The hotel is keen to showcase this to guests with organised hikes and walks every day. I went on the Historical Fishponds walk which was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenRob09
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha JenRob09, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful for your wonderful compliments and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 November 2014

The Fairmont Orchard in Kona, Hawaii is pure luxury, with great location and amazing service. The classic colonial style is a pleasant break from so many Hawaiian hotel designs. We experience amazing servie from the valets, doormen, Reception, maids, and at all restaurants. The small but perfect beach on a cove allowed us to swim with green sea turtles, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L R D
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha MetroTower, we are thrilled to hear you had a perfect stay with us! We look forward to your next visit.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We had a fabulous week here, and we will definitely be back for more. It's a beautiful grand hotel with decent-sized rooms and lovely terraces. Our room was great, but we weren't happy with the noise at night. We were in the south wing but not in front of the waterfalls so we could hear the restaurant emptying the glass...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AwakeAlertAware
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha AwakeAlertAware, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are delighted to know that you had a fabulous week overall! Thank you for letting us know what you enjoyed about our resort, and also where we failed to meet your expectations so that we can make improvements in those areas....

Golden Lake, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We spent a week at the resort and we did enjoy ourselves immensely. The black lava that is the backdrop for many of our pictures created an interesting feeling of being in a unique environment like none other. One of the nicest features of this property is the private lagoon. It is a safe little oasis that enables you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_GoldenLake
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Cindy_GoldenLake, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to know that you felt the service was not up to Fairmont standards. We are always striving for excellence, and will use your feedback to improve. Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we...

Benicia, California
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Best snorkeling!! The sun and surf pass is a great deal if you plan on hanging out at their cove and playing in the water. It is a set fee and allows you to use all the water equipment - snorkel gear, paddle board, canoe.... Turtles right on the property!! No need to travel anywhere to see green sea turtles...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deb b
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha deb b, thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is gratifying to know that you found excellent value in our Sun & Fun activity pass, and we enjoyed reading about the wonderful time you had enjoying our beach and amazing snorkeling, cultural hikes, Gathering of the Kings luau, and more. We look...

Shakopee, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 November 2014

That's what their literature says, and its absolutely true. The resort is beautiful, intimate and has one of the best restaurants on the island (Brown's Beach House - I recommend the salmon). I am an event planner and had a group of 165 people and never received so many thank you'd for any event I have ever done. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaument
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Jaument-Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

San Francisco
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Let's face it: The Fairmont has a reputation for being a really good hotel option and I don't stay there often, so my expectations, I admit, are high. Most of our experience was great, but the beginning had a little glitch which, unfortunately, sort of toned down everything else. We arrived late morning around 11 am and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b-squared555
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha b-squared555, thank you so much for your review. We are grateful for your kind compliments about our facilities and services especially considering that your stay did not get off to a very positive start. Please accept our sincere apology that your arrival experience was a disappointment. Your feedback is very important to us, and will be used to improve...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 November 2014

The wow factor at the Fairmont Orchid began before we even set foot in our beautiful room. The first kudos go to the amazing valet staff / doormen, absolute pros, 10/10! We proceeded to the check-in desk where a receptionist provided us with the best welcome we have ever received at a hotel: warm and prepared, all the requests we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NYC_Hamptons
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha NYC_Hamptons, Thank you for your wonderful review - we love it! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 9 November 2014

The best resort to stay on the Big Island . Staff , facility and availability to everything your Hawaiian vacation should have are at your fingertips from this very special place . Have stayed there many time and never have been disappointed !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha John B, thank you for your kind compliments and feedback on your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and are thrilled to know that you had another perfect stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Dale City, Virginia
Reviewed 7 November 2014

My wife and I spent a week here the third week of October. Overall, a wonderful resort and we had a great time. We stayed on the Gold Floor and were treated like Ohana by all the staff. Special mention to Lillian, our housekeeper, who is an outstanding ambassador of the resort and a wonderful person. She alone is worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rhoffmann4502
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha rhoffman, thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience on Fairmont Gold at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are always striving to provide our guests with memorable and personal service, and it is very rewarding when our guests take the time to let us know we succeeded! Thank you for choosing to stay with...

2,730 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2329)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (496)
Viewed
View from Room (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (252)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (433)
Viewed
Dining (148)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (756)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (385)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Executive Suite Ocean View (27)
Viewed
Fairmont Room (22)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Room- Two Queens (21)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room - King Bed (23)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room - Two Queens (20)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
7.2 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
3.0 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.9 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
19.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range: $400 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question
Rolla, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go here, there's better”
 of 5 bubbles johnhS6749QC, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Unless you plan to sit outside on your balcony to view the ocean-save money by booking a garden room. You'd still have a lovely experience”
 of 5 bubbles sabvalleygirl, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Partial ocean view has views of the ocean AND the beautiful grounds”
  • Partial ocean view
  • Bird on my balcony
  • Queen and twin beds
 of 5 bubbles markanthonyo2014, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Garden views aren't so bad, they have man-made waterfalls and koi ponds that look pretty and sounds relaxing.”
  • 180 degree view, still not so bad! Very quiet and you can see stars clearly at night.
  • Very partial ocean view room.
 of 5 bubbles bebebel, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the north tower - it seems to be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles kcharlotte, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay