We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,955: English reviews
Start your review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hapuna Prince was amazing! The location and views were the best on the island! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! Especially the concierge Lauren. She is by far, probably the best concierge I have ever dealt with! She is friendly, patient, and knowledgable. She knows so much about the island, and exactly what there is to do! I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbystovetop
Redwood City, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent location and amazing service! We've stayed at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 17 years ago and came again with our children who liked it as much as we. Were very happy to see the same beautiful beach and grounds, swimming turtles, enjoyed the service. Great stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanablack_13
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay. We'd like to thank you for coming back as our guest and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will return again soon. Until then, aloha!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here two nights. Absolutely beautiful resort and beach! The beds were comfy and staff members were very nice. The only downside is that the hotel is somewhat isolated. If you are looking for a luxury resort this is a great choice!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StacyTC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time spent at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. Our top priority is to always provide exceptional service and thank you for mentioning our team members. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Aloha!

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

To those with no children, or just traveling without them, this place is perfect. It's a large property, and not very many little ones around. Let's face it, sometimes it's better to not bring them. This hotel is occupied mostly by elderly visitors who enjoy golfing. The beach views are incredible and the pool is extensive. I am enjoying this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553gabya
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for review of your recent stay. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us. Should your travels bring you back to Hawai`i Island, we hope to have you as our guest again. Aloha!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel has a beautiful setting. Most impressive are the landscaping and the view/architecture of the main building/lobby. The beach is beautiful and clean, and the adjacent reef is full of great marine life for snorkeling. Housekeeping staff was absolutely wonderful, hard-working and courteous. Front desk staff, however, seemed constantly irritated and distracted. However, the price is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your candor review. I'd like to apologize for the inconveniences you have faced during your stay with us. We appriciate your feedback and will pass it along to key team leaders to address these issue. We hope that you will return so we can provide you with a truely flawless expereince. Aloha!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We typically stay at Mauna Kea, but this time we decided to stay at Hapuna Beach Resort and could not have made a better choice. The two resorts are very similar - restaurants, beach, but the difference for us was the pool and the size of the rooms. Hapuna is spread out and you do get a lot of walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maxhoops1
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to welcome you back to Mauna Kea Resort but at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel this time. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay and found that you made the right decision. We hope that you will return again soon, aoha!

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hapuna Hotel has an amazing beach - one of the best on the Big Island. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have large bathrooms. The price point is good compared to other hotels with a lesser beach. Only criticism: the carpet in our room was worn and stained. Overall - the room was clean - just the carpet needed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikegB2159XL
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, location, services and your overall stay. Thank you for your feedback on the conditions to the carpet, we are very excited to let you know that there are changes planned to address this issue. We hope that you will come back again soon. Aloha!

Sunnyvale, CA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything about this resort was amazing. I can see why the beach is one of the top 10 in the USA. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was great to be able to walk over to the Mauna Kea Resort and have dinner at the Copper Bar. The rooms and the views at both resorts were beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sspice
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us and got to expereince all that Mauna Kea Resort has to offer. We hope that you will return as our guest again. Aloha!

Mission
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Gorgeous contemporary hotel on the best beach on the Big Island! Staff are very friendly! Food and drink prices are very high. Beautiful pool....Nice walking trails... Definitely need a car as the hotel is out of the way.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N9418RMgarys
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and service provided. We hope that you will be our guest again should you return, as it was our honor to have you. Aloha!

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came for our son's wedding. During the wedding planning phase, sales office would not return calls. Sales office would not work with us to block rooms or offer group rates. This is a HUGE sprawling hotel and our family was spread out from one end to the other. When our wedding guests called to reserve rooms, the hotel told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethcom444
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the many inconveniences you have faced. We understand how special a wedding is to a family and apologize that we did not meet your or our own expectations. Your feedback has been shared with key team leaders as it is integral...

1,711 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1687)
Viewed
View from Room (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (391)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (451)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
1.1 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
43.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
8.9 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
7.2 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
10.5 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range: $384 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splurge for the nicer room...whatever you can afford, you will not be disappointed.”
maxhoops1, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is NOT a good hotel for handicap access.”
bethcom444, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view was perfect for us! :)”
  • What we would wake up to every morning :) It was beautiful!
ajlrezada, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lower room numbers best”
k2kelley, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a package deal.”
giggsryan, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5