We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kosi Bay Lodge

TravelocityUS$33*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kosi Bay Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Kosi Bay Lodge
 Click to rate
Durban
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stumbled upon this piece of heaven while trying to keep out of the rain on our camping trip. Not wanting to erect a tent in rainy weather we rented a chalet. The lodge doesn't offer camping areas just for info.The chalet was Really adequate with a double bed and single bed with mozzie nets over both. Your normal fridge,gas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pcaudie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We booked in our family of 4 for a 1-night overnight stay on the way to Mozambique. The lodge is just 5 minutes away from the border which is a handy location. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The main entertainment area is newly constructed with great pool, upstairs pub and downstairs dining area (good for burgers and breakfasts)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisashort
karin j, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lisa Thanks for the review. I will let the owner know. Hope we see you again. Karin

Boston
Reviewed 10 April 2017

not many choices up here, and this place is good value. Restaurant is fine. Pools are nice. they screwed up by not having enough snorkellng gear for our outing to Kosi Bay Mouth, and it was totally their screwup. Still a good outing though, fantastic beach. Just make them show you the gear before you leave the lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GFFBoston
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The lodge offers tents and chalets. We has friends stay in the tents which were really adequate! We stayed in a chalet with its own fire pit. We really enjoyed our stay and our favourite part was Kosi mouth. It's really beautiful even though we had hectic wind. The restaurant food was decent too. My only complaint was the lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mands101
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Kosi Bay Lodge and would have loved to have spent another 3 or 4 days there. We went on a sunset cruise on the lakes with Thulani, it was wonderful and so interesting learning from Thulani all about the traditional fishing methods. We were also very lucky to see the Palm nut vulture. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderful cluster located just a 10min drive frm the beach. The staff were too good. It was very peaceful n serene. The breakfast was hearty n filling. The kosi lake is just a 20min walk. They even arrange for a 4x4 ride to the kosi bay mouth. Although the road frm manguzi to kosi bay lodge was hairy with huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuvam C
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Disappointing for quite a lot of reason. The main one is definitely the cleanness of the room: ants everywhere in the bathroom, dirty mosquito net, dirty floor. I am pretty sure no cleaning has been maid for quite a long time before our arrival. We booked a room with private pool on Booking and did not get it. The mosquto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
karin j, Manager at Kosi Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pierre It is a pity that you feel like that. On our side booking .com did not show a chalet with swimming pool. To help you we moved you to one for which you did not pay the rate. The chalets in this bush gets ants, gego's and a lot more in a short time. It would not have...

Ficksburg, Free State, South Africa
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Our chalet was very private in the bush. We were pleasantly received and directed to our chalet. We had a enjoyable swim in a three section pool. The view from the look out platform of the lake and bush was nice. Dinner was enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9,090,902,014
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Kosi Bay Lodge with its friendly owners Neels and Karin was the ideal setting from where to embark on our quest to see the Leatherback and Loggerhead Turtles lay their eggs. The units are rustic and spacious with private pools if you don't feel like swimming in the 3 pools situated at the main building. The Sun Deck has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Dalene
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Kosi Bay Lodge was a great space for our family of five to stay. We liked that there was a restaurant on site if we didn't want to cook but our chalet was also equipped for us to cook if we wanted to. The view from the upstairs bar area was great. If you want to go on a boat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephmiami

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosi Bay
0.0 km away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
175 reviews
0.0 km away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
132 reviews
0.0 km away
Chinderera Eco Lodge
Chinderera Eco Lodge
#3 of 6 in Kosi Bay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
#1 of 2 in Kosi Bay
41 reviews
0.0 km away
Kosi Moon Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kosi Bay Lodge

Address: Kwangwanase, Kosi Bay 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kosi Bay
Price Range: $49 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kosi Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kosi Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosi Bay Hotel Kwazulu-Natal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kosi Bay Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kosi Bay Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very privately situated”
9090902014, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Private splash pool units are amazing.”
, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A cabin with a pool is a must in summer”
DrDaubie, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unit 13 was amazing”
534gildas, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Outside bath and shower as well as inside. I had an owl hooting at me!”
JessW65, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$33* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$34
Orbitz.comUS$33
PricelineUS$34
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates