We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cove Sands Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cove Sands Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cove Sands Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
457 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hotel advertises white sand. Wrong. The sand is grey and dirty. The pictures on the internet have been altered. The hotel has a large staff doing practically nothing all day. They could at least rake the beach and make it more decent. It is impossible to swim as in the water there is nothing but rocks. It is a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank JohnFoster68
RonCoselman, Owner at Cove Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we have sent you an email regarding your review of our resort, but received no reply. We would have liked more details in order to answer your complaints. In particular the van service charges. There really seems to be some confusion between the staff and your requests. We have reviewed your bill and can not find the charges... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The accomadation was what we were looking for, we just loved the nipa huts and the nature that surrounded us. Now the down side, our room in 4 nights was never cleaned and the sheets were never washed, there was a huge infestation of ants which seemed to eat the roof of the nipa hut so when you woke up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kvnsdel
RonCoselman, Owner at Cove Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ms, thank you for writing and reviewing our resort. It seems that you have the unfortunate distinction of being one of our 3 unsatisfied guests in the last 4 years. For this we apologize and are genuinely sorry that our housekeeping staff somehow overlooked your cottage on their rounds. I am sure that if you had brought it to... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed here as part of out honeymoon and had an amazing stay. The villa was of a very high quality and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. Would recomend this resort to anyone who is visiting the area

Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie_adam
Avoca beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

best place I have been in the Philippines quite relaxing clean water and beach lovely people there made the trip so good they took care our 9 month baby when we swim and go snorkeling food!!! WOW was the best at a great price anyway i will be going back see you soon RON from Noel Geraldine and baby Elroy

Helpful?
1 Thank redutedog
Guangzhou
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

If you are seeking for a lovely and peaceful place where you can relax like nowhere else you do right to choose Monarch Sands Beach Resort. Do not expect a 5 Star Resort, but expect a marvelous beach a calm ocean with great sunsets and friendly waitresses and waiters who are willing do serve you well. Our cottage was just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Asia_Sylmar
Carcar, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We are a FilAM family residing now in Carcar, Philippines. We sought a getaway weekend for our wedding anniversary. Our 7 yo son and another couple accompanied us. We actually came onto Monarch Sands after our reservations at another nearby resort were messed up. What luck! We thoroughly enjoyed all MS has to offer. We did not take any excursions,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RonHolst
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a peaceful quiet get away in the Philippines. It is a hidden gem. The owners, Ron and his wife Nelly, are both dedicated to providing the best service for their guests. They were both personally active in making our stay exciting and comfortable. The food and drinks were 5... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bpieper
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My brother and I had a fantastic stay at this small beach resort. The hammocks at the beach are perfect for a chill out, the small local reef was excellent for snorkelling, we saw plenty of sea snakes and dragon fish, the dive master Gary has plenty of experience and with Apo Island near by you have to take the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KristineBU
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Monarch Sands is a great little resort on a secluded beach an hour from dumaguete. I stayed at cottage #1 and loved every minute of it. There is a breathtaking coral reef about 200 meters north and I saw lots of fish, crabs, and even a small octopus. I spent most of my time reading my book in the hammock... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerJoe77
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Booked 2 nights in this resort with myself and the girlfriend,ended up staying an extra night as it was so relaxing and private.Lovely ocean noise from the sea at night while you sleep.Ideal place for honeymooners or if you wana make up with the girlfriend.. The manager ''Ron'' aka Hawkeye Pierce from Mash,was a true character from Chigaco.. who takes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sparrow724

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siaton
16.3 km away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
55 reviews
14.1 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
145 reviews
23.3 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#3 of 14 in Dauin
281 reviews
25.5 km away
Dumaguete Springs Beach Resort
7.6 km away
Antulang Beach Resort
Antulang Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Siaton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new ownership now since November 2016 Cove Sands Beach and Dive Resort has undergone many changes and improvements is the perfect vacation haven for the entire family. Located just 40 km drive from the local airport, north of the sleepy town of Siaton, Negros Oriental. Nestled on a secluded cove lies the peaceful and beautiful Cove Sands Beach Resort. We have various native style cottages made of Nipa, Bamboo and local materials, and cottages of conventional build all with aircon which all face the blue waters of the Bohol sea. Each cottage has a large porch to watch the local fishermen sail their small Bangka boats out for the nightly catch. The string of a hundred lights fill the horizon as they cast their nets. Snorkel our scenic cove, or have a dive in our newly renovated pool or just simply unwind and enjoy one of the most beautiful sunsets in Negros. Cove Sands Beach and Dive Resort is a cozy place to spend a quiet time by the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cove Sands Beach Resort

Address: Bonbonon, Siaton, Negros Oriental 6219, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Siaton
Price Range: $53 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cove Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cove Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Sands Beach Hotel Dumaguete City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cove Sands Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breach Front”
 of 5 bubbles 669harveyd, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Just pick one all great and done up nicely.”
 of 5 bubbles 302stretchl, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Beach Front Cottages are the best but they only have 2, so make sure you make a reservation in advance”
 of 5 bubbles U1510DRmariar, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“choose the beachfront cottages”
 of 5 bubbles KRDL, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The beach cottage is very nice, but the other rooms that were less expensive still looked nice and seems like they have a good view too.”
 of 5 bubbles lh_bandit, 24 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay