We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Theatre Royal Hotel

    81 Seddon Street, Kumara, New Zealand
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    SAVE US$2
    Traveller (23)
    Dining (4)
    Room & Suite (2)
    • Excellent65%
    • Very good27%
    • Average6%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “venison” (8 reviews)
    “across the road” (14 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Family Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    Laundry Service
    Breakfast included
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    29 Oct30 Oct
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 13 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (185)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 182 reviews

    Reviewed 7 September 2017

    There was a group of car enthusiasts booked into the Theatre Royal. My partner & I were allocated a Miners Cottage, which is self contained. What a wonderfully set up unit. With the historic touches to it with the crockery, wall plates, writing desk. We...More

    Thank Noushka
    Response from TheatreR, Manager at Theatre Royal HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

    Hi Noushka, Thank you for your feedback, our Chef is very happy after reading such a lovely review! We work hard to provide the best food and service possible and our team is pleased to know that this was reflected during your stay with us....More

    Reviewed 9 August 2017

    stayed for 1n in the old bank building. beautiful interiors and friendly staff. restaurant food was average at best. heating wasn't up to standard - only living room had a heat pump, bedrooms were awfully cold at a winter night. room had no wifi.

    Thank urmsu888
    Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

    Watched a match in the bar. The owner was very hospitable! We had free popcorn and a plate of chips with chicken skewers and nuggets presented to us as we watched the match - lions vs chiefs. Me and my friends won free drinks through...More

    Thank Pippa T
    Response from Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal HotelResponded 22 June 2017

    Hi Pippa, Thank so much for taking the time to review us. Rugby nights are always fun. It was nice to have visitors join the locals . You were a great group to host. I am pleased you went to view the Glow Worms and...More

    Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

    Kerri is incredible hospitable. She creates a fun, engaging atmosphere in her pub and is very welcoming to travellers and locals alike. We were here to watch the lions tour and travel South Island and had the pleasure of watch the chiefs play the lions...More

    Thank Harriet T
    Response from Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal HotelResponded 22 June 2017

    Hi Harriet, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. We really enjoy it when traveelers choose to spend their time with us. As a traveller myself it is always nice to get to meet locals and...More

    Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

    We have had varying experiences here for lunch from ok to outstanding. I stopped today and had burger. It was a classic burger and quite superb. Mind you the fries were just as good! Coffee was pretty good. Excellent friendly service

    Thank Allan S
    Similar hotels
    Jade Court Motor Lodge
    167 reviews
    #5 of 10 hotels in Hokitika
    Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
    123 reviews
    #9 of 20 hotels in Greymouth
    Scenicland Motels
    315 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Greymouth
    Aachen Place Motel
    98 reviews
    #14 of 20 hotels in Greymouth
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$78 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Theatre Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • West Coast Region >
    • Kumara
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (23)
    Dining (4)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (54)
    Bathroom (1)
    Aachen Place Motel
    98 reviews
    19.12 km away
    Scenicland Motels
    315 reviews
    18.89 km away
    Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
    123 reviews
    15.40 km away
    Jade Court Motor Lodge
    167 reviews
    20.32 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Junction Honey Cafe
    49 reviews
    6.95 km away
    Maggie's Kitchen
    223 reviews
    20.39 km away
    Ali's Eating & Drinking
    327 reviews
    20.44 km away
    Buccleugh's on High
    418 reviews
    19.08 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Monteith's Brewing Company
    531 reviews
    19.79 km away
    Mitchells Gully Goldmine
    36 reviews
    20.27 km away
    Shantytown Heritage Park
    450 reviews
    10.65 km away
    Garth Wilson Jade
    91 reviews
    12.75 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Theatre Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Let Kerri know what you are seeking and she will try to help."
    Read review
    "We were opposite the 24 hour petrol pumps, so not great for a light sleeper,"
    Read review
    "There are also cabins and these are just as well appointed and comfortable."
    Read review
    "The Miner's Cottages are delightful with wonderful claw foot baths."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing