We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pear Tree Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pear Tree Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Pear Tree Inn
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When you come across a gorgeous Inn, steeped in history, beautifully restored and with service to match, you can't help but eellike you've uncovered a real treat. We had a dreamy two nights and hardly left all weekend. The value of the room was excellent and the breakfast, restaurant food and staff attentiveness and friendliness was a joy. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natless
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What an amazing stay we had.Could not fault anything at all.Location was ideal,just off main road,and very quiet.Staff made us feel at home as soon as we entered the Inn. We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms which had a wet room,wonderful.Room spotlessly clean and had everything anyone could possibly need.Dinner and breakfast was excellent,plenty of choice and more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuemms
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a one night business stay and it was very enjoyable . When I mentioned about the soundproofing of the large room, it was not too much trouble to move me to another room and the staff were very accommodating. Really good food - especially the homemade marmalade! Would recommend this very charming hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des S
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Des S for your review following your stay with us. I'm glad you appreciated everything. I'm really sorry about having to move you rooms, unfortunately with the building being so old, it's very difficult to soundproof. Many thanks. Marcus

Leicester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely weekends stay with our cockerpoo, the staff are excellent, food was good with a great breakfast selection. More friendly to our dog than many places which made it very relaxing. There is a bus into bath which stops at the gate so a lovely way to explore bath and then return to a log fire and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAFLeicester
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear JAFLeicester, Thanks for leaving such a great review following your recent stay with us - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We absolutely love dogs and the landlords actually have two lovely Dalmatian's that stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again soon in the near future! Many thanks, Marcus

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this little weekend getaway for my boyfriends Christmas present. I saw the rooms online and fell in love, on arrival I was not disappointed. We were welcomed by very friendly staff and shown to our room. They look exactly like the photos if not even more beautiful. The bed was like a cloud and they had used Luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah0696
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah0696, Thanks for your amazing review, the team & I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay - It's a great present for the other half as well, I must say! We were delighted to have you here & we're all looking forward to your next visit with the dog (we love them!) Many thanks, Marcus

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed a random lunch stop off, the platter we had was great although the bread was slightly stale, but that did not put us off. Very clean and tidy, and good service and atmosphere, would probably visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edison23
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear edison23, Thanks for your four-star review following your recent lunch trip! I'm really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves - and I really do apologise for the bread, that will not happen again! Looking forward to your next visit! Marcus

Wiltshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to watch a comedy night for the second time here but this time ate first. All food excellent - plaice, burgers, cheesecake, brownies. The evening was very well organised with our drinks and dessert pr-ordered for the break. The environment is cosy and comfortable and the staff welcoming and efficient. Lovely evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndiraKH
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear IndiraKH, Thank you for your lovely review following our Comedy evening earlier on in the month. I'm really pleased that you had a great time & hope to see you again at the next one in April! Many thanks, Marcus

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Very welcoming hotel and the staff were friendly and helpful. Bedroom was well equipped with real coffee, nice toiletries, good showers and comfortable beds and pillows. Breakfasts were excellent. Decor was good and so were the gardens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danusia50
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear danusia50, Many thanks for your detailed review of our hotel following your recent visit - I'm especially touched that you appreciated the little things that we offer. I look forward to your return, Marcus

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Welcomed on arrival, restaurant had a warming log fire. Menus were clear and easy to read. Had the set special menu - excellent bubble & squeak, battered fish and chips minty peas and pancotta. Well paced service and smiling staff £16 for 2 courses £20 for 3, good sized portions

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thanks very much for leaving a review following your lunch experience at the Pear Tree. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our Jan/Feb lunch offer & we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Many thanks, Marcus

Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Came for 2 nights in January, very well received at reception, nice room, well furnished and true to the spirit of a real Inn. To me very British (in the best sense of the word (!)) so you feel well straight away. The one breakfast I had was excellent. Staff was nice and friendly, but at 125 pounds a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christian S, Thank you kindly for your feedback following staying at our 17th century Inn, The Pear Tree late last week. I'm glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Unfortunately, with a building that is so old, we're talking 300 years old, making adjustments like you've suggested is not always possible. I would like to point out...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley
2.2 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
669 reviews
1.2 km away
Shaw Country House Hotel
4.5 km away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
576 reviews
7.0 km away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
4.0 km away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After being closed for over a year The Pear Tree Inn has been carefully restored as a farmhouse kitchen with bar & rooms. It has a relaxed & rustic appeal to the locally sourced menu & reclaimed quirky decor. An old stone build farmhouse with rug strewn flagstones & reclaimed timber flooring. It features worn wooden tables with mismatched furniture and linen napkins. The Pear Tree Inn will showcase the best local suppliers with a menu guided by the seasons. It also offers overnight guests eight contemporary individually decorated rooms split between the Inn & a beautifully converted barn ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn

Address: Top Lane, Whitley, Melksham SN12 8QX, England (Formerly Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Whitley
Price Range: $204 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pear Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Pear Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree Hotel Whitley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pear Tree Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved Comice - at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles natless, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms at rear very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles tuemms, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I found the sound proofing in the largest room was not that great and could hear the telephone conversation from the room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles DesS990, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor garden rooms good if you have a dog.”
 of 5 bubbles danusia50, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room Tosca has a bathroom door about 5 ft 10. We will opt for one of the other rooms on the next occasion.”
 of 5 bubbles John_B504077, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5