We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Daintree Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Daintree Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Roermond, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed 3 nights in one of the jungle cabins in the middle of the jungle. The cabin was comfortable although basic somewhat outdated. We would have liked to see it cleaner. Wifi was available in the restaurant. It was very slow but for free, The food was really tasty although it would be nice to have more to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spekpony
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Spekpony, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! It is nice to hear that you appreciated the unique location of the lodge. We are constantly working on updating the cabins and keeping them up to standard. At the moment we are in the progress of replacing the decor (cushions, bathroom accessories etc) in all...

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We spent one night here while we explored Daintree and Cape Tribulation. The cabin was comfortable, the owner was helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious. There are no words that can explain the feeling of sitting under a canopy, in the rain forest at night while it's gently raining looking for wildlife. We were lucky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biker_Rae
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Biker_Rae, thank you for a lovely feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer. In regards to the outdoor spa, we have adjusted the hours when the pump is on according to the hot weather we have been having so it is at a nicer temperature and not so intrusive for our guests...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Was taken here for two nights as a surprise from my partner and was not disappointed! The cabins are nicely wedged within the rainforest so you can fully emerge yourself in nature. We were lucky enough to wake both mornings and see a cassowary and his chicks right beside our cabin. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and perfect to start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow R
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sparrow R, thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your surprise stay in the Daintree. Seeing the cassowaries right at your doorstep is really a treat! We are also glad that you appreciate what we have to offer and have recommended us to your friends and family. Please contact us in the future...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 16 September 2016

When we made the reservation, they immediately charged us the full price of our stay. The day before our stay, when we were already on our way to the Daintree, they cancelled our booking arguing that they had 'overbooked' their rooms. We found them too unreliable after making us pay more than 4 months in advance! I would never recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana A
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mariana A, my sincere apologies again for the inconvenience caused to you! Yes, we do charge first night's payment as a deposit at the time of booking and as your stay happened to be only for the 1 night, it was also full payment. Unfortunately mistakes happen as we are only human and I am sorry that in this...

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Ecology is their specialty and I'm all for saving the earth but there are limits. We could not read as the lights were not sufficient. I had to wake up every two hours to push the button to keep the air conditioner on - even though it would only cool to 23C (73.4F). They have a TV for DVDs only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGoBird
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TheGoBird, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience at Daintree Wilderness Lodge was not what you had anticipated. As you have stated, eco-friendliness is our key policy and the lodge has been awarded with a certificate in advanced eco-tourism. Bearing this in mind, we use long...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place. You can't be disappointed here. We were greeted warmly by the owner. It's a really unique feeling being within the rainforest and listening to the sounds at night yet warmly sheltered in your cabin. The cabin itself is beautiful with a very modern feel yet solitude. There's 7 cabins here so there's enough people to chat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor user, thank you for your feedback! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and everything we have to offer. There is definitely a special feel to sleeping in the rainforest and listening to all the sounds around us. :) If you are ever travelling up our way again, please contact us...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for 3 nights with 3 of my adult children and loved the experience. The cabins are beautifully situated right in the middle of the rainforest and each one is separate and quite private. There was a mix up with our reservation, however, the manager, Sirli, went out of her way to try to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AtticusShmatticus
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AtticusShmatticus, thank you for providing us your feedback! It is much appreciated! We are very glad to hear that despite some confusion with your reservation we managed to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. It is nice to see our guests experiencing the lodge and our surroundings to the maximum! We look forward to having you stay with us...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed 5 nights in June and had a fantastic time. It is a small property of only 7 rooms, all spaced well apart. The room had aircon but we didn't use it as felt it was fine just with the fan. The included breakfast was great, especially the hot options, and on the 2 mornings we had an early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellywalker2015
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kellywalker2015, thank you for taking the time to leave your review - it is much appreciated! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience all we and the rainforest has to offer. Seeing the cassowaries in their natural habitat and behavior is truly a special experience! We hope to see...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We had a two night stay in this gorgeous piece of paradise and were sad when it was time to leave. The setting was idyllic and we truly felt at one with the rainforest. We were also lucky enough to be greeted by the resident cassowaries on all three of our days here! Our room was peaceful and beautifully styled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam and A
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Samuel A, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! It is only a pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and all your expectations were met. We look forward to seeing you stay with us again in the future! Kind Regards, Your Hosts and Managers Isaac & Sirli Kellian

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We only stayed here for one night. We had the cabin furthest away from the main building, but it was spacious and well appointed and very quiet. Despite the heavy overnight rain we both slept very well. On opening the blinds in the morning there were 2 cassowaries looking for food just outside the chalet. We had dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mc195003
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mc195003, thank you for reviewing us! It is much appreciated! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. You were very lucky to be greeted by the cassowaries in the morning - some people stay with us for a week and never see them! Thank you again for taking the time to provide us...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
9.0 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
506 reviews
29.5 km away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
882 reviews
5.1 km away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
2.2 km away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
14.7 km away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your cabin is tucked away with complete privacy and is surrounded by the natural beauty of the rainforest.With only 7 cabins we offer boutique style accommodation with friendly and personalized service.The property also offers an outdoor pool, nature walk and fully licensed restaurant spoiling you with Australian Cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Daintree Wilderness Lodge

Address: 83 Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Price Range: $315 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Daintree Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Wilderness Hotel Diwan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Daintree Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Daintree Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins are the same and why would you want a flat screen TV in a place like this!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 595janc, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They are all amazing, surrounded by nature”
 of 5 bubbles 204jennc, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All cabins are similar”
 of 5 bubbles 116frankg, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Well it was supposed to be private bur I could see into the next cabin”
 of 5 bubbles Ruth111962, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Guess they are all good”
 of 5 bubbles kencU286FI, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5