We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa

Save
Share
Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ England
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Booking.com
US$145
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Trip.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/11/21
Hotels.comUS$160
PricelineUS$160
eDreamsUS$145
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (87)
Dining (43)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1372Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 630
  • 387
  • 193
  • 96
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JCHR wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Where to start. Arrived with my son age 11 and daughter age 14. My son has just had a new ear drum fitted and could not swim for a month. We booked the hotel only as it had a pool...... Check into the family room ( nice big bed and a single bed but a miserable view of the car park) and head to the pool. Are you looking to swim ? Yes . you cant. Children can only swim 8-9 on Saturday and Sunday. We may as well leave then. Went to reception. That is correct it is on you booking confirmation. (a) it is not I am looking at it now and (b) even if it was that is rather late in the day to tell you. I asked for the manager. There is no manager. Don't believe you - a place this size must have a manager. I will call a supervisor. Fine. Supervisor comes over and does indeed solve the issue and we go swimming. Dinner was pleasant but not cheap (£110 for me and 2 kids). Breakfast .... emm... Sit down - coffee please and a hot chocolate for the kids. Cant do hot chocolate staff shortages. Goto the buffet. Looks pretty miserable and no eggs. I ask for eggs. Maybe - no idea - staff shortages. At that point I asked for the duty manager. Low and behold the duty manager was the same person as the previous night - who was not the duty manger! Nice bloke - I said hi me again. A few mins later eggs were there ( they also do cooked to order eggs I was told but they were no offered) and 2 hot chocolates appear. The place is run as 3 entities. A golf club, a hotel and a ( rather grumpy and needs a good clean ) spa. Never the twain shall meet. They seem to have an issue with children. I would be more concerned about the clearly inebriated golfers staggering down the corridor hitting the walls with their clubs as they could not walk straight. The place is under staffed and poorly run. The "manager " was a nice person who made things happen. However that same manager I assume is responsible for staff rosters and general running of the place. The prior night we were at Dunston Hall ( about 60 mins away - also chosen as it had a pool). My suggestion is go and stay there - it is cheaper to boot but as much nicer place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
robfirstaid100 wrote a review 23 Oct
London, United Kingdom446 contributions112 helpful votes
This spa day was a Mother’s Day treat for my daughter her mother and friend she originally booked this in 2019 but because of COVID it was kept open and booked this weekend first off they saw that the state of the place was a bid tired and not that clean then the treatments that were booked didn’t work out the 2 girls had massages only 25 minutes each should have been. 55 my wife just had her toes painted and should have been a pedicure they complained about this and was told cannot find her booking they said they would look then they went in for thier afternoon tea just had 3 small sandwiches 3 hard scones and various cakes whereas everyone else had proper selection of sandwiches etc they found out they paid same as they did they complained again and found the booking but tried to fob them off saying staff shortage and prices gone up and other waffle if prices gone up how come other people got more than us for the same amount paid don’t work out they were truly given a rough day off excuses and short changed experience I don’t advise anybody to use this experience as you will probably get short change
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Responded yesterday
Hi Rob, Thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry to see you haven't had an enjoyable experience at SbN. Customer feedback is very important to us, so we'd love to hear more details about your experience. If you could please email us at customercare@stokebynayland.com with more information for investigation. SbN
Read more
M66nriver wrote a review 19 Oct
South Ockendon8 contributions7 helpful votes
I've been here numerous times over the years It's changed, not for the better! Golf courses were fine, as usual, well looked after. The hotel however has deteriorated considerably. The service was poor, the food, which we upgraded to, was decidedly average. The buffet style breakfast was a shambles, and again, very average. Prices in general, bar, food and pro shop were prohibitive. The rooms were ok. All in all very disappointing. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Responded yesterday
Hi, Thank you for submitting a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with our team to investigate and address the issues concerned. SbN
Read more
Pandora Y wrote a review 18 Oct
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Booked this weekend for me and my sister as a spa weekend for our birthday. As my sister is disabled i booked a disabled room with walk in shower. Arrived on Saturday 25th 2021, all was well until we wanted to use the spa and was told the lift is not working for the disabled !!!!!! I booked directly with the hotel on the Thursday and at no stage was i told the lift was not working. So spent the rest of the day / evening sitting in the lounge bar only to discover loud music all evening due to a birthday party. Had no choice but to retire to our bleak room. Checked out Sunday morning nice and early could not wait to get away. Very discriminating and no access for the disabled. When i complained no Manager on duty until Tuesday 28th only person available was food and beverage manager who was busy with the event. What a waste of money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: always ask about accessibility if travelling with elderly or disabled. Check when rooms were...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Pandora, Following your review and your discussion with our Customer Care Manager, we trust that this matter is now closed. SbN
Read more
Lynn Thurston wrote a review 13 Oct
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Spa very dirty in the steam room . Messed up whole day was meant to be relaxing ending up very stressed. Staff unable to sort problems management unhelpful and don't like handling complaints. Spent over £300.00 on a day not worth the money . Complaint sent to director as of today no response no customer service what's do ever
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Lynn, Following your review and your discussion with our Director, we trust that this matter is now closed. SbN
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stoke by nayland hotel, golf hotel leavenheath, stoke by nayland hotel, golf and spa, best western colchester, colchester best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictLeavenheath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Nearby attractions include Splatkidz (8.0 km), White Dragon Activity Centre (7.7 km), and Blue Owl (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Angel Inn Restaurant, Yew Tree, and The Bell Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lindsey St James's Chapel (7.3 km).
Does Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.