We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,673: English reviews
Chelmsford, Essex
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary. Enjoyed lunch and champagne to celebrate beside the lake. Staff were excellent. Had a lovely room with four poster bed and seating area, window overlooked the lake, tea and coffee available. Used the swimming pool which was an adequate size but tiling looking a little tired. Used the steam/ice rooms, steam rooms were good but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank global-ant
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you, so much for your lovely feedback. I am so pleased that you choose to come and celebrate your wedding anniversary at Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa and that you fully enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from our lovely grounds to the fine dining experience. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the...

Midlands
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Only stayed for one night but were quite disappointed with the experience. Whilst the main building and grounds are quite impressive, the interior furnishings especially the carpeting are in need of attention. Our room was at the rear of the main building and the carpet showed signs of soiling where there appeared to have been 'accidents' by previous occupants and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank crowncd
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to add your feedback to Tripadvisor. I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issue. Kind regards Jane Peach Front Office Manager

Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garthjh
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We booked a one night Sunday spa-break for £130. For this, two people had dinner, bed and breakfast and one treatment each. When we checked in, we went up to our room and found that the room looked relatively clean (if not dated) but there was faeces in the toilet, that had obviously been there for a while. We immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam U
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience with your recent stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. We are aware that you have spoken with Jake - Duty Manager, prior to departure, and we as a management team have discussed the issues raised and have implemented and updated procedures in order to prevent...

Reviewed 8 September 2014

Having moved house last Friday my husband and I were in desperate need of some relaxation/recharging of batteries and so checked ourselves into this hotel's one night half board package including a spa treatment. We arrived frazzled and left 24 hours later feeling relaxed. Our room (no. 53) was a very good size and overlooked the gardens and lake and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath S
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable and that you found time to make full use of the leisure facilities. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon. Kindest regards Jane Peach Front Office Manager

England
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We visited this hotel last week at quite short notice and we were really impressed. Our welcome was delightful - warm and friendly and in fact we were enormously impressed by the staff and their great service throughout our one night stay. EVERYONE from the window cleaner to the man cutting the hedge said hello and smiled. The hotel surroundings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndieH
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you, so much for your lovely feedback on your recent stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa. I am pleased that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Kindest regards Jane Peach Front Office Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Made the wrong decision to stay here the night before my wedding, and very much regret it. My wedding morning preparing for my big day was ruined by a number of things wrong with my room, which hadn’t been checked beforehand by staff. My morning should have been fun, relaxing and enjoyable. Instead it was stressful and frustrating, with my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mrs_SmT-C
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the points raised. Kind regards Jane Peach Front Office Manager

Lancaster
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have been staying in the hotel on a regular basis for the last three months due to work commitments in the area. The hotel provided a temporary home from home when I needed to work, rest and eat which is important when travelling on my own. I have not had the chance to use the spa yet, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank njcm1
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you, for taking the time to add your lovely feedback to Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have found the hotel to be full of home comforts for you while you are away on business. I hope that you do find the time to relax and unwind when using the leisure facilities on your next visit. We...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I stayed for a spa break and it was very good value for money. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is very old and the rooms are traditionally decorated but I felt very at home and comfortable. There were quite a few cobwebs but the ceilings were very high. I would have liked bottles...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaxCat74
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear MaxCat74, Thank your for your response. I will pass your feedback to our Spa Manager in regards to your treatment. We provide butter on the table for breakfast and margarine at the buffet. I am very sorry that we missed your table. About the notice from our Service Team that you are waiting, we will re-train our Team because...

Shropshire
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Nearly had a heart attack when I was charged £8.50 for a large wine!! But apart from the bar prices, the hotel was lovely! Friendly staff, super service, room cleaniless. Would go again, to use the spa!

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherrykins
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cherrykins, Thank you for taking time and your lovely review. Regarding your feedback about the price we are limited due to central pricing, however we will discuss the opportunity for a wine promotion. Hopefully you will visit us soon again. Kind regards Kordula Schloesser Operations Manager

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (343)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
5.7 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
597 reviews
5.5 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,050 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
429 reviews
0.7 km away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
325 reviews
25.4 km away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Price Range: $132 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Linkoping, Sweden
11 months ago
over a year ago
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to check if you will be in one of the buildings in the grounds. You will have to walk in all weathers.”
 of 5 bubbles LizzyPUk, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles gwawrc, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Privilege rooms are really very nice”
 of 5 bubbles earlycheckin, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Might be busy at the end of the week with hen parties or weddings.”
 of 5 bubbles 264pamh, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take inside flip flops to the Spa area the floor is dirty”
 of 5 bubbles 357melanie, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5