We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

QT Canberra

Show Prices
#15 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
QT Canberra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,101: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

After staying at the QT Canberra, wouldn't stay anywhere else. The inside of the hotel is spacious and modern, with a great bar serving excellent drinks. The bartenders were all really fun and personable, too. I skipped breakfast at the hotel, but had dinner one night. Reasonably priced and the food was the best I've had at a hotel...or a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kissie326
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First of all i want to say, the people giving this place a 1/5 are probably very sad people who don't know how to have a good time. Not only were staff extremely accommodating, but super helpful as well. The rooms were so modern, and quirky! I've never stayed someone like it before, and i loved the decor. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nat07129
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location on edge of CBD but by the lake and its footpaths. Doesn't look special outside but inside looks very up to date. Room very pleasant: spacious and airy with modern decor. Bed was a little soft but comfortable and wifi is good enough for video streaming. Bathroom is good with a walk in shower and good cosmetics. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good business travel base. Amusing decor. Beds fine and comfortable. Good bar, good breakfast. Walking distance to Civic. Have stayed here a few times in past few years, happy to come back. Staff generally helpful. No problems with noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnargleBlowfish
Wollongong
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed three nights while on a conference. Very well appointed rooms. Super-helpful and professional staff. Excellent dining. Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Will definitely stay there again. The hotel is an easy walk to the National Convention Centre and other facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is now my seventh visit over several weeks. Pros: very cool place, good food (although no healthy options) and fun bar. Excellent music on play. The barber is fantastic and the room service team are top. Cons: unfortunately they just keep failing at the basics. Noisy rooms and very uncomfortable pillows. No liquid soap in the shower or bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

QT? Where?? What? Why? I came from "THE" QT in Sydney, expecting to find something on the same style, but all I found was a 30 years ago-hotel renewed (partially) on the interiors and that was pretty much it. Not to mention the arrogant behaviour of the crew (exception made for the lady of the room service). Rooms are small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristiano G
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Crisitano G, Very disappointed to hear about your stay. Each QT Hotel is unique and compliments their home cities. No two are alike which makes comparing them a little excessive. We apologise for the behaviour of some of our staff, please know we have passed your feedback on and working to improve this. We hope you consider staying within...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loud music played during the night from one of the function rooms. Very disappointing. Not impressed. Manager's response "we will give you a different room". Not appropriate given it was late at night and we had unpacked our belongings the day before.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M and S K
Lauren S, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hello M and S K Appreciate that the disturbance was frustrating during your stay, pleased we were able to contact you directly about this and hope we can see you back in the future. Thanks Lauren

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in Acton not far from the CBD area of Canberra. At peak arrival/departure times the front desk area can get crowded and check in/out can be quite slow. Staff were friendly though. The foyer has former politicians on tacky wallpaer as does the tacky room key. The politician theme continues through to features of the rooms. Driving into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syd675
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hello there Syd675, We’re glad you were looked after by our friendly staff. Apologies for the unpleasant smells in our garage, it’s very rare that we experience that and we will work with staff to make sure it doesn't occur again. We hope our staff directed you to the open air car park at the back of the hotel for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here over the years and have liked a lot of things as it is clean and convenient. I joined Priority Group but at a recent visit was told because my Corporate Travel Agent books on my behalf (under my specific instruction I might add) I am ineligble to accrue points. I have checked in again this time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gondola5911
Lauren S, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi gondola5911 Glad to hear you have joined Priority Guest Rewards - we hope you see the benefits of this when staying in our hotels Australia-wide. You are correct - to accrue points on your membership, accommodation does need to be booked either on the PGR or hotel website. This will then send your profile and all preferences straight to...

367 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
731 reviews
0.2 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
1,082 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.8 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
1,284 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Capitol Bar and Grill
Capitol Bar and Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: $146 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from QT Canberra staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from QT Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was nice”
 of 5 bubbles jam1150, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I can't give a "room tip", but my breakfast tip? Try the poached egg...even if you don't usually like poached eggs.”
 of 5 bubbles mareshahb2016, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Side facing the city with mountains in the background”
 of 5 bubbles 306littlemissl, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose aroom at back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 20carolj, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1410 or similar away from elevator lake/mountain view”
  • Balcony View
  • Balcony View
  • Balcony View
  • Balcony Lake View
  • Balcony View Black Mountain
  • Balcony View
  • Balcony View
  • Camera View
 of 5 bubbles GrahamC343, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay