We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

QT Canberra

Show Prices
#15 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
QT Canberra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for QT Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,167: English reviews
Prospect, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Every company is entitled to their own signature branding, however having stayed at the Ridged Lakeside previously, the re-branding and refurbishing was shocking to say the least. When they said: I could have a coffee maker in my room as an extra; What they meant was: every room has one anyway. When they said: the room has air conditioning; What...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blu_Mikey
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hello there Blu_Mikey, Thanks for your comment. It seems as if you have experienced a few issues staying with us; we’re not for everyone. It’s good to see you noticed our quirky decor that the majority of our guests love. We hope you enjoyed your steak in our award winning restaurant. I’m glad our helpful staff were able to supply...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and on the whole we were disappointed. The room were spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable, but the 'trendy' chairs and furnishings were uncomfortable and annoyingly pretentious. Also the bed pillows were an absolute nightmare. We dined in the Capitol Bar and Grill - even after having been told by everyone we meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMC1603
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi PMC1603, We’re glad you enjoyed our super comfortable “Dream Beds”, these are very popular amongst our guests at the hotel. Disappointing to hear that was the only enjoyment of your stay. QT is a very unique, quirky brand; we understand that it may not to be everyone’s liking. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back if...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business. It was very comfortable with some quirky touches. The big people on the mirrors can catch you out. The bar and restaurant are very nice but I just think they are a little bit too overpriced and trying too hard to be hipster. The absence of a gym is a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Adam K We’re glad you chose us as your home away from home while on business. Our “Dream Beds” are super comfortable and a huge favourite for most guests. Our hotel has many interesting features that make us unique, sorry if Obama made you jump! While we do not have any gym facilities at the hotel, we do have...

Sydney
Reviewed 19 October 2016

When i say noise, i don't mean traffic or builders, i mean the music in the restaurant and lobby. QT places itself in the younger, trying to be trendy market. It fails miserably. I think that the hotel was the old Lakeview Hotel. The fun and funky Canberra hot spot of the 1970s, when the pollies had mustaches and suits...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SydneyAmanda1234
Lauren S, Front Office Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi SydneyAmanda1234 Thanks for your review! Sounds like we weren’t exactly your cup of tea – and that’s ok, we realise our style may not be for everyone. Would you believe QT Hotels have a Director of Music who individually curates the playlists for each of our hotels? What a job! Hope you enjoyed your tour of Canberra, even though...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here as a little anniversary weekend getaway. The was trendy and staff welcoming. Parking was a little of a shambles it's a small garrage definitely not suitable to larger vehicles. The room was on the smaller side but it was cosy,we'll appointed and had a comfortable bed. The only negative feedback I have would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Innika_angel
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Innika_angel Congratulations on your anniversary in July, we’re very happy that you chose us to help celebrate with you. Apologies for the early morning wakeup call! I’m sure that would have been a surprise for everyone. We will look into this, and work on providing more information during these disturbances. We hope to see you back with us again...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I had some business to do in Canberra on the Friday so we decided to make a weekend of it. IT was the last weekend of Floriade ( totally different from previous years and very disappointing ). We chose the QT because of its great location and excellent reviews. We were even luckier to have booked via a Luxury Escapes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Lauren S, Front Office Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Mark T, What a great weekend you've had! Our LuxuryEscapes deal was certainly one not to be missed - glad you got in in time! Floriade took a bit of a beating this year with the storms that rolled through a couple of weeks ago, however we're sure they'll be back to their floral best again next year. Our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I found the front desk staff very helpful and efficient. I had to interact with at least 4 of them and all were equally helpful. Room was good and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. It would have been really good has the chef at the eggs counter was treating the customers with a smile (sure was not just a bad day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arun7541
Lauren S, Front Office Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Arun7541 Thanks for staying with us, so glad you enjoyed your visit. Mornings in chilly Canberra can be tough - looks like one of our chefs may not be enjoying them too much! We're onto it :) Thanks Lauren

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Very helpful staff, I was in Canberra for a meeting and needed a room at last minute. I just walked in and asked for the room. I was warmly welcomed and offered free drink and room on discounted rate with nice view. Keep it up :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraz999
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Fraz999, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the last minute. It’s good to hear you were well looked after by our team! Remember to book online with your new Priority Guest Rewards Membership to continue getting discounted rates with us. We hope to see you back again with us soon. Shannon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

My first QT experience was good. Arrived for business and the staff in the restaurant very friendly, food was prompt and well presented. Ordered room service which was timely and well presented too. Room was clean. However, the wifi was very slow and unfortunately there was no fitness centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leyla20152016
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi leyla20152016, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad to hear that you had a great experience in the restaurant and enjoyed our fabulous menu! Apologies for the slow wifi, we must have been experiencing some technical difficulties with it at the time. Please be assured that we will be looking into this. Unfortunately we do...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

After experiencing other QT properties all they have to offer I was really disappointed how old & dirty this property was. Beds & bathrooms weren't great & weren't told to pre book a table for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S B
Shannon-Marie D, Guest Relations Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review

Hi S B, Disappointing to hear about your stay. We normally receive very positive reviews about the rooms and how comfortable our Dream Beds are, so it seems these aren’t to your liking. Our restaurant is often busier on the weekend but due to a large amount of visitors for Floriade and Parliament it seems that it would have been...

380 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (358)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
938 reviews
0.2 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
1,211 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
4.1 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,634 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Capitol Bar and Grill
Capitol Bar and Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: $165 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from QT Canberra staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from QT Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All have good city or lake views”
 of 5 bubbles burtonpeter92, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room on the right side with views of Lake Burley Griffin”
 of 5 bubbles kareno609, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be on a high floor .”
 of 5 bubbles JennieH835, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“floors 3 and above have private balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Thetravellovebugs18, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles Sass_uncensored, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5