We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BreakFree on George

Orbitz.comUS$88*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$172*
US$88*
US$172*
US$88*
US$172*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
BreakFree on George
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on George
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,685: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The room itself looked clean when we walked in. That you're close to chinatown and the markets is a bonus. Easy to walk to to a lot of places from there. We requested a king bed, what we actually got after falling between the two beds are singles pushed together. THIS IS NOT A KING BED PEOPLE! That you PAY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreenlyFaerie
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear GreenlyFaerie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree On George. I am disappointed to learn your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have taken your valuable comments onboard, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in future.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

A great place to stay with 5 of us. Apartment was huge, super clean and had everything we needed. Staff were very nice. Great location, close to Chinatown and Central Station. Would happily stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryb658
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, Thank you for your 5 Star review. Our team wishes you all the best and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Staff very helpful, but apartment not as shown on line. Very run down and could do with a make over. Good location.....especially if one likes Chinese food. Beds comfortable. Good walking distance to many iconic locations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 393normap
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear 393normap, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree On George. I am glad to hear you liked our customer service, beds and our convenient location. We have taken your valuable comments onboard, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in future.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Helpful friendly staff,early check in.rooms were very clean.beds comfy,the shower was great.Quite a bit of noise from the hotel across the road made it a bit hard to sleep as it was a Friday night.Its our second time staying here the location is just perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretdX1389HT
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear margaretdX1389HT, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us here at BreakFree On George. Our team look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Not a welcome Enjoyable atmosphere in the hotel and the lobby area all be accuoied by poor restauarant and disgusting stores at entrance but the room was good. The building is a good location and status as hotel but I believe they run the hotel with cheap mamangement to earn money which in late my run even not good for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree On George. I am disappointed to learn your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have taken your feedback onboard and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in future.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Terrible customer service, rude and unhelpful Old run down rooms -mold on shower curtains, broken shower head, uncomfortable hard beds Terrible smell in hall and lifts Worst hotel Iv ever stayed at. Never again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 665sally
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree On George. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Stayed at this hotel for just one night. Booked on Wotif via the mystery deal. Not cheap. The location is great - on the main street of George Street - close to China Town, World Square, Thai Town (on Campbell Street). Room is clean - acceptable. However, I was not happy with the parking arrangement. I called the hotel before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OscarCanberra
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear OscarCanberra, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Sydney CBD. Our car- parking arrangement with Capitol Square is $30 over night with multipal entries until 11AM, which gives an additional 1 hour to all our guest on top of our...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We found this to be suitable for our needs. It was very clean and the tea coffee was replenished every day. We stayed 7 nights and used the laundry facilities also, very handy. It was value for money, we didn't expect 5 star as we hadn't paid those prices. We could hear the road works and the reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janadri87
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Janadri87, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service and clean rooms here at BreakFree On George. We look forward to welcome you back in near future!

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017

very musty and unclean, walls dusty, deck full of cigarette butts and dark, looking at brick wall. we paid $$$ for an extra bed and had to chase it down, the bed blocks one side of the main king bed so you have to climb in (not really a five person room even though they offer five) only good point...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolecI1911UV
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear nicolecI1911UV, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree On George. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests. I am disappointed to learn your recent stay with us did not meet...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017

After spending some time travelling, some of our party were very thankful to be able to access our accommodation at 11.00 a.m. rather than wait until 2.00 p.m. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free computer downstairs was appreciated but the printer wasn't working. Having access to a nearby carpark was very handy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretmJ5110FS
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear MargaretmJ5110FS, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at BreakFree On George. We look forward to welcome you back in near future!

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#66 of 175 in Sydney
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Price Range: $154 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on George staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check bathroom layout. In my room, was barely able to sit on the toilet without hitting my knees on the wall ... and I'm only 5'10”
jason175, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“If you like piece and quiet not for you.”
christopherc779, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“don't stay”
andyj785, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Queen Studio room”
816maryannp, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check your rooms and if there is anything 'alive' in them ask for another room immediately”
leonardr231, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$88* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$88
PricelineUS$88
TripAdvisorUS$88
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates