We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BreakFree on George

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree on George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on George
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,611: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is the best value you can get in Sydney for a central location and clean and comfortable rooms. I have always had a great experience everytime I have stayed here. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are always very clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamstereyes
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Hamstereyes, Thank you for your 5 Star review. Our team wishes you all the best and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Forster, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Shame about the road works but I'm sure the hotel will be glad when they are completed. Check where the car park is prior to travel to make it easier with the crazy one-way system Sydney has. Close the Chinatown so great food and shopping. I highly recommend the Golden Century for dinner, just out the back, freshest seafood.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellier936
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear kellier936, Thank you for your 5 Star review. Our team wishes you all the best and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on arriving into Sydney. We had a open plan one bedroom two bathroom apartment for myself, husband and 3 children. The room was big enough for our needs. Room was clean but smelt damp and musty. Asked for room to be serviced while out sightseeing on return we had seen the room had been serviced but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca0810
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca0810, Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team and will be used for training purpose. Being located in the heart of Sydney CBD, I assure that it is a very safe and kids friendly location. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Location was perfect for our need. We would have preferred locks on bedroom doors for privacy. Had problems using the washer n dryer. Followed the instructions given but didn't work. Staff were very fast at responding to issues.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shobna S
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Shobna, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our cental location our team was quickly able to rectify the washing machine issue in your room. We look forward to welcome you back in near future!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Good location, however room was just ok. Not overly clean and kitchen facilities where very small. No info easy to find in room about the hotel or what was available. emergency alarms went off on our last day, we had to investigate and follow up to what to do.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniehH115SO
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear melaniehH115SO, Thank you for your feedback. I will share you feedback with our team to improve. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We booked this hotel because of the great location close to the station and it had a room with 3 single beds (which is quite hard to find). Place was pretty good, but by no means fantastic. Didn't have the same feel as the other places we have stayed but definitely good enough for a budget place to stay if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankDeeM
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear FrankDeeM, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and overall stay with us here at BreakFree On George. We look forward to welcome you back in near future!

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The plus point near to city. Room not clean, Run down room require refurbish. Everything looks old and maximum wear and tears here and there. Friendly staffs. Don't feel comfortable staying the room. Security is good with require access card to go up to room and night time require card to access the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Patrick C, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Very old and run down. The room I was in and probably others need some tender loving care. It was a very hot day in Sydney. The reception area was as hot as outside. Otherwise the staff were helpful and polite. I felt sorry for them having to wear jackets !!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C6375NJscottl
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear C6375NJscottl, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The room size was excellent and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom looks like it needs a significant 'refresh'. Bot otherwise everything was clean and comfortable. I travel a lot, and rarely try to check in early. I did this time. Admittedly it was super early! Other hotels usually find a room for me, but here I was given...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Glenn A, Thank you for your feedback. We always try to accommodate all early check- in requests, I am sorry to hear that due to being fully booked the night before, our team was unable to organize your room that early in the morning. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Room was very clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.Close to paddy's markets, light rail, capitol theatre, may shops, pubs, restaurants and china town. would recommend and will return again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 530nadiah
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear 530nadiah, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us here at BreakFree On George. Our team look forward to welcome you back again soon!

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#81 of 174 in Sydney
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Price Range: $159 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on George staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay”
andyj785, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Queen Studio room”
816maryannp, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check your rooms and if there is anything 'alive' in them ask for another room immediately”
leonardr231, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher the better - some major roadworks in March/April”
577JeffB, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from the lifts always works well~”
Boriski, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5