We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Square Hotel

Hotels.comUS$87
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$87*
US$103*
US$87*
US$103*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Capitol Square Hotel
 Click to rate
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Capitol Square Hotel is located in Campbell Street right near the corner of George Street Haymarket, very central to the CBD. It is staffed by really great and helpful people who did everything they could to make my stay there a very memorable one. The rooms are well maintained and immaculate and are of good size. A real pleasure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryfromTassie
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BarryfromTassie, Thank you for choosing Capitol Square Hotel Sydney and I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on your most recent experience. I am pleased to note that your recent stay with us has been both memorable and enjoyable. Your high appraisal of the friendly and helpful staff has been widely shared with our...

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is situated next to the Capitol Theatre and within walking distance of Darling Harbour, Central Station and Sydney city. Comfortable rooms with friendly staff. Close to many restaurants and coffee shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mazbroughton
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

It is with pleasure to hear that we served you well. I am glad you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and it's location. Looking for foward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future Mazbroughtony. Thank you Tony

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived on a business trip with a booking of a corporate suite... Firstly couldn't locate the hotel as the booking states I was staying with Rydges. On locating the hotel has no mention of Rydges, had to check Rydges website again and yes it's a rydges hotel I was not in the wrong hotel. It is bitterly disappointing, old dated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica B
Kyle D, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst we respect your ability to submit a review Jessica B, and are disappointed to hear about your perception of our Hotel, we can't help but feel a little hard done by with some of your points. For clarification, our hotel is an affiliate of Rydges Hotels & Resorts, which is stated during the booking process on the website your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is right next door to the Capital Theatre. As we were seeing a show at the Theatre, absolutely perfect place to stay for an overnighter. Reading some of the other reviews, I wasn't sure how it was going to be but if you take it for a 3.5 star place which it is - you will be fine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg W
Kyle D, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest and fair review Greg W. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Almost all of the maps show this area close to Chinatown and the train station, but this area is in the heart of the Asian community.(Thai, Vietnam, Singapore, Malaysia, China,Japan, etc.). This doesn't detract from the convenience, but does affect the nature of the nearby food options, as nearly all of the restaurants are Asian style food. that being said,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charlesodonnell
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlesodonnell, We appreciate you taking your time to write a detailed review of Capitol Square Hotel Sydney. I am delighted your stay with us was most pleasant, highlighting the location, food options and our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Thank you Tony Paik Front Office Manager

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We had 3 days in Sydney and always go CBD. Left it late booking and this was available at a very affordable rate. Some reviews weren't great but we were very happy. It is an older room but its clean and comfortable and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Bed was comfy and even had a window that you could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tastewoolgoolga
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tastewoolgoolga, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Capitol Square Hotel Sydney. I am delighted you had a great stay with us, enjoying the comfy beds we have available, friendly & accommodating service provided by our staff and as well the hotel's convenient location. I appreciate your feedback and hope to have...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Great location close to central railway easy walk to Darling Harbour which is why we stayed here Quick and easy check in and check out As for the rooms they were clean but the room had a musty smell the floors squeaked and walls were thin could hear a baby crying The city noise could be heard through out the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deelee68
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deelee68, Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Capitol Square Hotel Sydney. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, in particularly the hotel's convenient location. Although I pleased that found our location convenient, I was disappointed to read of your unsatisfactory experience with noise and the age our hotel mentioned. I do...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

I have had more warmth, personality, customer service going to a doctor’s surgery reception that I received at all the time from the front reception while I stayed here. First of all, the entry is dull (this is a very polite statement) the only thing it needed was one of Sydney’s unprivileged, snoring in one of the corners, just to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A H
Kyle D, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to prepare your thorough review A H, and sorry to hear your stay did not meet expectations. A number of the points you raised are certainly within our control and are being progressively addressed as I type. For consideration; Capitol Square Hotel is one of the more affordable accommodation options amongst an often busy...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This is a basic hotel but in a good location if you are in town for theatre and shopping. The rooms are adequate but could do with a face-lift but I'm just after a bed and a shower so they satisfy. The lobby is small and there always seems to be a large tour group either coming or going when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichelleW72, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your stay. I thank you for your kind feedback highlighting our location. I do advise that we are planning a refurbishment which includes update of carpets, rooms and bathrooms. Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not so distance future. Thank you...

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Capitol Square Hotel for one night when going to see Aladdin at Capitol Theatre. On check in the receptionist came across very disinterested but we only had to deal with her for a short time so that was fine. We were given our key and got in the horribly old and run down elevator to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kade O
Tony P, Front Office Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kade O, We appreciate your taking your time write a review about your most recent experience at Capitol Square Hotel Sydney. I was disappointed to read of your dissatisfied experience and for this please accept my humble apologies with lapse with our service on this occasion. We are currently look into options for refurbishment and this includes our guest...

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Queen Room with Balcony (46)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 175 in Sydney
952 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#107 of 175 in Sydney
343 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $123 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, clean ,well maintained and well located.”
BarryfromTassie, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Level 2, corners are roomy”
MrsSpider2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and were given a back room and it was very quiet - apart from the aircon!”
Casual_holidays, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a 2nd floor room”
  • 3 twin beds in the family room
ang3ldu5t, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just don't.”
nik0lajsz, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$87
Hotwire.comUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$87
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates