We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Square Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Capitol Square Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capitol Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 423: English reviews
Melbourne
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fairly overpriced for such an unattractive place. If you want budget but clean, a hotel like Metro on Pitt St does it much better. The bed felt like it was on its last legs, the bathroom tiny and uncomfortable and the carpet had a lot of stains. The service wasn't great. I definitely don't want to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank n_scorpion
Waratah, NSW
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had one night here. We only wanted a bed, so we did not need a fancy place to stay. Location is the best feature. Room size was OK twin king beds joined so plenty of room. It was clean although probably die for refurbishment. We had no problems with check in or staff. Breakfast was OK nothing great but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waratahers
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel 9 times before when it was under the Rydges banner. This was my 10th visit and my last. The new management has no idea of customer service. 1. Until I identified that I had a physical disability the person on check-in refused to assist me transger my luggage to the room. 2. Air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank molecular_4u
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for bringing these to my attention. Test and tags to electrical equipment in-room are valid for a period of 2 years, and we certainly do have a preventative maintenance program in place. I am concerned however with the level of service presented to you. I have taken this matter seriously and assure you that staff...

Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was disappointed with this place and the only thing it had going for it was its location. I was there from Perth specifically for the Lynyrd Skynyrd concert which was at the Entertainment Centre, only a five minute walk away. For my purpose that was its only redeeming asset. The room was small (or the bed too big for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skynnylyzyrd
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you in your suggestion that the espresso coffee should have been complimentary while the other coffee machine was not functioning. I will be sure to brief the team for future occasions. As for the rooms, you will be pleased to learn that Capitol...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was very disappointed in what was provided as a guest there. Tiles in bathroom were dirty and had not been scrubbed. Breakfast was awful, it was supposed to be a full cooked breakast, the chef couldn't of been bothered to pull the bacon apart to cook it. The coffee they served was unacceptable and in this modern day instant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Masons_10
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I am glad that you have found the hotel's location convenient, but at the same time sorry, to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. At the time you were staying with us, we did have a coffee machine malfunction and as per your suggestion an alternative to instant coffee should...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2014

There are certainly no frills. The room I stayed in was fairly small, not particularly welcoming and the ensuite a bit out of date, but if you are not planning to spend time in your hotel other than for somewhere to sleep everything worked and I slept fine. I was on the 2nd floor and didn't notice too much noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinCanberra
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you have found the hotel's location convenient. Some of the Hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment and we would like to welcome you back for your next trip to Sydney. Thank you for posting a review.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our rooms felt yucky as soon as we checked in. Old and scabby . I had not sat on the bed for 2 mins and a bed bug crawled on me although at the time I didn't know what it was. The room was Crawling with bed bugs and now of course we are covered in bites (including my 1...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Essmoo
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear of this incident. I wish you would had informed us of this while you were at the hotel, so we could deal with it promptly and to your liking. This incident has been dealt with seriously and I can assure you that for your future stay with us, I will inspect the room myself before...

Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was advertised as a budget hotel and that's what it basically is (compared to other hotels in the area or closer to the harbour). The room we stayed in was dated and some of the fittings needed attention, but it had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, room clean and the staff were helpful. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gethere
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great you have enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are currently undergoing some soft refurbishment throughout the hotel. I certainly do hope that you will book with us for your next trip to Sydney.

Sydney Central
Reviewed 12 January 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I had to book the the Capitol Square hotel in an emergency when I found myself with nowhere to stay in Sydney. It was cheap so I snapped it up and then read reviews. This got me worried. But when I arrived the hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms need updating a little but mine was certainly clean and well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KeiraJayne
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel. It is great that you have found Capitol Square Hotel suitable for your purposes in Sydney. We pride in being centrally located and being well priced. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Queen Room with Balcony (46)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#80 of 179 in Sydney
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#87 of 179 in Sydney
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $148 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Brampton
3 months ago
somerset west
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a 2nd floor room”
 of 5 bubbles ang3ldu5t, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles nik0lajsz, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only second floor has free wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles aileenchan1121, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“unrenovated rooms not recommended”
 of 5 bubbles jeanm882, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“clean rooms...but no view......”
 of 5 bubbles S1675FGjimh, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay