We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Capitol Square Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Capitol Square Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capitol Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Room 317, where do I begin?! Yes this hotel is in the CBD but honestly that's all it has going for it. Our switch points in our room didn't work, upon learning this I was straight down to the front desk only for 'Ken' to say he had no idea what to do :-/ that was our first night, we...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank BClark21994
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at Capitol Square Hotel for two nights. The location was great but the rooms were very average and needed a good clean and make over. The Staff were the least friendly staff I have ever meet at a hotel

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shane G
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great location, low-average rooms. Clean linens but the fixtures and bathroom could have used some maintenance and the furniture was nicked and scratched. Overall, for the money, definitely worth stepping up from a hostel. Right in the middle of the action on the edge of Chinatown, Thai town, and literally next to the Capitol theater. There internet options are 2005...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ryantakesatripdotcom
Wyong, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked this room before I read all the reviews and was crapping myself that I'd booked us in to some hell-hole and my husbands birthday/our anniversary would be a ruined weekend! Well I can report that I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the bed was clean, the floor was clean and the a/c worked. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pixie1400
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Poorly maintained, stuffy dingy rooms. No attention to airing the room or checking the fridge is on before occupants enter. Air-conditioning poor and windows very hard to open due to double glazing. Shower over bath so not suitable for elderly or disabled. Absolute bare minimum quality. Only thing going for it is it's proximity to the theatre. Overpriced and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
Melbourne
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fairly overpriced for such an unattractive place. If you want budget but clean, a hotel like Metro on Pitt St does it much better. The bed felt like it was on its last legs, the bathroom tiny and uncomfortable and the carpet had a lot of stains. The service wasn't great. I definitely don't want to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank n_scorpion
Waratah, NSW
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had one night here. We only wanted a bed, so we did not need a fancy place to stay. Location is the best feature. Room size was OK twin king beds joined so plenty of room. It was clean although probably die for refurbishment. We had no problems with check in or staff. Breakfast was OK nothing great but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waratahers
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel 9 times before when it was under the Rydges banner. This was my 10th visit and my last. The new management has no idea of customer service. 1. Until I identified that I had a physical disability the person on check-in refused to assist me transger my luggage to the room. 2. Air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank molecular_4u
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for bringing these to my attention. Test and tags to electrical equipment in-room are valid for a period of 2 years, and we certainly do have a preventative maintenance program in place. I am concerned however with the level of service presented to you. I have taken this matter seriously and assure you that staff...

Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was disappointed with this place and the only thing it had going for it was its location. I was there from Perth specifically for the Lynyrd Skynyrd concert which was at the Entertainment Centre, only a five minute walk away. For my purpose that was its only redeeming asset. The room was small (or the bed too big for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skynnylyzyrd
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you in your suggestion that the espresso coffee should have been complimentary while the other coffee machine was not functioning. I will be sure to brief the team for future occasions. As for the rooms, you will be pleased to learn that Capitol...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was very disappointed in what was provided as a guest there. Tiles in bathroom were dirty and had not been scrubbed. Breakfast was awful, it was supposed to be a full cooked breakast, the chef couldn't of been bothered to pull the bacon apart to cook it. The coffee they served was unacceptable and in this modern day instant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Masons_10
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I am glad that you have found the hotel's location convenient, but at the same time sorry, to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. At the time you were staying with us, we did have a coffee machine malfunction and as per your suggestion an alternative to instant coffee should...

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Queen Room with Balcony (46)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#81 of 178 in Sydney
1,417 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#87 of 178 in Sydney
899 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $132 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Brampton
4 months ago
somerset west
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Level 2, corners are roomy”
 of 5 bubbles MrsSpider2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and were given a back room and it was very quiet - apart from the aircon!”
 of 5 bubbles Casual_holidays, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a 2nd floor room”
  • 3 twin beds in the family room
 of 5 bubbles ang3ldu5t, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles nik0lajsz, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only second floor has free wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles aileenchan1121, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay