We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kirketon Hotel

Save
Share
229 Darlinghurst Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$61
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (125)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (163)

About

#146 of 204 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Renowned for friendly and effortless service, the Kirketon Hotel welcomes its guests to experience the genuine warmth and charm of the professional team whose prime objective is to look after the guests. The intimate 40 room iconic boutique hotel is located in the heart of Sydney's restaurant, bar and nightclub district, moments from Oxford Street and Kings Cross Station and nestled in a quiet corner of the Darlinghurst, Potts Point and Kings Cross Triangle. Moments walk to Woolloomooloo, the Sydney Financial District, and Botanic Gardens, home to the award winning cocktail bar 'Eau de Vie' and renowned Asian restaurant 'Fu Man Chu'. The Kirketon is ideally located for all accommodation needs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Secured parking
Wifi
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 7 more
287Reviews9Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 96
  • 71
  • 44
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ms-Rhondie S wrote a review Dec 2020
Canberra, Australia84 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I cancelled another booking I had for this time, then suddenly needed accommodation again, couldn’t get the same deal I had my first hotel so searched for something else. This then was a last minute booking, to replace the cancelled one, I wasn’t sure how good it would be but I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely it is. The rooms are really cute and I liked the decor of the rooms and the hotel in general. I had a standard room, it was very small and the bed (a double) was small too, but it wasn’t a problem because I’m short and smallness of room no problem because I was out a lot. There was air conditioning, good water pressure in the shower, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, kettle, tea, coffee, sugar and UHT Milk, biscuits. Wine glasses, tea cups and spoons. Bed was comfy, pillows were quality, bedding clean and crisp. A small work desk and chair, night lights. Towels and toiletries. Location is a 3 minute walk from the big Coke sign in King Cross. There’s a grocery store right there and lots of places to eat. I took a short (20 minutes walk) to Mrs Macquarie Chair, the Domain and a great spot for viewing Sydney Opera House and The Sydney Harbour Bridge. Reception staff really helpful and lovely. Only minuses: was a loud motor (maybe an air con) would come on suddenly and scare me awake at about 7am. No elevator but I was travelling light and the receptionist assisted me with my bags up the 4 flights of stairs to get to my room (327) on the 2nd floor. Bathroom looks like it could do with a good scrub. I will DEFINITELY stay here again. I loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth Brett wrote a review Sep 2020
10 contributions3 helpful votes
I'm a bit slack on the review but my partner and I stayed here a few months back and we loved it. There was a booking issue that had nothing to do with the hotel (a fake air bnb host was trying to scam us) and we were lucky enough to have a very helpful man on reception that looked after us and found us a room. We'd like to shout out to Sam for his excellent service, and being a friendly face each time we entered or left the building. He really made our trip. The room was clean and tidy and had a great shower! We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
nailgirlessex wrote a review Mar 2020
Ilford, United Kingdom49 contributions35 helpful votes
We arrived after our 18 night cruise with loads of luggage only to find that this hotel doesn't have a lift. There are steps up into the hotel and then you have to take your heavy luggage up the stairs to your room. I have mobility issues and walk with a stick so as you can imagine this was totally unacceptable. The male receptionist was as helpful as he possibly could be and offered to help us up to the first floor with all our luggage. As we was only staying 3 nights we reluctantly checked in. The room was small but adequate with a large bathroom and toiletries. There was a safe, fridge and desk but our window faced a wall and you couldn't open it. Next door to the hotel is an excellent place for breakfast. The hotel is located in Darlinghurst and not far to walk to the king's cross area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liu Zhaobo, Owner at The Kirketon Hotel
Responded 30 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your stay here at the Kirketon Hotel. We appreciate your feedback since it helps us improve our service and your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service quality. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at the Kirketon Hotel. I have noted your comment and passed on to the concerned managers to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that we exceed your expectations on your return. Warm regards, The Kirketon Team
Read more
Di5580 wrote a review Mar 2020
Dewsbury, United Kingdom64 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a trip across Australia. The rooms are small but that is the only negative as they are clean and comfortable. The reception desk staff are very helpful especially Tatiana who helped us plan our day. Take advantage of the tours advertised in reception. The walking tour is free. The bus tour is $18. Both an excellent way to find out the history of Sydney. I would return here most definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Liu Zhaobo, Owner at The Kirketon Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge few positive elements. I have shared your kind feedback with our team and they are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you once again for your kind consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kirketon Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Kirketon Team
Read more
Rajendra R wrote a review Mar 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia72 contributions80 helpful votes
Great rooms, stylish decor, sumptuous beds and located a hop, jump and skip away from the Kings Cross Station that will take you to any part of Sydney. Enjoyed the stay tremendously. However, do be careful shifting anything from the mini bar as it is computerised to charge you even if you just move it to stock your personal stuff. Tell FOH to remove all the contents so that you can use it for your own F&B. Also, my room, despite it being a Superior category, didn't have a safe box (reason given that the hotel is being renovated? Huh??). Plus... staff and guests walking on the wooden floors heavily will disrupt your sleep. All in all.. a good hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Liu Zhaobo, Owner at The Kirketon Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Rajendra, We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge a few positive elements. I have shared your kind feedback with our team and they are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you once again for your kind consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kirketon Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Kirketon Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kirketon hotel sydney - by 8 sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyDarlinghurst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kirketon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kirketon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sydney Jewish Museum (0.2 km), Bamboozle Room (0.5 km), and Eau de Vie (0.01 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kirketon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at The Kirketon Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Kirketon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kirketon Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kirketon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Farmhouse Kings Cross, Jack & Knife, and Malabar South Indian Restaurant in Darlinghurst.
Does The Kirketon Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Kirketon Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Kirketon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Chinese, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kirketon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chinese Garden of Friendship (1.7 km), State Theatre (1.4 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.9 km).