We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Show Prices
#26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,094 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,607: English reviews
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

There are a number of hi rise hotels overlooking Sydney Harbour and the Shangri La is certainly one of the best. The location is superb and the rooms with harbour views are outstanding, whether or not you have a glimpse of the iconic bridge, which some certainly do. The stand out factor for me was the quality of the staff...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick101215
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Patrick101215, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that our colleagues were able to delight you. For your next visit I highly recommend staying in one of our newly refurbished Horizon Club rooms and suites which come with exclusive benefits such...

Bundall, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Just returned from a wonderful weekend staying at the Shangri-la in Sydney. I planned this weekend so that my wife and I could stay at a hotel that could provide stunning harbour views and allow us to soak in The Rocks atmosphere and take advantage of great restaurants and the areas' history. We used the hotel's preferred private car pick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Craig B, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that our colleagues were able to delight you. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Paul

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This hotel is in the middle of the rocks which is great for the Sydney harbour bridge and opera house. You are very close to nice restaurant also. The hotel has good facilities including a nice pool. Make sure you pay the extra and have a opera house and Sydney bridge view we did and it was amazing to wake...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewlawrence78
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear andrewlawrence78, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that our colleagues were able to delight you. For your next visit I highly recommend staying in one of our newly refurbished Horizon Club rooms and suites which come with exclusive benefits such...

Sweden
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

First class Hotel. Central location in Sydney, close to almost everything, like the restaurant area on the Rock, shops, Opera house, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour as old town on the Rocks Huge bathroom with shower as bath tub. Nice decoration in bedroom and all needeed accessory available. Safety box, Iron, 32" TV, big warderobe with light. Very great Doublebed, quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pschon
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Pschon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that our colleagues were able to delight you. For your next visit I highly recommend staying in one of our newly refurbished Horizon Club rooms and suites which come...

Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Sorry for misquoting Dr Spock, but I could not resist it. I have used Shangri La hotels around the world many times; This one is a discredit to the brand. From check in, queuing on an old, badly stained carpet, motel grade at best, the experience is good only in respect of aspects which cannot be managed badly, namely the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fixitfox
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear fixitfox, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were not not thoroughly impressed with your experience with us. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel when you visit us again. Best regards, Paul

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My husband and I had an overnight stay on the 22nd Floor Executive Harbour Room. Amazing views. All staff from check in, concierge, bar staff, breakfast staff were extremely efficient. Room well appointed, bed comfortable. Very good breakfast optiosn and choices. Close to Rocks for good choice of cafes etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeborahMosmanNSW
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DeborahMosmanNSW, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that our colleagues were able to delight you. I will definitely pass on your compliments to the Horizon Club team and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Paul

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Summary ------------ Overall, whilst good rooms and facilities, an appalling experience - a testament to how poor customer service can ruin a stay in a perfectly good hotel. For the same price range, I've had a significantly better experience at other establishments like Hilton, Sofitel & Westin (minus the views of course!). The Bad: ------------ Poor Customer Service: Upon checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WasifKasim
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear WasifKasim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and for celebrating your partner's birthday with us. I'm sorry to hear about the issue with your special request and we apologize if there was a misunderstanding in carrying this out. Requests like these are opportunities for us to go above and beyond the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Excellent hotel, fantastic views of Sydney harbour bridge and opera house from room. Service was first class and room spotless. Bathroom was incredibly well kept. Breakfast offered a wide range of choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin A
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Kelvin A, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Wonderful to hear that you were attended to graciously by our colleagues and that you were pleased with your room accommodation. I will pass on your compliments on the breakfast buffet to our food and beverage team as they are always finding means to improve the breakfast...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed at the Shangri-La on two different occasions during our recent holiday and were very pleased both times. The hotel location is about as good as it gets, right next to the Rocks as well as Circular Quay. Tons of restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars nearby. Our rooms faced the harbour with views of the Opera House and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davelw
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Davelw, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that our colleagues were able to delight you. For your next visit I highly recommend staying in one of our newly refurbished Horizon Club rooms and suites which come with exclusive benefits such...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Staff service here was great, the views looking out over harbor bridge and opera house are amazing. The room was clean and modern with every amenity that we needed. 5 min walk down to circular key and the rocks. This is the 2nd time I've stayed here and I would strongly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Travis C, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear that you had an excellent time and that our colleagues were able to delight you. The hotel's location is indeed centrally located and is within walking distance to both the CBD and the tourist attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to your...

3,037 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2797)
Viewed
Room/Suite (714)
Viewed
View from Room (553)
Viewed
Bathroom (194)
Viewed
Dining (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (204)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (944)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Deluxe Darling Harbour Room (114)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,144 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
1,243 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: $287 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Hotel Sydney staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Hotel Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the better, horizon upgrade is good value”
steveking1111, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“corner rooms are the best”
nessatez, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views & Comfy Beds”
hinnaaslam, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for a harbour bridge/opera house view”
610ginak, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Opera House view if you want that quintessential experience.”
AshleeR167, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5