We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in a 4-bed room for 5-6 nights. Hotel is VERY old and smelly. Internet works in very specifc places (at least they have free wifi). At my arrival, the receptionist was clueless about some procedures (she didn't know I had to pay the shuttle from the airport, for example). Bathrooms were a nightmare. At one point, I turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makoto Y
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have not reviewed something on trip advisor in so long that I do not know my old account password and had to create a new account. That is how compelled I am to share my feelings on this place. The Good: The staff is very nice and was very helpful in answering all questions about tips for getting around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderLust406
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Somewhere between terrible and poor. Some of the reasons you would expect, locks on bathroom doors busted, toilets blocked, dated. I didn't expect two toilets in a line of five permanently out of order and two additional ones recently deemed out of order due to blockages leaving one functioning toilet for an entire floor. The small annoyance that got me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It wasn't the right place for me, is too old, and not clean..a lot of long stay people.. i didn't like and the people are really Too messy.....the staff was good and helpful..cheap but is a improvised hostel.i think they need to do some renovation...the location was good..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zio900
Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It´s a nice hostel, for ervery one who needs a cheap hostel, especially when you work in Sydney. I wouldnt say that the hostel is really clean, but for the price, its alright. The wifi was okay, they have a big kitchen with everything you need and a beer with cheap beer and nice snacks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We booked 10 nights at the hostel in a 2 person room. When we arrived we were told by a girl in the desk that if we wanted ekstra blankets we could just come back down for them. When we came up to our floor, it smelled like construction everywhere, and everything was dirty with sawdust. In our room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iben L
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Iben, Upon reviewing our bookings there is no one who was booked into our property for 10 nights in a private room for two people and also no reports of any doors not locking. All our private 2 person rooms are fully booked and all have functioning locks on the doors. It is unclear what you are referring to...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed in an 8 bed for a week but it wasn't great. Some of the top bunk beds didn't have side rails and the floors needed a vacuum. We then moved to a private room for a week which was much better. The hostel is undergoing constant repairs but the bathrooms and kitchen area are always clean. Free WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I know the repairs can be frustrating at times and we do try to do these with the least disturbance to our guests and the end goal is to enhance the hostel for our guests. Yes we are basic, but clean and we aim to target guests our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 12th to the 15th of Oct 2016. I stayed at a 6 bed female only dorm , roommates were decent and nice. To be honest I was skeptical about making this booking due to some negative reviews, but I took the risk and it was worth it!!!!!!!!!! I will recommend this place if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nikky1010
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Nike, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and can see that the negative reviews are not a true reflection of the property. We hope to see you again some day!

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Rude staff, place falling apart rooms were stinky and extremely dirty... toilets even worse. Would rather sleep on the street then in this place.. wouldnt recommend this place to anyone ever.. pics dont come close to doing justice, felt like my feet could fall through the floor at any given moment.. im sure this place does not meet safety requirements.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcus G
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Marcus. The building is perfectly safe, due to a new handrail being installed the carpet is lifted while the works are being carried out. It seems like you have only written this review due to being asked to leave the hostel, especially since you have never written a review on a property before.

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

When we first arrived we weren't sure we would last a week but ended up staying for 6 months through the winter whilst working and saving through winter. The location is amazing! It's just a short walk from the train station and the city making it very easy and convienent to get anywhere! There is a no drinking policy at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katecolbs94
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Kate. Thank you for taking the time for writing a fair and balanced review. I am glad you enjoy our no alcohol policy as our guests peace and comfort at night is really important to us. We agree that the hostel is not perfect but out on going improvements make it an enjoyable place to be for the very...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
242 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
373 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#30 of 133 in Sydney
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central Backpackers
#69 of 133 in Sydney
83 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 133 in Sydney
217 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#41 of 133 in Sydney
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $30 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything outside this hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a 4 bed dorm - cleaner and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaTrop, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay