We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree on Clarence

0.4 km from Sydney centre
    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    Shorter House 193-195 Clarence St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    Showing 479: English reviews
    Start your review of BreakFree on Clarence
     Click to rate
    Brisbane Australia
    Reviewed yesterday NEW

    Unbelievable!! How they can charge $300+ per night is criminal!! Not what we were expecting at all. Stained carpet, paint peeling off the walls, black marks on walls, skirting boards that look like they haven't been cleaned forever and bedheads all flaking. Only single chairs to sit on. Coffee cups a joke - two sips and gone. Only two positives...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank chrisy72
    Melbourne, Australia
    Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    Stains on the walls. Toilet blocked a few times. Manhole cover was right off. Bedhead was fake leather and was pealing onto the bed. Very noise in terms of doors slamming and showers running from other rooms

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank 876lou
    Melbourne, Australia
    Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    Hotel offered very basic accommodation lift was quick rooms were a bit small and the tea cups were thimble size, three sips and they were empty good location near shops and two train stations. Photos on the website are old as the chicken shop has closed which could make the doorway hard to find

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Diane R
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear Diane, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. Our hotel aims to offer the necessary comforts within our rooms. This allows us to keep the pricing competitive within such a prime CBD location. Every effort is made to portray our property and rooms accurately. The fast food outlet next door has only closed in the recent past....

    Seoul, South Korea
    Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

    Location is not bad. The room condition and view with sydney tower is good Internet is not free but luggage keeping is available. Very kind staffs, daily room cleaning, 24hr desk. I recommend this hotel.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank hayeoni07
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear hayeoni07, Thank you for staying with us at BreakFree on Clarence & for your solid review on Trip Advisor. From your review, we are very glad to know that you have taken location advantage of our property. Indeed, our central location is very convenient for all of our guests to stay connected with all city amenities and attractions. Our...

    Adelaide, Australia
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Have provided feedback details on previous page; I found room smelly and noisy - was happy to deal with noise given the convenient location however something needs to be done about the smell - it was difficult to relax or work in that environment

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank taliesin_ellis
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear taliesin_ellis, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. It is unfortunate to hear that you found the room odour unpleasant. Daily cleaning services do attempt to prevent such matters from happening. We apologise for any shortfall experienced during your stay. We shall advise that our hotel is due for a refurbishment later this year. This will see...

    Shellharbour, Australia
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The room was clean and the space was large enough for 3 adults. The bathroom was immaculate and the beds were comfortable. The location was very convenient as it was a short walk to Town hall station and the QVB.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Michelle H
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear Michelle, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. We are delighted to hear that you and your travelling party had an enjoyable stay. It is our aim to offer a great budget accommodation within a Sydney CBD. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and found your room clean...

    London, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The room had a terrible smell and the carpet was very dirty. While this hotel has been renovated on the surface, it is clearly a very old property. Overall an unpleasant experience and I would not recommend staying here.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank SeeTheWorldTheySaid
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear SeeTheWorldTheySaid, Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We understand our hotel is located in an older property. Breakfree on Clarence is currently in the planning stages of refurbishments. Upgrades to our room’s furniture and fittings, including carpet, are due to take place later...

    Gosford, Australia
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This hotel is right in the middle of all your entertainment and shopping needs. Close parking is a bonus. Minimum of fuss checking in. Boutique bar next door and within walking distance to the QVB. Great find

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Deb2251
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear Deb, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of our location and explore the Sydney sights. We aim to offer a great budget alternative within a prime CBD area. Our guest service agents are great at providing efficient service. We are glad that they made...

    Sydney, Australia
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    My Husband and I stayed at the BreakFree on Clarence and I found the room to be spacious and clean. It was a little noisy only because the room faced the road but that is not the fault of the Hotel and not much they can do about this. The staff are friendly and the Hotel is close to the...

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Kim B
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear Kim, Thank you for your positive review of Breakfree on Clarence. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our Guest Service Agents aim to provide the best impression throughout your stay. It is great to hear the positive word about our friendliness. We hope to see you again...

    Geebung, Australia
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Two day stay between accommodations. Helpful, understanding staff. Beds comfy, slight issue with hot water and staff remedied immediately. Card entry much better than key. Close to the Quay and delicious Vermicelli.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Marie-Louise B
    Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

    Dear Marie-Louise B, Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel. We are glad your experience at Breakfree on Clarence was a pleasant one. Our Guest Service Agents were delighted to serve you and your compliments have been noted. We aim to provide a great experience within our prime Sydney CBD location. We do appreciate comments with regards to...

    86 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (50)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (2)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (6)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (11)
    Viewed
    View from Room (2)
    Viewed
    Other (29)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (36)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (22)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (3)
    Viewed
    Dining (3)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (4)
    Viewed
    Other (4)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
    Central Business District
    The Grace Hotel Sydney
    The Grace Hotel Sydney
    #17 of 179 in Sydney
    5,090 reviews
    Central Business District
    QT Sydney
    QT Sydney
    #12 of 179 in Sydney
    1,781 reviews
    Central Business District
    Swissotel Sydney
    Swissotel Sydney
    #16 of 179 in Sydney
    4,201 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Central Business District
    Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
    Central Business District
    Hyatt Regency Sydney
    Hyatt Regency Sydney
    #79 of 179 in Sydney
    3,270 reviews
    Central Business District
    No photo provided
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Staying in Central Business District

    Neighbourhood Profile
    Central Business District
    The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
    Explore this neighbourhood

    Amenities

    About the property
    • Non-Smoking Hotel
    • Wheelchair Access
    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    In your room
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    Internet
    • Paid Wifi
    • Paid Internet
    • Public Wifi
    Services
    • Laundry Service
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Positioned in the heart of the Sydney CBD, BreakFree on Clarence provides travellers with a choice of room types which are great for singles, families and couples, including the Single Standard room, Queen Room, Twin Room, Family Suite Family, and Premium Room. Rooms are air-conditioned providing comfort during the warmer and cooler months, and Wi-Fi (fee applies) offers travellers the opportunity to catch up on business or connect with loved ones while on holiday. Planning a lot of activities while in Sydney? The city is bursting with lots of excursions; you'll find the locality of this city hotel offers all that you need, with public transport including trains and buses at the hotel entrance, along with a horde of shops, cafes and restaurants. From this well-appointed accommodation you can walk to many of Sydney's best attractions including Westfield Shopping Centre, the Art Gallery of NSW, Darling Harbour, Sydney Botanic Gardens, Sydney Opera house and Circular Quay where the ferries depart to Taronga Zoo, DFO shopping outlet and Manly. Location Features: • Sydney Airport 8.4Km drive • Town Hall Train Station 500m walk • Capitol Theatre 1.3Km walk • Chinatown 1.5Km walk • Paddy's Markets 1.3Km walk • Sydney Entertainment Centre 1.2Km walk • Darling Harbour 1.1Km walk • Circular Quay 1.3Km walk • The Sydney Opera House 2km • Sydney Botanic Gardens 1.6Km • The Rocks 1.3Km • Sydney Aquarium 350m walk ... more   less 

    Additional Information about BreakFree on Clarence

    Address: Shorter House 193-195 Clarence St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly City Hotel)
    Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
    Amenities:
    Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
    Price Range: $167 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Hotel Class:3 star — BreakFree on Clarence 3*
    Number of rooms: 50
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BreakFree on Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Clarence staff and other travellers.
    3 questions
    Ask a question

    See all questions (3)

    Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Clarence staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “avoid the first floor.”
     of 5 bubbles stephennericad, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Great location to walk around the city andto shop”
     of 5 bubbles stephencA9896PZ, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Select rooms on the top floors”
     of 5 bubbles subarnag2013, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
    “Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.”
     of 5 bubbles MaryC4505, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
    “Dont go to top floors if you require WIFI.”
     of 5 bubbles DaraghC479, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
    5 of 5