We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wake Up! Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,130: English reviews
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Wake Up! for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with this hostel. The hostel lobby feels like a hotel with free computers for residents use. Myself and my boyfriend stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was absolutely spotless and so spacious. Beds, sheets and pillows were so comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are a real turn...

Thank HolidayFF
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi HolidayFF, Thanks for taking a moment to leave us your feedback and thanks for your great rating. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work very hard to ensure our bathrooms our always in top condition as we know this is one of the most important things to backpackers. We pride ourselves on have great staff who have a passion for...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Very clean well kept accommodation. Amazing deals for food and drinks, great for friends wanting to party and cheap budgets. Far walk to opera house at night for bars but during the day it's a great walk! Sydney was a great time and people at the hostel are very friendly, I found it very easy to chat with people I...

Thank Kail4330
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Kail4330, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I’m glad you found lots of new friends at the hostel. We work very hard on our activities schedule here to make it as social as possible and ensure our guests get the most out of their Sydney experience. Side Bar and Roy's Cafe are always a great...

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Good hostel with friendly staff. All rooms seemed clean and good facilities. Plug point and lockers for each bed. They had lots of activities and offers in the hostel and bar attached. Great location next to the central station so it is easy to get to most of the tourist locations including bondi, blue mountains and the harbour. It is...

Thank Deborah N
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Deborah N, Thanks for your perfect rating and also for providing us with your valuable feedback. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your Sydney trip. We like all backpackers to have some creature comforts which is why all bunks have their own personal light and power socket. Our central location (opposite the main train station) makes...

Baltimore, MD
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Clean, orderly, up to date technology, good amenities, friendly service. I didn't like that they only provided 24 hrs of wifi access but wifi in Australia is not so abundant. Cafe has good coffee and breakfast. Did not use kitchens or bar.

Thank PihmpDaddi
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi PihmpDaddi, Thanks for taking a moment to give us your feedback. I am so glad that we were able to earn a perfect rating from your experience with us. We have world class facilities here and are constantly looking at ways to improve the backpacker experience. Unfortunately you are correct and in regards to Wi-Fi we are still behind...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

I have been staying at WakeUp for the past 2 weeks on and off and I have to say it is the most amazing hostel I have stayed at so far! Everything is so clean and well run, they have a cafe also Sidebar is just downstairs. The facilities are nice and clean as well as there being a movie...

Thank Olivia0312
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Olivia0312, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and thanks for your awesome 5 star rating. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time here and continue to come back to us. We aim to create an atmosphere where backpackers can meet people from all over the world. We have great security with key cards, lockers in...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I was staying here 3 nights, as solo traveler this place is nice to mingle with others traveler.. they have plenty of free tour program.. dorm was big enough, sharing shower also doesn't matter, nice bar down stairs and friendly staff.. location were closed by from the central station and near to halal resto also chinatown..

Thank rennipuri
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi rennipuri, Thanks for your review and thanks for choosing to stay at Wake Up! We work very hard to create a social atmosphere with our daily activities and our great events down at Side Bar. We are also in a prime location in Sydney central opposite the main train and bus stations, it makes seeing all the sites very...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We booked Wake up as our first hostel in Australia and our first visit to Sydney. The hostel is in a fantastic location, very near to the greyhound stop and is only a 20 minute walk past all the shops to the harbour. We got to bus to Bondi beach and done the beach walk (would recommend!!). We booked a...

Thank DaisyV4
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi DaisyV4, Thanks for your review. It sounds like you had a great time in Sydney and at Wake Up! and have given myself some valuable feedback to follow up. We are in a great location in Sydney central across from the main railway station and bus terminal. We have a huge range of activities here at Wake Up! to...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff. Unfortunately when I arrived at the hostel I was informed they were overbooked. Eventually it was sorted but not good news after a 28 hour journey. This hostel is good for party goers. It's pretty loud. Towels for rent down at reception & Wifi is not free also. There's a breakfast place within the hostel which is pretty...

Thank algill24
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi algill24, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I will most certainly be looking into the issues you have raised. Roy’s Cafe is a great place to start the day with great coffees and breakfast options. In regards to the kitchen this is something we are constantly trying to improve however at peak meal time it...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

I arrived in Sydney after taking the overnight bus from Melbourne- i was able to check in early and headed to the on site cafe for breakfast which was good and reasonably priced. The dorm rooms were spacious. I hated the lockers- they were such a weird shape. The room was also quite light so you'll need an eye mask....

Thank Sally-Ann D
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Sally-Ann-D, Thanks for taking a moment to leave feedback from your recent stay. Whilst check in isn’t until after midday we certainly try and get guests in as quickly as possible so I’m glad we could look after you and that you got a great meal from Roy's Cafe. I will be doing an audit of all beds in...

Middle River, Maryland
Reviewed 24 March 2016

My brother and I stayed for 6 nights in a co-ed dorm. Here is to good, the bad, and the ugly The Good: I did like the fact that we were able to check in early and go to our rooms. They did tell us more than likely the beds were not going to be made, but we could pick...

1Thank 19,461,919
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi 19461919. Thanks for taking the time to leave us such in depth feedback! I appreciate greatly the effort you have gone to here. Overall it does sound like you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your time in Sydney which is awesome and what we want for all our guests. Wake Up! is conveniently located in the...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (104)
Bathroom (7)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (14)
Videos (3)
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (41)
Room/Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (2)
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 137 in Sydney
720 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 137 in Sydney
1,026 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 137 in Sydney
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $41 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“fast, central”
L2yap, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor for the best views.”
brucel906, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I'd recommend to ask for a room that is not on the street side as you may hear the music coming from side bar at this night.”
jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is relatively close to the street and you can sometimes hear the music and noise from the bar downstairs.”
tarrynhassell, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
Amy2062017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5