We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Camperdown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 501: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Camperdown
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was very dated, the foyer smelt. We thought it was also over priced given the standard of our room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Doubt that we would stay there again even though the location suited our needs for this visit to Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to stay here in the 1970s (!) when it was the Travelodge. The slightly art-deco room furniture is still there with updated TVs, beds, etc. The swimming pool has survived. The lobby is unexciting and sets the scene for a motel that is OK but not outstanding. The staff are attentive. (I left a hard pillow behind and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jag G
Glen Innes NSW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with friends in a family room. Walking distance to Hospital, University and King Street, it's reasonably priced, provides parking and offers a typical 3 star chain hotel experience. Rooms are generally a little tired, although beds were clean and comfortable, TV was modern, air conditioning was effective, and ability to access fresh air welcome. Downsides mainly associated with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheepCocky
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear SheepCocky, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I am glad to hear you had an overall pleasant experience during your stay. We are in the process of planning for a complete refurbishment of the hotel which is very exciting. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Camperdown...

Hope Island, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a weekly traveller to Sydney & Melbourne you get to appreciate a nice clean hotel. I would not recommend this hotel, large stains on the carpet, sink tap loose, decor tired & old. Side bed lamp, broken at the stem. Have not taken any photos, too many items to show. With a brand like 'Rydges', I would have expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean E
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Dean E, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. You will be glad to hear that we are in the process of planning for a complete renovation. We are looking forward in welcoming you...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the prettiest of buildings and the room was ready for some love and attention but ........ $189 for a verey spacious room with very comfortable bed, good shower & free wifi in Sydney earns it a very good rating from me. The 11.00am checkout turned into 1pm by signing up to their membership programme so extra marks for that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elestoban
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear elestoban, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay we will look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Camperdown in the near future. Warm Regards Jason Chen Business Development Manager

Sydney
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is great for pursuits relating to the University, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital or Newtown. It is close to public transport and priced well for its proximity to the City. The building is a little dated and though cosmetically has been 'renovated', it could do with a little more work. However, it is clean and comfortable. I would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0usC0ntribut0r
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear An0nym0usC0ntribut0r, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I am glad that you found the location of the hotel convenient to Uni of Sydney and RPA hospital and it is also an short bus ride to the city center. In terms of the property we are planning for a complete refurbishment...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

I came to stay at the hotel for the NYE period and was told that I must pay a $200 to stay in the room. I was never informed prior that I must pay this "NYE bond" which was a pain. The elevators close on you which is quite dangerous. Our bathroom had random holes, paint peeling, rust, dirty bathtub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monalizaplatini
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear monalizaplatini, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to see you stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped and apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback about your room has been passed to our Executive Housekeeper. All guests staying over the New Year's Period were required to provide a $200...

Reviewed 6 January 2017

I recently needed to find accommodation near to RPA Hospital - Rydge's was within walking distance so suited my needs. The room was 7th floor,very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Aircon was a great asset with hot weather. Reception was easy and very pleasant. Room service and restaurant were limited due to time of year, however there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Sam M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. First of all i hope everything was ok ? I am glad to hear that you find the location of the hotel was convenient and that everything went well during your stay. You will be glad to hear that we are in...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We got a room in 7 floor and the air conditioner didn't work, so we got moved to 5 floor the working condition of the air conditioner in that room could be better ....it wasn't cool enough at all. Pool area needs some care. We decided not to swim. If your intentions are to do some sight seeing to Sydney...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. We are located on the city fringe of the Sydney CBD however it is easily accessible by bus or taxi. You will be glad to...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The rooms at Rydges Missenden Rd are of a good size, the décor is tired but the all is clean with comfortable beds. the hotel is located close to RPA and King St. There is a bar and restaurant which offer good food and a decent glass of wine. The hotel is surprising quite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene E
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Kaylene E, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services. You will be glad to hear we are in the process of planning an complete upgrade and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#102 of 179 in Sydney
145 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
414 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#133 of 179 in Sydney
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#120 of 179 in Sydney
49 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#113 of 179 in Sydney
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $159 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors are a bit better”
 of 5 bubbles 178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one, the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles JimboGil, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go below the 3rd floor (apparently) Rooms are even worse - we checked!”
 of 5 bubbles C2614EQstephenm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and city views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusBVictoria, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5